~Welcome Ellora’s Cave author Mel Teshco and her Stone Cold Lover~

 

Long before I even thought about Stone-Cold Lover I dreamed of being a sexy/presents author, and worked hard for a number of years to hone my skills in that category genre. I guess I’d always been attracted to strong, alpha heroes and wilfull heroines…hence my eventual need, I think, to write paranormals.
 
My first ever paranormal story (long length) featured vampires and shape-shifters living in Australia as secret races. I fell in love with the concept of other world creatures and their world building and rules. It did get a request from Ann Leslie Tuttle of Nocturne, but pregnancy and an overwhleming sickness the moment I sat in front of the screen, shelved that prospect. I did finish the manuscript (Shadow Hunter) and it done really well in competitions, but I decided it was my ‘learning’ book, which I will eventually come back to and rework. (soon…very soon!)
 
I actually love to write shorter stories, so I found it no drama at all to condense my paranormal work into a novella size story. I originally wrote Stone-Cold Lover for another publisher entirely, but sent it off to Ellora’s Cave on a bit of a whim. (I have to say though, it was one of only two publishers I was aiming for with my novella/shots) Am I glad I did! The editor, bless her heart, said she’d have bought it there and then, except she needed to know if I was willing to write the sex scenes a lot more graphic and with much more visual detail. Well…yes! Of course, this sounded so much easier than I imagined…nevertheless, it’s made for some memorable and hopefully – in one scene at least – a rather original intimate moment =)
 
Thanks Barbara for having me as a guest on your blog! I’m so blessed to now be doing what I love!
Best
Mel Teshco

 

 

Stone Cold LoverHeiress Loretta Shaw is notorious for her loose morals and sexual needs. Trouble is, it’s taken her one too many one-night stands to realize that no man can extinguish the sexual fire she feels toward her guardian, Cray Diamond.

 

A long-ago curse made Cray immortal—a gargoyle, a guardian, who is impelled to protect a human chosen by the curse. He is imprisoned in stone during daylight hours but dusk returns him to flesh and bone to carry out his immortal duty.

 

That Cray can shift between human and living gargoyle at night bothers Loretta not one bit. She’s seen him naked many times and her desire for him—in any shape or form—knows no bounds. She’s tired of his resistance. He’s her gargoyle…and she wants him in her bed.
Excerpt: (Must be 18 years or over)  http://www.ellorascave.com/productspecs/9781419923418.htm

Comments
20 Responses to “~Welcome Ellora’s Cave author Mel Teshco and her Stone Cold Lover~”
  1. Congratulations on your Ellora’s Cave release, Mel! We’re so happy to feature it and you at EtS today;) I love the premise of your story and can’t wait to read it. The excerpt was super hot and very intriguing!

  2. Hey Mel – congrats again on your release! Interesting to know you started writing Sexy/Presents! You learn something new every day!!

    🙂
    Rach!

  3. Dawn McClure says:

    Great post. The blurb was hot and humorous at the same time. I loved those last few lines…he was her gargoyle, and she wants him in her bed. lol

    Now you have me wondering about that memorable sex scene. I’m thinking it’s time to buy another book. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by EtS. 🙂

  4. I remember reading Mel’s ms aimed at sexy/presents. I still have the visual of the heroine walking up the path leading to a house and the hero bursting through the front door out onto the porch in his paint spattered jeans and nothing else. I thought oh wow – that is one powerful image. And now look – all grown up. :o)

    Congrats on you release – I’m so proud of you.

  5. Mel says:

    Thanks Barbara and Embrace the Shadows for having me! So glad you liked the excerpt, and I hope you love the full!

  6. Mel says:

    Hey Rachael!
    Thanks for stopping by! Yep, I loved writing that line, may even go back to it one day…

  7. Mel says:

    Hi Dawn
    so glad you liked my blurb =)
    And I do hope you like that sex scene and that I’m not blowing my own trumpet too hard (g)

  8. Mel says:

    Hi Tracey!
    Ah, that was probably one of my favourite stories. One which I’m in the process of turning into a paranormal hee hee! wish me luck, I just may need it!
    And thanks for your congrats Trace – you, who has your ‘baby’ Night’s Cold Kiss just recently on the shelves!

  9. Bonnie H says:

    Oh – now I am VERY intrigued O.O

  10. I too never knew that you aimed at Sexys Mel. Glad you found your style and that you are turning the lovely image of what Tracey’s described into a paranormal. Good luck and congrats on SCL. 🙂

  11. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Mel – thanks so much for stopping by! And CONRATS on your new release. It’s really funny you said you were targeting the harlequin presents line when you first started writing – I did the same thing. I spent a lot of time honing my skills, thinking I was going to be the next big presents author. Never happened. I decided to try something totally different and that’s how I fell into paranormals.

    Your book sounds great – wishing you many sales!

  12. Mel says:

    Hi Bonnie,
    ‘intrigued’ is music to my ears (g)

  13. Mel says:

    Hi Eleni,
    glad to see you here!
    It’s nice to know I have a few minor secrets to let out of the bag hee hee! Thanks so much for your congrats and support =)

  14. Mel says:

    Hi Suzanne
    lol on what sounds a very similar writing journey. I guess another reason I love writing paranormals, particularly for a publisher like Ellora’s Cave, is the freedom to write without strict guidelines.

  15. Anna Hackett says:

    Hi Mel –
    Already read Stone-Cold Lover – hot, hot hot! Can’t wait for you to get Ice Cold Lover finished.

  16. Mel says:

    Hi Anna!
    Thanks for stopping by!
    So glad you found it hot, my editor will be happy! =)

  17. Hi Mel,

    I honed my writing by aiming for the Presents/Sexy line too! And now I write paranormals! Must definitely be those hot alpha males, lol!

  18. Mel says:

    Hi Christine!
    Another one! lol. I agree, it must be those alphas – and maybe the planets aligning at the right time (g)

  19. Sarina Hermann says:

    Youch!!! Can I say I would love a guardian like that, especially if he was hunky?? It sounds absolutely amazing and stunning Mel!

  20. Mel Teshco says:

    Hi Sarina,
    I have to agree with you there, if I needed a guardian, I’d have Cray as one anytime! And thanks so much for your lovely comments =)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

