My Trip to IRELAND…or where’s the closest GUINNESS?

I’ve missed a couple of my Fangtastic Friday author interviews lately, and I apologize for that, but I was in IRELAND…assimilating the mist and the magic.  There will be a story coming out of this trip, for sure.  Our tour of the Dublin Castle had me ruminating about the 18th Century.

Packing maven that I am NOT, hubbie nixed the big camera on the trip, but I was saved by a professional photographer, Melissa Ward Carroll, who just happened to be on our Go Ahead! tour.  Melissa and her husband, John, became our partners in Guinness and fish and chips, and while I missed taking my own photos, having Melissa’s professional shots to chronicle the trip ended up a huge BONUS!

So, here are a few images…with captions.

We’d just finished our Guinness tour and were heading to the Temple Bar district for sustenance…to soak up the ale. Nothing like a Dublin carriage ride on cobblestone streets to get the stomach churning!

Exploring Dublin.

I thought I’d spotted Colin Ferrell careening around a corner, and we took off in hot pursuit. Next thing we knew, we were lost. Just kidding, though Colin was in Dublin when we were there. In this shot, John Carroll, John Blexrud, and I (all directionally challenged) are most likely looking for the nearest pub.

And finally, the magic of the Irish hills.

I’m mesmerized by the Irish hills, from whence the crystal clear waters provide the foundation for Guinness. In Ireland, everything comes down to Guinness. Got tired feet? Elevate tootsies…with a Guinness in hand.  Got low libido? Just chug a pint!

Again, many thanks to Melissa Ward Carroll for her superb photography.  If you’d like to see more of Melissa’s work, go to: iStockphoto.com.  I know it’s where I’ll be shopping for images for my next book trailer.

So, where have you been this summer?  Ever been to Ireland?  I’d love to hear about your experience.

Comments
10 Responses to “My Trip to IRELAND…or where’s the closest GUINNESS?”
  1. David Pereda says:

    Seems like you and John had a terrific trip, Susan. Nothing like a fast jog to the nearest pub, uh John? Unfortunately, I’ve never been to Ireland — a gross oversight on my part.

  2. They’re fantastic photos and you look terrific! I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland. Someday.

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      You’d love it, Maria. Before I went, I wondered about what breeds of dog I’d see. I assumed there’d be Irish wolfhounds and Kerry Blue terriers, but the dog I saw most was the Jack Russell. They’re a bit longer-nosed and shorter-legged than in the U.S., but very cute.

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      Together, Miriam. I’m sure you could have narrated the tour. What’s your favorite part of Ireland? For me, it’s a toss-up between Dublin Castle and St. Finn’s Cathedral in Cork. But then, there are the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara. Oh, and Galway Bay.

      • I tend to like the West. The Cliffs of Moher are magical, of course, but I would have to say the Dingle Peninsula is my favorite. I’m heading straight there by way of Adare the moment I’m off the plane.

      • Susan Blexrud says:

        I agree about Adare. That was the prettiest village we visited, and the park there is glorious. My husband mentioned that Groupon has a coupon for a week at the Adare Manor (includes airfare) for something like $795.00. Now, that’s a deal.

  3. denissea says:

    I am so jealous! I’ve always wanted to go. Maybe one day. :)

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      I was encouraged to go by my writing partner, Jeanne Charters, who wrote a novel about the Irish potato famine. (She has an agent. Go, Jeanne!) Jeanne has been there numerous times, and she kept telling me how magical Ireland is. She’s right. You get the feeling a leprechaun could leap out from behind a bush and attach himself to your leg…at any moment.

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

