Back in Time

We had a great family day on Saturday. My husband and I took the kids to Old Sturbridge Villiage. After stopping off at the visitor center, we stepped back in time to around 1830. The buildings, people and way of life were all preserved for our enjoyment. Even though our kids were very young, I think they still got a lot out of it. Our oldest even took her first ride in a buggy  (I forgot how bumpy those rides were!)

horse and carriage

 Of course, with me being a writer, I asked a lot of questions. As the actors answered my curiosity, my gears started turning and I came up with a page or two of notes and story ideas — all with paranormal elements, of course.

 amish girls walking

None of the ideas are fully developed yet, but I think one or two of them might actually become submissions. I’m not sure how well they will be received. Talk about your cross-genre story! Who would want to read a historical paranormal romance? What if was erotic, too?  

Truth is, I love historicals, always have. It’s rare when I can find a book that blends both historical and paranormal elements, but when I do, I devour it. I’ve found  both erotic and sensual stories, and think each has its own appeal.

 This Friday, Dawn will be chatting with Elizabeth Amber, an erotic romance author whose “Lord of the Saytr” series achieved exactly what I’m thinking for my next story. Elizabeth’s story takes place in Italy in the 1800’s on a vinyard owned by three Satyr brothers. In honor of her interview, I’ll be giving away a copy of the first novel of her series, Nicholas. I have it on good authority that Elizabeth will be giving away something as well. Be sure not to miss it.

Until then, I’m asking you…do you read historical paranormal romance? Erotic or Sensual? Do you have a book/series recommendations? Would you like to hear more about these type of books and auhors who write them?

Comments
12 Responses to “Back in Time”
  1. I love historical and paranormal. I can’t say I’ve read very many heavy blendings of the two. Usually, the paranormal elements in the historicals I’ve read are slight. Something like ghosts or premonitions. I think it was those slight elements in historicals that began my love of paranormal!

    I remember hearing about a victorian vampire hunter heroine I wanted to try, but I can’t remember the title for the life of me. I know it was mentioned in an issue of RWR. Will have to try to dig it up!

    I anticipate reading more now that school is almost out:>

  2. Dawn McClure says:

    I read anything paranormal. lol I haven’t read many historical paranormals. Like Barbara said, some of the historicals that I’ve read had a few paranormal elements. One historical with paranormal elements is Diana Cosby’s series, His Captive and His Woman. The paranormal element is very light, but it packs a powerful punch when it comes to the main characters.

    🙂

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Teresa Medieros did a great one in 2006. It was a 2 book series. I think the first one was called “The Vampire Who Loved Me.” If you can find it, I’d highly recommend it. I think this is the victorian vampire hunter you were thinking about, Barbara.

    Lisa Cach did one also called “Come Dream of Me.” Another pretty good book.

    I haven’t been able to find any others, though. I was hoping there might be some people in this group who have read some…

  4. Suzanne Rock says:

    I meant to say I haven’t been able to find much historical paranormal besides Elizabeth’s “Lord of the Satyr” series, LOL.

  5. Fiona Vance says:

    I love paranormal and historical, and I have a WIP that’s both. And I love Sturbridge Village! I used to take the kids there all the time when I lived back East. It definitely inspired my love of all things historical… that, and growing up in Newport, RI 🙂

    I think a good historical paranormal would be really popular. Time travels have been popular for twenty years, and alot of fantasy is pretty much roughly historical with magic that turns it into something else.

    A great book is Immortal Warrior by Lisa Hendrix. It’s got hawk shifters 🙂 Its a para. romance set in a fantasy world that’s roughly medeival-ish. I’d love to read more stuff like that.

  6. Suzanne Rock says:

    Ooh, thanks Fiona. I’m going to check out Lisa Hendrix book right now. You know how I like my hawk shifters. 😉

  7. Robyn Bski says:

    Barbara, you’re probably thinking of the Gardella Vampire Chronicles by Colleen Gleason. I have one waiting in my TBR pile, and the series came highly recommended. 🙂

    I’ll read any paranormal as long as it’s good, historical or not. I do have a few in my TBR pile. Then again, I have a *lot* of stuff in my TBR pile. I’m so behind in my reading…

  8. Amanda Vyne says:

    Dropping in to give some love to my fav author and completely agree with the Medieros vampire series. I loved it! I would love some other really good historical paranormal…especially if it had a high heat level! Okay, heading back to the cave.

  9. Yes! Robyn’s right. It’s the Gardella Vampire Chronicles. I’m reading the first one of that series as my first summer read. Off to order it now. Thanks Robyn!!

  10. Eva S says:

    I love Sharon Page’s series, she has a great one, Blood series. It’s a historical, erotic Regency with vampires

  11. Suzanne Rock says:

    Thanks ladies for the suggestions. My TBR pile is growing as we speak. 😉

  12. MarthaE says:

    I love historical and paranormal too. I like sensual rather than erotic…. Mary Jo Putney’s Gaurdian series was good! Magic not vampire. But included shifters.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

