Buy Me!

As a new author, I’m often baffled by the seemingly endless ways one can promote their novel. So, in an effort to demystify the whole book-pimping process, I’ve decided to do a little mini-series here at EtS concerning book promotion. Over the next month or so, I’ll profile a few ways that authors can promote their books. We’ll discuss the pros and cons, as well as either give references where readers can find more information.

 

So, to begin with, I’ve created a poll for you readers. I want to know from the authors which promotional  avenue seems to work best for them. From readers, I want to know which promotional tool they would be most receptive to. I’m going to take the top four answers and do more in-depth blogs over the next month (or more, if there’s interest).

You’ll notice that I left a spot for filling in the blank. I don’t pretend to be an expert in this area. In fact, I’m going to be learning along with all of you. If there is some avenue of book promotion that I forgot to list, feel free to fill it in the blank.

To conclude the mini-series, I’ll have a week where I’ll look at less conventional methods of book promotion. This is reserved for all of the wacky things authors have done to promote their books. Feel free to leave your crazy experiences in the comment section, and tell me whether they worked or not. If you’re reader who has seen a really cazy book promotion, then tell me about it.

If you don’t want to say anything publically, feel free to email me privately at suzannerock [at] ymail [dot] com. If you are somehow involved in book promotion (cover artist, publicist, marketing, etc.) or an author willing to share your promotional successes and failures (without naming specific companies or people), email me.  😉

 

So talk to me – I want to hear about book promotion!

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Buy Me!”
  1. This was a hard choice for me. I’ve bought many books because of our Clash of the Covers, but I voted for social networking sites because I think I might have bought a few more because of meeting authors on facebook. I know Leslie Dicken posting teasers every Tuesday before her release definitely sold me on her Beauty Tempts the Beast.

  2. Nicole says:

    This is awesome, Suzanne. Thank you so much for creating this series. It’s gonna help so much. 🙂

  3. Rae Lori says:

    I voted social networking also. I keep meeting lots of readers over at the Amazon reader boards and my favorite hangout Goodreads. Oh! And a few on Twitter who advertise their books. I share mine there but I’m mostly picking up new titles. It’s great because you get to know people you wouldn’t have met otherwise. 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was really interesting seeing what people thought were important promotional tools (click here for results). Over the next four weeks, I’ll be talking about websites, blogs, social […]

  2. […] now for today’s topic.  I want to talk a little about the #3 favorite method of book […]



Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

