Hang out with me!

Anyone remember the sitcom Cheers? If you don’t, then you’re missing out. The premise of the show was about a group of people who got together and hung out at their favorite local bar, Cheers. Their reasons for going there varied. Some worked there. Some went to get away from their spouses. Some wanted to unwind after a busy day at work. Regardless of their reasons for wandering into that Boston taproom, they all kept coming back because they discovered a sense of camaraderie and support that they could find anywhere else.

 

Cheers_intro_logo

 

 

Great show, great characters.

I was thinking about the show this weekend as I gathered links for my website. Instead of hanging out in the real world, it seems like more and more people are turning to internet chat rooms, social networking and other internet forums to unwind. I suppose there are positives and negatives to this. On the one hand, we are losing face-to-face contact. On the other, we get to virtually “meet” people we would never get to know otherwise.

 My husband is one of those people who likes to chat in person. Oh, he uses the internet, but if given a choice, he would rather hang out with his buddies at a predetermined place and talk face-to-face.  I’m the opposite. I prefer to sit at home in my pajamas and hang out on the internet. 🙂 He makes fun of me because some of my closest friends are people I’ve never seen in real life. (“Do you even know what they LOOK like?” he asks.)

 Different people, different ways to unwind.

Today I’m wondering where all of you go to unwind. Do you have a place where everyone knows your name? Is it virtual or down the street? Do you prefer the local bar, bookstore or coffee shop, or lean toward social networking sites on the internet?

And while you’re pondering this week’s question, hop on over to my new website HERE. Click on my links to see where I hang out. Don’t forget to drop me a line and let me know what you think!

Comments
11 Responses to “Hang out with me!”
  1. Suzanne, I love your new website. The pics are fantastic and it’s so easy to navigate. I’m looking forward to Spyder Web’s release!

    As for hanging out and unwinding, I’m addicted to facebook. I use it as a reward for pages written. I depend on it to keep me in touch with other writers and readers of paranormal romance…or any romance for that matter:> I love keeping up with my fb friends as they navigate their days. It’s amazing how supportive a community it can be.

    Truthfully, I’m a high strung person who rarely unwinds. It usually takes a good movie or book to take me out of myself and leave my troubles behind. So, besides facebook, I love going to the bookstore or the theater. The scent of ink or popcorn always reduces my stress! lol

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Barbara!

    I used to be on facebook a lot. Less so now. For some reason, I’ve started to really get into twitter. You can link your status with facebook and talk to people directly. I like being able to follow editors as well. I’ll stop by facebook probably once a day, but will keep twitter open on my desktop throughout the day as I’m working…

    I had to laugh at “the scent of ink or popcorn.” Sadly, I don’t get to the movies much anymore. I DO love going to the bookstore, though. Especially if they have a coffee shop. something about sipping a drink while reading…

  3. Hey Suzanne! yes, ditto on the webbie! 🙂

    And Barbara….I love facebook. I just went to see a band play on the weekend, dudes I’d gone to school with and a whole bunch of peeps I haven’t seen since back in the day were there…all because of facebook! It was so much fun! I hang there and my newest addiciton, Twitter…..love it! It’s very cool to meet so many people via the internet….and then, sometimes if you’re lucky you get to meet them in person……I will get to see my crit parnters again this summer in Washington….and Sue…you very soon too, no?

  4. Chandra Ryan says:

    Hey Suzanne!

    I’m more of an internet kind of person, Facebook and Twitter. I hated Twitter when I first signed up, but it’s really grown on me. That being said, I do meet with a couple friends about once a week for coffee. And that is one of the highlights of my week. And I love bookstores and coffee shops. So I guess I’m a bit of a mixture.

    Oh, and great website! Barbara’s right, it looks great and is easy to navigate. Congratulations.

  5. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Jules – I DO like how facebook lets you reconnect with people from your youth. I, too, have been able to reconnect with a lot of people that way. And yes, we will definately have to meet in person someday. 😉

    Hi Chandra – I didn’t like twitter at first, either. It definately grew on me. Thanks for checking out the website. I can hardly wait until your book comes out. Sounds like a real treat!

  6. Nicole says:

    Hi Suzanne!
    Definitely like your new website.. awesome pics.. great nav..

    I’m with most others.. I love glancing in on FB. Usually have it open most of the workday, harder at home since my system is a dinosaur. It’s great to reconnect with old friends and connect to new. Most of my HS class is here… lol..

    Not sure about twitter still.. gonna have to see if it grows..

    Outside the net and my little apartment and work.. prolly a bookstore or small coffee shop.. or.. panera… 🙂

  7. Lauren Hawkeye says:

    I think a lot of writers are internet groupies… I think there’s something in our makeup that makes up that way 🙂 I like Facebook, but I’m not as into it as I once was. Same with eharlequin… and I’m not loving Twitter. No one talks to me!!!!! Truly, I like to window shop online when I need an internet fix… http://www.etsy.com is my favorite, and I also like snooping around for cool yarn. But that’s just me!
    Sue, love the webbie… but you knew that already 😛

  8. Suzanne Rock says:

    Nicole – ooh, panera. I love that place. Great sandwiches. I used to get bread there all the time but hubby doesn’t like all the funky kinds/flavors. He likes plain old white/wheat. I stopped buying becuase, really, I shouldn’t be eating that much bread. lol.

    Lauren – So nice of you to stop by! I agree on facebook. And I agree about eharlequin, too. I used to post all of the time. Now, not so much. I think I started posting less when I started subbing to other publishers. I found it difficult not to talk about my other subs or books I read from other publishers. I have a sub there now so maybe I should go back and revisit. I’ll have to check out that webbie address you gave, too. Oh, and thanks for the kudos on the webbie. I think I’m in love with snake man. Him and Misha Collins, of course. 😉

  9. Fiona Vance says:

    I love my online friends. 🙂 I even married one! I think for those of us who work online, it becomes more “real.” Or maybe I’m just delusional. 🙂

    Fiona Vance

  10. Suzanne Rock says:

    Fiona – You met your husband online? Aw…I agree about working online. I find that I create these images of people I “meet” in my head. Then when I see their picture or meet them in person they look nothing like I imagined them, LOL.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Those of you who follow the blog, know that I’ve talked about this before HERE and HERE. I love connecting with people online. The question is, does it sell […]



Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

