Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Derek Clendening

Welcome to Embrace the Shadows,
Derek.  We’re here to celebrate your new release, The Vampire Way.
Are you ready for your questions?

1.     I know you’re a Stephen King fan.  What’s
your favorite S.K. story and why.  Also, have you read his book, On
Writing?  I found it to be quite inspirational.

I think It is my favorite. I love King’s epics, particularly since It is so
much of a character study. I bought and read On Writing the day it came out in
2000. I really liked it because it was also a memoir recounting King’s life in
writing and how family, friends and his overall life experience has influenced
his writing. When I look carefully, I can see how I’ve been influenced as a
writer by family, friends and my life experiences.

2.    You’ve said that Rick Thompson, one of your characters in
The Vampire Way, helped you make sense of traumatic experiences.  How?

It’s not so much that the Rick Thompson character alone has helped me to cope
with traumatic experiences as the plot of The Vampire Way itself has. In
revising the novel, I wrote with some difficult personal experiences in mind.
As an eighteen year old, I naturally thought myself invincible. Then several of
my friends died within weeks of each other. It was a real shock. I knew it
could happen to me and I wasn’t invincible anymore. I wasn’t terribly emotional
about it at the time, probably because I didn’t know how to react. Also, I had
a strange sense of survivor’s guilt. My friends had passed tragically and I was
still alive and would get to live my life. Writing about those things helped to
make sense of all that and other things that happened in my life during the
time the book was initially written. I won’t deny that the book has a dark edge,
but I think a reader will appreciate the human sensibilities and the emotional
themes.

3.    You deal with emotional eating through writing.  Has
that been successful therapy for you?

Bobby Jones, a character in the book, deals with binge eating disorder, as I
do. His is just undiagnosed. I created Bobby with that problem perhaps
unconsciously  because I needed to
believe that someone out there had the same challenges I had.

4.    Tell us about your experience at Heather Graham’s Gory
Ghoul Ball.  She’s one of the most fun people I’ve ever met, so I can
imagine it was a gas.

I’ve been to three of her shindigs now. There’s always been free food and
music. She sings in her own band made up of horror authors, including F. Paul
Wilson. Last year, the party was held at a club on the pier in Brighton,
England. This year, it was held at the Stokers on Long Island. Good time had by
all

5.    Just for fun, if you could have dinner with five people
(living or dead), who would they be.

Stephen King, Andre The Giant, Ralph Wilson, Jesus
Christ,  John Irving

Thanks, Derek.  Now, where can readers contact you?

www.thehorrorofderekclendening.blogspot.com , or directly at:

derek.r.clendening@gmail.com

I answer all e-mails personally.

Here’s the BLURB for The Vampire Way…

Eighteen year old Rick Thompson is a marked man. When Damien Masonite
comes to his school, he knows something is up. And when his friends start
falling to vampire attacks, he knows that he and his girlfriend Laura are next.
The quest to understand immortality, true love and undying friendship
compromise his safety even more. Can he keep his best friends, his true love
and keep his mortal life?

The Vampire Way is available at Smashwords and Amazon.

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

