Dirty Little Secrets

Welcome everyone!

Glad to see you here. Today we’re kicking off our first full week here at the “Embrace the Shadows” blog.  In the next few days we’ll be having author interviews, more book give aways, and our very first “Clash of the Covers” contest. So stay tuned!

Today, as the title suggests, we’re going to talk about about secrets. Before I begin, I thought I’d share a little song to put us all in the mood…

By day I’m a research scientist, so in a way my job is to uncover Mother Nature’s secrets. I love digging deep into my work and discovering little fragments of knowledge. Sometimes I’m successful, other times not so much. Either way, Mother Nature never ceases to amaze me. Quite often it’s a small bit of information that causes the other pieces of a puzzle to fall into place.  Once together, it creates a clearer picture of our world, sometimes even changing the way we think about it.

Fascinating stuff.

So it isn’t a surprise that I approach my writing in a similar manner. I like to break open my characters and find out what makes them tick. In Cursed, my upcoming release from Loose ID, I centered the entire story around a secret.  By day my heroine, Spyder, is a normal woman. At night she turns into a killer to survive.

As I wrote the story, I placed all of my attention on Spyder and how she coped with her secret. I was so focused on her that the hero, James,  completely surprised me.  He had a secret buried so deep inside that even he forgot about it. When it finally came to the surface it threw the story into a whole new direction and added a twist to the ending.

As a writer, I live for moments like that.

 

So I’m asking all of the writers out there, have you ever had a moment when one of your characters revealed a dirty little secret to you? What was it? Did it take your story in a new direction? Did it make your story better?

 

And if you don’t write…has anyone ever shared a secret with you? Did you keep it locked away or were you so excited that you shared it with the world? Did you regret your decision?

 

For those of you who are members of the yahoo group, I’ll be posting the questions of the week here on the blog each Monday. Feel free to post your answers in the comments section. If there’s still interest on Tuesday, we’ll continue the discussion on the yahoo loop.

So, if you aren’t a member of our yahoo group yet – be sure to sign up to be part of the discussion. Do it quick, because Barbara will be having a book giveaway soon and you have to be a yahoo group member to win!

Comments
10 Responses to “Dirty Little Secrets”
  1. Dawn McClure says:

    The very same thing happened to me when I wrote Heaven Sent. Once I figured out the heroine had a secret – one she’d buried so deep inside that she refused to acknowledge it – the entire story came together, and everything started to make sense. The plot, her motivation…everything. I wonder how our subconscious works as we write? It seemed as though I knew the secret all along…I just needed to bring it to light in the book. 🙂

  2. Great post Suzanne! And yeah, don’t you just love those moments? With my first book, my heroine’s deepest, darkest secrets were buried so deep inside of her, of course her memory had been tampered with, but man, the conflict that arises once those secrets are exposed? Amazing! And you’re right….totally fun to write!
    Great job on the website girls….

  3. Suzanne, I love All American Rejects! What a great video to share with the secrets discussion. I have to tell you that I’m very excited about your book. The more I hear, the more I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

    In my upcoming, CAPTURED, from Loose Id, the heroine, Maya, has survived a werewolf attack which leaves her with psychic abilities. Her sister, who was also bitten, has become a full-fledged werewolf. Maya’s whole purpose in her new dark life is to protect her sister’s secret and she sacrifices herself to do it. Unfortunately, falling in love with a werewolf hunter raises the stakes for her in hotter more dangerous ways than she ever imagined!

    It is challenging and fun to try to convey the way keeping a secret burns inside of a character. Secrets add suspense and tension and even empathy. I’m always immediately drawn to a hero or heroine who is struggling to keep or uncover a secret!

  4. Bonnie Hoffmaster says:

    Well, I don’t have a writer’s story but I have a story related to that song – my 3 oldest are girls (20, 18 & 16) so you can bet All American Rejects gets plenty of air time in our house. Well my son is 12 so the poor kid knows way more about girls than the average fellow – anyway when that song first came out he was sitting in my room with me and the hubby when dau #1 comes up to tell us her latest heartbreak story and Josh says “oh, so were you his dirty little secret?” totally serious!! I almost peed my pants I was laughing so hard –

  5. Suzanne Rock says:

    Dawn – Heaven Scent sounds interesting. Can hardly wait to read it!

    Jules – Thanks so much for stopping by. You know, I was thinking about your jag story as I was writing this blog. I love the opening chapter. Okay, i love the rest of it, too…but it’s sucha great premise. I know I’m going to get all teary when I finally see it in a Barnes and Noble or other bookstore. I bet the sequel will be even better. 😉

    Barbara – Thanks for your kind words. Is CAPTURED set in the same world as WILDERNESS or is it different? It sounds so interesting. Can hardly wait to buy it and read it for myself!

  6. Suzanne Rock says:

    Bonnie – OMG, that’s so funny!! I would have laughed, too. I’m sure your daughter didn’t appreciate it much, though. 😉 I love that song, too. i played it a lot when it first came out. Thanks for sharing your story!

  7. No, Suzanne, the werewolves and other Supernaturals in the world of “Wilderness” were born that way.

    In CAPTURED, the creatures they call “werewolves” are humans that have been mutated by a virus. It’s the hottest, darkest thing I’ve ever written. And my name is all over its cover! No secrets for me.

  8. ps)Of course, it does feel a little bit like wearing red stilletos and a negligee to Wal-Mart!

  9. ericahayes says:

    Barbara – CAPTURED sounds cool! I love off-beat explanations for supernatural phenomena.

    Aha… so that’s why people stare at me oddly in Wal-Mart 🙂

    Regarding secrets: I’m writing a story at the moment where the heroine has to overcome (among other things) the emotional damage done to her by the murder of her mother.

    And I’ve just realised who the killer was. Bwahahaha! Can open, worms everywhere 🙂

  10. Suzanne Rock says:

    Barbara – LOL about red stilletos and a negligee in Walmart. Too funny. Can hardly wait to read Captured.

    Ericahayes – thanks for stopping by! Your story sounds so interesting! I love characters with complicated pasts. Isn’t it great when you get this great idea and the words just flow? 😉

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

