Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Kim Knox

BookFan

Please welcome Kim Knox, multi-published author of Lost Gods, Weaving Words, Unity and Dark Host.  A Brava Novella finalist for Dark Host and Fantasm Award Winner for Unity, Kim has three other books coming from Ellora’s Cave and Samhain Publishing: Ruthless Beauty, Satin Spar and Breaking Chance.    

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself. 🙂 

I live in North West England on an ancient boundary line, once marked by a Neolithic burial tomb, which I think is quite cool. I’m mother to two not so small boys and spend as much time as I can writing about effortlessly sexy heroes. 

ETS – I’ve always wanted to visit England.  *sigh*  Your newest release, Dark Host, sounds fantastic.  One line in the blurb grabbed me right off – It calls itself darkness.  And it needs a host.  Tell us a little about the world you built here.   

Dark Host is my first try at writing a shifter story and I created Mosaics, humans who are a mongrel-mix of creatures and owned by the Company.  Charis, the heroine, is a reluctant bodyguard to a wealthy man and it was fun to build a cruising space ship for the impossibly wealthy.  I’m almost a pantser, so it was great to discover that my villains could, in a very bizarre way, make zombies… 🙂 

ETS – You write under two different names, Kim Knox and Kim Rees.  What genre do you find yourself more at ease writing?  Or do you love writing both equally? 

Kim Rees writes contemporaries.  I keep meaning to go back and write them again, but they’ve become strangely hard for me.  Science fiction romance is what I’m consistently writing at the minute as Kim Knox.  It’s so much fun, I can’t stop! 

ETS – Are you an introvert or an extrovert? 

Probably like most writers, an introvert. 

ETS – Muse…do you believe in her, and if so, how’s that relationship going?  🙂 

I don’t have a muse.  My subconscious does all the work.  I’m just the one who types fast. 🙂  I had a bit of a dry spell over early summer, but that seems to be over—touch any lucky charm I can find—and writing is a pleasure again. 

ETS – I read that you’re interested in history and myths.  How much research do you do for your books?  

I have a swathe of bookmarks for each book.  I do a lot of brainstorming research when I’m in the first throes of a new story, then I write and fact-check as I go.  And I have far too many space and history books in my house.  Byzantium is a not-so-secret vice of mine and the itch to write a Byzantine-influenced fantasy is always at the back of my mind. 

ETS – When you began writing, was there one piece of advice that stuck with you? 

Just write.  Don’t worry if it’s dire, it will get better.  Discard your first million words is very true for me, lol

ETS – Weaving Word’s (BEAUTIFUL COVER) opening blurb teaser starts off with, Easy part of his day? Resurrecting the dead. Hard part? Keeping them alive.  You really grab me with those teasers!  Can you tell us a little about this novella?

I love to create magic systems.  I have a book – Writer’s Complete Fantasy Reference- which suggests that you approach magic as an anthropologist would.  It has this great check list, lol, and that was how Weaving Words was born. 

I was playing around with the questions on the list and Kaede appeared: a witch bound to a family, who uses dead bodies, and his own, for magic.   Using his knowledge illegally, he brings back the wrong soul and then the fun really begins.  It was great to play with body swapping too!

And I agree the cover is lovely.  I’ve been so lucky to have such great covers for my books.

ETS – What’s your writing process like?

I have the initial impression of a character in a situation – like Kaede in the cave, or Katya frozen and then falling to the feet of James Kinsare in Lost Gods – and I write maybe 2000 words on it.  Then I have to write a loose plot to find out where I’m actually going!

Two thirds of the way through, I stop and tidy up what I’ve written.  I then detail-plot the end and write that.  One final run through to catch the straggly bits and I’m done.

Convoluted, but I’ve found what works for me.  🙂

ETS – Big Mac or Whopper?

Neither, hehe

ETS – Uh, we’ll have to talk about that later.  Can you tell us what you’re working on now?

I’m almost finished on Warflesh, a sci-fi ménage I plan to sub to Ellora’s Cave.  A beta/friend read through it and declared it hot.  Run-off-and-find-my-husband-NOW- hot.  So fingers crossed it’s accepted. 🙂

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

The same that I found. Just write.  Oh and try to do it everyday.

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us!

A pleasure, thank you for asking me. 🙂

ETS – You can visit Kim’s website to learn more about her books.  Also, here are some other links…

Kim Knox Books

Kim Rees Books

Twitter 

Also, Kim is giving away Weaving Words to one lucky person today.  You know the drill…all you have to do is respond to this post to be entered into the drawing. 

Comments
8 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Kim Knox”
  1. I hate to admit that sometimes I want a Bic Mac 😦 lol

    Great interview! 😀

  2. Bonnie H says:

    Oh, gorgeous covers! And Byzantium! I think you should go with that one…Thanks for sharing 😀

  3. I’m so glad you took the time to interview Kim. I discovered her work a few months ago and have devoured (or purchased for later consumption) all of her books. 🙂

    I’m attracted to clean, concise writing. The kind that makes you study it and try to find the formula for how well it all fits together. Kim has that, and I admire it.

  4. Chandra Ryan says:

    Great interview! I’m going to have to pick up one of your books and check it out. Is there one you recommend I start with?

  5. Robyn Bski says:

    Very cool interview, and those are some gorgeous covers. 🙂

  6. Kim Knox says:

    Thanks, everyone 🙂 And waves to Hailey. You’ll be glad to know I’m playing with demons *grin*

    Sorry for the late response, I’m getting ready to go to Legoland Windsor. And it involves washing. Lots and *lots* of washing. My machine is almost worn out, lol

    Chandra – All of my books are standalone, so it depends on what heat level and genre you prefer. My earlier ebooks with Samhain are short, sensual and mostly fantasy. My EC books are science fiction/paranormal romance and uber-hot in places. LSB are science fiction romance and hot too 🙂

    I have a favourite in Lost Gods, and Dark Host comes in a close second. Something about the heroes in these two stories grab me – and I wrote them, hehe

    I’m not sure if the above is any help at all, lol, but thank you for asking 🙂

  7. Donna S says:

    Great interview. Im going to be on the lookout for your books, the teasers are great. Going to definately check out the paranormals.

  8. Wonderful interview! I enjoy hearing about how other authors write. There are so many different ways to approach the page. I’ve added another name to my “must check ’em out” list;>

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

