Heating up the pages…is erotic romance right for you?

Fotolia_5581507_SThere’s no doubt about it.  Erotic romance is taking the industry by storm, seducing readers and writers with its promise of satisfying escapism and sales. 

But, is it right for you?

If you’re a reader, most erotic e-book sellers have specific warnings for each book that will let you know what to expect before you purchase.  (Heads up: m/m *does not* mean Mr. and Mrs.!)  That said, don’t shy away from trying something new with the privacy of your own e-book reader.  For under ten dollars you can take a walk on the wild side one afternoon and no one need ever know;)  “Try it, you might like it,” she said with a wicked smile.

If you’re a writer, you might have to take a look at the language you’re comfortable using, the situations you’re comfortable exploring and whether or not you enjoy heating up the pages.  In my situation, I had editors who consistantly praised the sexual tension I created between my characters.  It was only a matter of degree for me to use more graphic language and situations and to plunge deeper into how sex affected the relationships I was creating.Fotolia_5452310_XS

In all this, I’ve yet to mention fun.  I’ve had the time of my life stretching the boundaries of my sensual imagination, as a reader and a writer.   In a complicated world full of worries and strife, sometimes it takes a very intense read to sweep a reader away from their troubles.  I’m excited to be a part of publishing ventures that are embracing that intensity and delivering that escape. 

Is erotic romance right for you?

In the end, only you can answer that question.  As a writer, what stories whisper to you at midnight when the computer is calling and you can’t sleep?  As a reader, are you willing to follow characters who need to explore forbidden territories to find their HEA? 

I’m so glad erotic romance and Loose Id gave me the opportunity to tell Maya and Shepherd’s story in CAPTURED even though it wasn’t tame & traditional.  And I’m gratified that readers and reviewers are responding with enthusiasm.  http://www.paranormalromance.org/reviews/review.php?id=31348

http://yougottareadreviews.blogspot.com/2009/06/review-captured-by-barbara-hancock.html

cover captured coupleSo, tell me, do you like to read erotic romance?  Have you tried writing it?  Have you ever had a character that seemed determined to take you outside traditional boundaries?  Did you follow or rein him/her in?  I’d love to hear what readers and writers think about heating up the pages!

Comments
8 Responses to “Heating up the pages…is erotic romance right for you?”
  1. Chris says:

    *looks shifty*
    Um, yeah, this is where I really appreciate my ereader! I have a weakness for Evangeline Anderson’s m/m stories…

  2. lol, Chris. I think anonimity is a great feature in ereaders.

    It’s nice not to have to worry what the freckle-faced teenager at the checkout thinks of our choices.

    A few weeks ago I took a stack of hot paranormal romances to the checkout at B & N. There was a grandmotherly type manning the desk. I felt like my mother had just found a stack of Playgirls under my mattress. I much prefer to either download or get my books in the mail!

  3. Robyn Bski says:

    I need an e-reader…

    I’ve tried writing it and didn’t get very far. I think I just haven’t found the right story to write erotic romance yet.

  4. I definitely think you have to be true to your story and your characters. You can’t force extra heat. For me, throwing the right hero and heroine together in intense circumstances usually does the trick. But it has to be natural.

  5. Vivi Andrews says:

    You hit it right on the head, Barbara. It’s all about letting the characters tell the story their way. And if sometimes their way is a little spicier than we expected… that’s just a bonus. 😉 I love pushing my own boundaries, as a reader and a writer. Sometimes it’s about heat level, sometimes it’s an intensity of emotion I haven’t managed before, but it’s always about being true to the story.

    Great post!

  6. Suzanne Rock says:

    Great post Barbara! Although Spyder’s Web is an erotic romance, I’ve written all heat levels. I agree that it really depends on where the characters take you. It’s funny that you mention how characters sometimes push you in new directions. That is currently happeneing to me on my WIP, LOL.

    As a reader, I read almost anything, as long as the characters and stroy are good and well written. I think I’ve tried a little bit of everything out there from the privacy of my ereader. *blush* LOL

  7. Barbara, excellent blog about moving into the realm of reading or writing erotic romance.
    The stories were always showing up in the back of mind after a certain point of writing romance… yes, I’ve written all heat levels. Though, I’m only published in erotic romance.
    Congrats on your success with CAPTURED!

  8. Thanks for stopping by ladies. One thing I love about writing and reading erotic romance…you never know where the characters might take you.

    There’s an adventurous aspect to the genre I truly enjoy;)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

