Book Promotion V – Finding Balance

 Today wraps up my mini-series on book promotion. We’ve talked about websites, social networking, giving away freebies and blogging. While all of these things can help your sales, it’s important to remember that not everything works for every author — or every book. It’s also important to find a blanance in your life between writing, promoting and your “non-writing” life.  Spending too much time on book promotion can quickly lead to burnout.

 File:Taijitu yellow.PNG

I was fortunate enough to attend a workshop on book promotion at a regional RWA conference in New England last year. This workshop, put on by Anna DeStefano, Leah Hultenschmidt, Jessica Faust and Sally McKenzie, focused on print book promotion, but I think many of the comments could be applied to ebook promotion as well. Below I will summarize the three key points I took away from the workshop:

1) Choose your promotion wisely, considering your personality, budget, time constraints and mental health, you can’t do it all.

2) Know your target audience. Think outside the box and outside the romance industry.

3) Find out what your publisher is doing to promote your book. Don’t duplicate their efforts.  See if you can co-ordinate your promotion.

All valid points, but I would like to add one more. Sometimes it’s necessary to take a step back, unplug, and refill the well. Alison Kent did his very thing with fantastic results. I’ve done this, too. I’ll tell you the first 24 hours are difficult, but not impossible. The rewards are well worth the effort. Let’s face it, there are some things that are just more important than book sales.

girl

And lastly, make sure you leave time to write that next book. You can have the flashiest website, posess the most friends on facebook, have the most blog views, or hold the best contests, but it will all be wasted if you have nothing to promote.

So I’m asking all of you. How do you find promo zen? Have you ever “unplugged” from the internet in an effort to refresh or meet deadline? I want to know. Tell me about it!

Comments
4 Responses to “Book Promotion V – Finding Balance”
  1. I’m still working on finding that balance. My biggest goal is to find an agent…and I’ve yet to mail out the first manuscript to my top choices. It’s so easy (and fun!) to get caught up in the internet whirl! I have drastically cut down my time online in the last few weeks though. Checking in briefly as a reward for pages written seems to be working for me.

    I definitely believe that the majority of a writer’s time should be spent writing. Amazing how that concept can fall by the wayside. lol

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    LOL barbara. I agree. It seems like writing can quickly take a back seat to promotion…or even life. It is so important to keep working on that next book.

    Thanks for sharing. GL with the agent hunt!!

  3. hotcha1 says:

    HEY JENN!

    NY OH MY IS THE COVER HOT AND THE BLURB SMOKING! OH PICK ME! LOL

  4. hotcha1 says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I WANT! I WANI IT!!

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

