Fangtastic Friday Welcomes KaSonndra Leigh

Today, we welcome KaSonndra Leigh.  I’ll provide a snippet from her new YA urban fantasy, When Copper Suns Fall, later in this post, but first, KaSonndra has provided an interesting guest blog about the music that enhanced her story.  Have to tell you, KaSonndra, I’m also a big Muse fan.

First I’d like to say thank you, Susan, for hosting me on your wonderful blog. Readers and bloggers have been so kind to me during this adventure. I can’t wait to share the story behind the music on my website, the heart of When Copper Suns Fall. I think every author has some kind of motivation technique when crafting a scene. For me, it’s about taking the essence of the novel as a whole when writing a scene. And to do that without losing sight of the story elements, I use music. Copper Suns is a cross-genre novel. It is pretty much a dark urban fantasy, but with heavy dystopian elements. So I listened to music that put me in the mood. Here’s a list of seven songs that very much influenced my writing process:

1)      Furious Angels by Rob Dougan

Faris’s Song – Kind of goes without saying. But the song is about a guy who loses his fiancée in a car accident. He makes a promise to her passing spirit that if she goes away, then his furious angels will find her and bring her back to him.  Unfortunately, I can’t say too very much about what scene this was relevant to and why. But when you read the book, you’ll automatically know which one it relates to.

2)     Who Am I Living For? By Katy Perry

Chela’s Song- If you’ve heard Katy Perry’s heavy base and hard beats coupled with some pretty haunting lyrics, then you’ll understand why this is Chela’s song.

3)     Teardrop by Massive Attack

Chela’s song- One suggestion. Watch the video trailer and then listen to the song.

4)     Bring Me to Life by Evanescence

A song that always assisted me with focusing on the core being of my character Seth Alton. Listening to the words on this one tells you so much about him.

5)     My Immortal by Evanescence

Kind of goes without saying again. And I truly don’t want to ruin the story by talking too much about this one.  So, I’ll let my readers listen to the song and place it with the right scene when reading.

6)     Uprising by Muse

An overall feel for the dystopian nature behind the book. This one covers the entire series as well.

7)     Paint the Sky with Stars by Enya

Okay. So there’s a romantic element in the story if you haven’t guessed by now. And this song is so pretty and light. There’s a scene in the book where you’ll be able to picture lying there and listening to this song in the background. Ahhh. LoL. All right, giving out too much information.

You can listen to all of these songs on my website. Two of them (Furious Angels and Teardrop) have been removed for some reason. But you can listen to them on Amazon and tons of other places. I do hope you enjoy reading the world I’ve created in When Copper Suns Fall. Once again, I’d like to thank Susan for hosting me on her site today.

And here’s an excerpt from When Copper Suns Fall…

            Forcing my eyes to open, I found myself outside the Cradlehack. I was standing in Faris’s arms, my head against his chest, my fingers entwined in his black vest. It was a smooth fabric that felt like silk. A cloth no one had worn outside of ceremonies since before the Tidal Years. This boy was no common citizen. His earthy-sweet smell made me feel hypnotically safe, as we stood among the crowd fleeing down the hillside. He lifted my chin, stared in my eyes. But this wasn’t some dumb player’s move.

No, a mysterious thing stirred behind his silvery-gray eyes.

“Feel better, Chela?” he asked. I nodded.

“Thanks for helping me,” I said, still fighting a light head. Still afraid the dreaded black blobs lingered somewhere around us. Somewhat ashamed I’d spoken so horribly to him moments ago.

“You probably shouldn’t do that,” he said.

“Do what?”

“Thank me.”

“Why? Because I caught you using alchemy? That’s what your kind does. Make magic in the shadows, right?” I said.

His left eye ticked. The girl in the hoodie had called him a Caducean. Could it be possible? Father told me Caduceans were a mythical group—demon slayers from a time long gone. Yet, here I stood with a boy who didn’t deny my claim.

Around us, fewer people were leaving the Shack. They paid no attention to the two idiots standing and staring at each other. Did Jalen and Lexa make it out safely?  They were taking forever to reach me.

Did I really want them to find me?

“They’ll call me, now, and make me a witness against you. I’m sorry, but I already have too many problems. So I—I have to tell the truth,” I said.

“That won’t be a problem.” Faris smiled, a catchy one that lit his face up. I couldn’t decide whether it was angelic or downright wicked. Just like I couldn’t remember where I’d ever heard an accent like his. What kind was it? Old southern? Old English? Irish? It sounded like a mix of all three, but with a deep timbre, making him sound god like. “In a few minutes, you won’t remember me or any of this.”

“Really? How do you figure that?” I asked, heart racing.

“Because my gift to you…” He moved his face closer to mine, pulling me into whatever was happening in his head. “My gift is to remove memories that cause you pain.”

“Okay, um, right.” Had I lost my mind? It probably wouldn’t have hurt to scream.

He held my gaze, locking me into something I couldn’t explain. A tear puckered up in his left eye, and slid down his cheek where it stopped on his top lip. Then he blinked, snapping us out of whatever place he’d taken us to, and glanced behind my head. “Here comes your dark knight,” he said, easing his arms away from me.

He strolled off into the last group of stragglers hanging around the Shack. How did he know my nickname for Jalen?

I wiped away a tear rolling down my right cheek.

“Chela, there you are. You scared me, girl.” Jalen’s voice cut into the moment. He spun me around to face him. I blinked, clearing my eyes. “What’s wrong? Did you get hurt?”

I glanced around us. The boy was gone. A dull headache joined the fuzziness in my head. Lost inside a clouded mind, I forgot what I wanted to say. The entire night’s events were hazy.

I fumbled with my thoughts.

What happened to me in there?

You can contact KaSonndra here…

www.kasonndraleigh.com

http://twitter.com/#!/kasonndraleigh

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5137209.KaSonndra_Leigh

http://www.facebook.com/pages/When-Copper-Suns-Fall-by-KaSonndra-Leigh/111665822268673

Comments
One Response to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes KaSonndra Leigh”
  1. Hello fabulous authors behind Embrace the Shadows…

    Thank you for hosting me on your intriguing blog. I’m so excited to be here. I hope you all get a chance to see the cool video trailer on my website. Also, you can read chapter one too.

    Big hugz,
    KaSonndra Leigh
    http://www.kasonndraleigh.com

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

