Lancelot’s Lady by Cherish D’Angelo

Writing Paranormal Suspense vs. Writing Romantic Suspense

Full Image

Thank you so much, Barbara, for being one of my hosts during my Cherish the Romance Virtual Book Tour, which launches my “Next Best Celler” semi-finalist, Lancelot’s Lady. Today I’d like to share with you and your readers a bit about the differences between my paranormal suspense, Divine Intervention, and my romantic suspense, Lancelot’s Lady.

I wrote Divine Intervention in 2004, under my suspense pen name, Cheryl Kaye Tardif. Though there is some romance in this novel, it is not central to the story. Technically, it’s a paranormal suspense thriller or paranormal crime thriller, with lots of action and a detailed criminal investigation.

Divine Intervention is book one in a series that introduces three psychic investigators who work for a covert government agency of the CFBI, a merging of agencies in Canada and the US. As Psychic Skills Investigators, or PSIs, they travel across Canada and beyond, solving crimes with their unique special gifts. This all takes place a few years into the future, allowing me to “predict” or invent future technology. The psychic gifts my characters have allow them to be unpredictable and intriguing.

Agent Jasmine McLellan―Jasi to her friends―is a Pyro-Psychic who reads fires. One whiff of smoke sends her reeling into the minds of arsonists and killers; she sees what they’ve seen and done. Agent Ben Roberts is a Pychometric Empath who experiences flashes of symbolic visions when he touches objects and people. When he’s not working a case, he wears gloves to protect himself from overwhelming images. Agent Natassia Prushenko is a Victim Empath who sees into the minds of victims whether they’re living or dead. She often experiences their last thoughts, last words and their gruesome deaths.

The romance in Divine Intervention is fraught with friction. Jasi meets Brandon Walsh, the Fire Chief who is sceptical of anything paranormal, especially so-called “psychics”. But his mind changes as he’s drawn into the case and as he discovers he’s drawn to Jasi as well. But in the end, it’s the plot and the action that drives Divine Intervention, a story about a deadly serial arsonist who is leaving a trail of burning corpses across BC.

In contrast, Lancelot’s Lady is driven by romance and passion. It’s driven by desire―physical and emotional. Rhianna McLeod’s life has been filled with anything but love and happiness. So has Jonathan’s. They are two tortured souls who have lost their way. But fate (or an old man named JT) throws them together on a private tropical island, and soon Rhianna and Jonathan begin to feel more than irritation for one another. Though not completely explicit, their love scenes are more detailed than what you’ll find in Divine Intervention.

There’s danger in Lancelot’s Lady too. Sleazy private investigator Winston Chambers makes sure of that. Blackmail isn’t enough for him. He’s now set his sights on obtaining something he wants to own, something more than money―Rhianna. Unaware that danger lurks around the corner, Rhianna and Jonathan finally allow their passion to escape. Until Winston arrives on the scene.

Writing a romantic suspense means that I’m focused mainly on the blossoming romance. There must be a happily ever after, unlike regular suspense, where there doesn’t have to be―especially in a series. With Lancelot’s Lady, you know Rhianna and Jonathan will overcome all obstacles, but their journey is still exciting and unknown. Although there is no paranormal element, except perhaps for a touch of Fate or Destiny, readers will find the suspense in Lancelot’s Lady is still tense, the action is still fast-paced and the danger is still heart-stopping. At the very end, I guarantee every reader will “cherish the romance”.  1009238-1194566-thumbnail.jpg

~Cherish D’Angelo

Lancelot’s Lady ~ A Bahamas holiday from dying billionaire JT Lance, a man with a dark secret, leads palliative nurse Rhianna McLeod to Jonathan, a man with his own troubled past, and Rhianna finds herself drawn to the handsome recluse, while unbeknownst to her, someone with a horrific plan is hunting her down.

Lancelot’s Lady is available in ebook edition at KoboBooks, Amazon’s Kindle Store, Smashwords and other ebook retailers. Help me celebrate by picking up a copy today and “Cherish the romance…”

You can learn more about Lancelot’s Lady and Cherish D’Angelo (aka Cheryl Kaye Tardif) at http://www.cherishdangelo.com and http://www.cherylktardif.blogspot.com. Follow Cherish from September 27 to October 10 on her Cherish the Romance Virtual Book Tour and win prizes.

Which do you prefer: paranormal suspense or romantic suspense?

Leave a comment here, with email address, to be entered into the prize draws. You’re guaranteed to receive at least 1 free ebook just for doing so. Plus you’ll be entered to win a Kobo ereader. Winners will be announced after October 10th.

Comments
9 Responses to “Lancelot’s Lady by Cherish D’Angelo”
  1. Welcome to EtS! We’re so happy to feature Lancelot’s Lady on the blog today.

  2. Elaine G says:

    Great Post. I’m looking forward to reading Lancelot’s Lady.

    to answer your question,I like both types of books,as long as it catches my attention in the first few chapters,I’ll read anything.

  3. Thank you, Barbara. It’s great to be visiting EtS! :-)

    Elaine, thank you also for stopping by. I’m a lot like you. I can read most genres but the opening page has to grab me. :-)

    All the best!

    Cherish

    P.S. Remember to leave your email address so you’re entered into all my draws and so you receive a free ebook. :-)

  4. Yadira A. says:

    Great interview! I could read either paranormal suspense or romantic suspense, but I do like the fantastical elements in pararnomal a little more. Give me a paranormal romantic suspense and I’ll definitely read it :)

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  5. Jaime says:

    I can see why you would dip your toes into both genres. I always like to have romantic elements in my writing (and reading!), but I’ve never written a straight on romance. :)

    jmfictionscribe@yahoo.com.au

  6. Staci f says:

    I prefer paranormal romantic suspense ;-), but will read anything that wows me with the first chapter.

  7. Thanks for dropping by, Yadira, Jaime and Staci. You’re all entered in my draws. Good luck.

    Yadira, I hope you’ll check out my paranormal suspense, Divine Intervention, available in paperback and ebook. I think you’ll enjoy it. :-)

    Jaime, great to see you here. Writing a romance is fun and challenging. The key, I think, is to have a good love story.

    Staci, I hope you’ll check out some of my first chapters. I think you’ll enjoy them. You can read samples of my novels at Smashwords and Amazon. :-)

    Happy reading everyone!
    Cherish

  8. Pam S says:

    I prefer all of the above haha. The ideal book would be romantic suspense with some paranormal elements for me.

    pams00 @ aol.com

Leave a Reply

  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

