Take Me Away!

It’s that time of year again in the States. Hot sun, cool water, lots of outdoor activities…You guessed it, summer. And with summer comes summer vacations. You have got to love that.

 This one

 

 

Glacier Park, Montana – I went here about ten years ago…great trip!

 

It’s hard to take vacations with the little ones, but we try. Taking a break every now and then is good for the soul – especially for a workaholic like me.

 

I’m writing this on a Friday. Tomorrow, we’re taking the girls up to Storyland in New Hampshire. This is an amusement park designed for the under 8 crowd. You can read more about it in the link below:

 

http://www.storylandnh.com/

 

Neither one of my girls, ages 3.5 and 1.5, have ever been to an amusement park before. This promises to be quite the treat. My husband and I are so excited. He has already said that he wants to buy them anything they want at the park.

 

Anything they want???

 

How much do you want to bet that we’re going to come back with a truck full of balloons, stuffed animals, and candy? Well, I guess if the candy is of the chocolate variety, then it’s all good. 😉

 

We’ll be staying at a hotel with a pool, so I’m hoping to sit outside with a good novel and soak up the sun. (Okay, maybe not exactly in the sun. I have the curse of the fair skinned, after all.)

 

So in between last minute day job stuff, last minute edits on Spyder’s Web, and packing, I’m looking for something to read. The problem is…I can’t choose! There just seems to be so many interesting books out there right now.

 

So… I need help. Therefore, the question of the week is in two parts.

 

What book are you reading now?

 

What book would you recommend for a good “vacation” read?

 

We‘ll be going on vacation again the end of June, so I’ll be sure to look into your recommendations! And if you’re a yahoo group member, I’ll be telling you on Tuesday what books I ended up bringing and whether or not they were good reads. If you’re not a group member – sign up! The link is here: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/embrace_the_shadows/

Comments
4 Responses to “Take Me Away!”
  1. Suzanne, first off, I hope you have a wonderful time on your family vacation! I’m an amusement park junkie so I can’t wait to hear how your girls enjoyed their first trip to one:>

    Recently, I started Stephanie Meyer’s THE HOST while I was on vacation and then finished it at home. I loved it. It was hands down the most unusual romantic relationship I’ve ever read. (And unusual is what I love best!)

  2. Dawn McClure says:

    I’m not reading anything right now. I’m in the middle of my WIP.

    When I go on vacation I always take one of my auto-buy authors…like Jude Deveraux, Julie Garwood, Sherrilyn Kenyon. I know there is a new J.R. Ward book out, but it’s in hardback and expensive. I’d probably take that one. 🙂

    Have a great time! 🙂

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hey ladies! I’m back! 😉 When I cach my breath I’ll post what books I read on the yahoo group. WE had a great time!

    You know, the only Stephanie Myer book i read was Twilight? I have New Moon in my TBR pile . I ALMOST brought it with me, but I didn’t in favor of another book. 😉

    It’s funny you mention Sherrilyn Kenyon, Dawn. I’m s-l-o-w-l-y working my way through her dark hunter series. I almost brought night play with me, but didn’t. I’m going to read that one this week. I read something else instead.

    Okay – off to do laundry! lol.

  4. Nicole says:

    Hi there

    Any Sherrilyn Kenyon book would be awesome for a vacation. Hot days, steamy nights, and gorgeous hawt guys.. Suzanne you are gonna have so much fun with her series.. I’ve read through them twice now.. 🙂

    Also any Nora Roberts book will be wonderful. I just finished the first book of her new series The Bride Quartet, this one was called Vision in White. I gotta say I absolutely fell in love with her nerdy, book-lovin, professor of ENGLISH/LITERATURE hero – Carter Maquire. The man even makes lists about everything and practices making a dinner on his best friend before making it for the heroine, Mackensie Elliot. Now is that not the hottest, sweetest thing ever??? Oh man.. I would be in absolute heaven if I could find my own Carter. 😉

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

