Read my Mayan series…before the world ends!

macaw

No, I don’t believe we’re going to vanish in a poof of smoke on December 21, but the Mayans, who were mathematicians and astronomers, certainly did. Fascinated with their prediction, I wrote two books about their ominous prophecy. And while the date is fast approaching, I thought it might be a good time to offer a little contest to win the first book in my two-book series, Delora’s Necklace.

Are you game?

I first became fascinated with ancient Mayan culture when I walked the steps to the apex of the pyramid in Chichen-Itza and gazed across the flat Yucatan peninsula. I imagined being in that same place 900 years ago, when human sacrifices were the sport du jour and jaguars roamed the land.

What if…

…a modern-day Hispanic heroine felt drawn to the pyramid and suddenly found herself catapulted back in time to a husband she didn’t know she had and a citizenry hell-bent on sacrificing her to the gods?

Thus, Delora’s Necklace was born.

So, what do you think about the Mayan prophecy of the world’s end? Are you stocking your shelves? Have you updated your will? Leave me a comment, and I’ll pick one random commenter to receive a copy of Delora’s Necklace. Oh, and be sure to leave your e-mail address if you want to be eligible to win. And hurry, you have until December 21. Tick, tock!

Comments
2 Responses to “Read my Mayan series…before the world ends!”
  1. Yadira A. says:

    Well I might not be stocking up the shelves, but I do have total respect for what the Mayans or anyone else for that matter believes on the subject. There are reasons why they believe what they do and while I might not be preparing for the end, I do think it’s fascinating to learn about.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      The Mayans were a highly-advanced civilization, and I totally agree that the mathematical formula for their prediction is sound. Remember in 2000 when we thought all computers would crash with the dawn of the 21st Century? Corporations were spending big bucks to ensure a smooth transition, and huh, it was just a blip on the radar screen. Let’s hope December 12 turns out to be the same kind of non-event.

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

