Fangtastic Friday – The Marked Series

I had the pleasure of reading an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) of S.J. Day’s new urban fantasy, Eve of Darkness.  It was wonderful.  Here’s what some are saying about the book…

“Exhilarating adventure in an edgy world… Dynamic and vibrant, Eve is an impressive protagonist, and her fierce spirit and determination… will keep readers enthralled.” —Publishers Weekly

It’s incredibly refreshing: Eve’s greatest weapon isn’t her gun, her magic, her ‘tude, or her sexuality. It’s her brain. Kelly, FantasyLiterature.net

S.J. Day, aka multitalented author Sylvia Day, explodes onto the urban fantasy scene with a new twist on the Cain and Abel story. It’s dark, gritty and sexy to the max, so readers can be thankful the next chapter in this pulse-pounding series is only a month away!– Jill M. Smith, RT BOOKReviews

Eve of Darkness released from Tor Books April 28, 2009.  Check it out…

eve-of-darkness_cover2

Cursed by God, hunted by demons, desired by Cain and Abel… All in a day’s work.

For Evangeline Hollis, a long-ago fling with a bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks just became a disaster of biblical proportions. One night with a leather-clad man of mystery has led to a divine punishment: the Mark of Cain.

Thrust into a world where sinners are drafted to kill demons, Eve knows her learning curve must be short. A longtime agnostic, she begrudgingly maneuvers through a celestial bureaucracy where she is a valuable but ill-treated pawn. She’s also become the latest point of contention in the oldest case of sibling rivalry in history…

But she’ll worry about all that later. Right now she’s more concerned with learning to kill while staying alive. And saving the soul she’d never quite believed she had.

Read an excerpt from Eve of Darkness.

A Marked Novel, Book #1
Genre:
Urban Fantasy
Mass Market Paperback
Tor Books – April 28, 2009
ISBN-10: 0765360411
ISBN-13: 978-0765360410

Also in the series ~  Eve of Destruction, available June 2, 2009 from Tor Books.   Eve of Chaos, available June 30, 2009 from Tor Books. 

Have you read the book?  Planning to read it?  What aspect of this urban fantasy appeals to you?  Post your reply and you are automatically entered into the drawing to win S.J. Day’s novel, Eve Of Darkness.  Winner will be announced tomorrow ~ Saturday, May 2nd. 

Happy posting!

th_marked

Comments
14 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – The Marked Series”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    Ooh, I’ve been wanting to read this book. I’ve just started reading urban fantasy and have been trying to find more of them. I might need to invest in a little SJ Day. Great post Dawn!

  2. These books look sooooo good! I know someone is going to be very happy to win a free copy today;)

    Urban Fantasy appeals to me because of the strong heroines. It’s wonderful to sit in the safety of my own cozy cabin and vicariously save the world. I can also be moved to tears when the heroine who is tough as nails shows some vulnerability or weakness.

    Eve sounds like a heroine I will enjoy.

  3. bridget3420 says:

    I haven’t read this book yet but I really want to. I love the urban fantasy genre. I’m addicted to the paranormal.

  4. Erica Hayes says:

    Sounds intriguing! I like the idea of sinners being tasked as demon-killers. Cool 🙂

  5. I haven’t read this yet, although it is on my ever-growing TBR pile. I like the fact that there’s a twist on the whole Cain and Abel story. I like it when authors take myths, legends, and other well-known stories and put a twist on them. Plus there’s some demon killing and butt kicking? Count me in for this! I know I’ll love it. I love strong heroines, and it sounds like Evangeline is one.

  6. Phyllis D says:

    I haven’t read it yet, but it does sound very interesting. I’m most intrigued by how the heroine adapts to her new world. Being agnostic one day and then having to kill demons and deal with Cain and Abel the next must take some getting used to ;).

  7. Nikki Duncan says:

    I HIGHLY recommend this series! I’ve had the pleasure of reading the first two books and they are FANFREAKINTASTIC!

    As a writer it’s very difficult for me to read a book these days and not pick it apart is some way or another. Both of these books pulled me in so completely that I forgot I was reading until I was finished. Then I wanted to go back and read them again.

    Nightdweller, this deserves to be at the top of the TBR pile.

    Good luck to whoever wins!

  8. Susan Falk says:

    I’m glad I came over here today, I almost forgot to. This book looks very intriguing. From the Cain and Abel angle to the sinners killing demons – I like the religious angle being in there. It’s not something I seek out often in my stories, but this one has definitely piqued my interest.

  9. Jessalee Wade says:

    I am VERY much looking forward to reading this book! I love paranormals and to add in Cain & Abel/religious twist is adding just more into my conviction that S.J. Day is going to be added to my favorite author list and I will be purchasing all of this series and anything else she has out there. I am an AVID reader – I read every day – and am always looking for that one author who keeps me on my days, ignites my imagination, and takes me into their world for a spell. I have a feeling that S.J. Day is going to be one of those authors. Thank you S.J. Day for this free book offer and for becoming another GREAT author!!

  10. Natasha A. says:

    I have been hearing about this book for a while…the whole series actually! I love strong kick ass tough women!

  11. Bonnie Hoffmaster says:

    Well, considering how EVERYONE keeps talking about it I’m obviously going to HAVE to get these books! lol Actually I totally want to anyway cuz they sound so cool.

  12. Robin says:

    I can not wait to dig into this new series. It sounds like it will be a good read. Really something new for me. Can’t wait but will have to, at least until I get a ride to town.
    Robin

  13. Dawn McClure says:

    Thanks to everyone who posted…the winner is going up on the blog in just a few minutes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

