Take me to the Movies…

Once, a long time ago, I used to go to the movie theater. This was before we had home theaters, DVD rentals or Netflix. There was something very romantic about going to late-night showing and seeing the big names and well known faces play out an intriguing story. My first date with my husband was to the movies. We saw “Under Seige”.  I guess I’m dating myself with that one, eh? lol.

 

Anyway, times have changed. Sure, people still go to the movies, but more often than not, we enjoy watching in the comfort of their own home. Either way, there is always something rather comforting about seeing a story play out before you, don’t you think?

 

One of my favorite parts about the movies is watching the previews. I love seeing little snippets of action and have quite frequently rented videos based on what I’ve seen in the previews. Has anyone else done this?

 

As many of you know, you can also watch previews for books. Although the jury is still out as to whether these little snippets actually make a difference in sales. I’ve watched quite a few book trailers.

Some are highly polished…

Some are done with stills…

Although professionally constructed book trailers can be striking…

Sometimes the individual author can make one just as affective…

So what is an author who is just starting out to do? Do you spend the money to have one professionally done or do you do it yourself? Do you do one at all? Once you have a book trailer, what do you do with it?

I have never made a book trailer, so I will leave it to you readers to offer me advice as to whether the product is with the investment. I AM a book trailer watcher, however, and have a few tips on how to make a better trailer. (Well, at least it will work better with me, lol.)

1) Choose music that is appropriate for your book. I know this seems like a no brainer, but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen a trailer for a dark book with light, fun contemporary music as the backdrop.

2) Same with pictures. You really want the trailer to reflect the look and feel of your book. Don’t be dark and moody if you are writing a light-hearted paranormal.

3) Include buy information, not just your website. I’ll admit it, I’m lazy. I don’t want to click on your website, then search through countless pages for the buy information of the particular book I want. Make it easy for me by giving me specific buy information for the book you are promoting.

4) Be careful of copyright infringement. Again this should be a no-brainer, but be sure to read the small print on pictures and music you download so you aren’t doing anything illegal.

5) Have fun with it. This is probably the most important. If you aren’t having fun, then it will reflect in the final product. Don’t throw something together just because you feel every book HAS to have a trailer to go with it. If it’s a chore, then putting together a book trailer is probably not the job for you. Either hire someone to do it for you or skip it. While a book trailer is nice, it’s not the only way to sell your book.

So I’m opening it up to all of you readers. If you are a reader, do book trailers work for you? Have you ever bought a book based on a trailer? What is your favorite trailer?

If you are a writer, have you ever made a book trailer? what advice can you give? Where do you post your trailer once you have one?

Tell me about it!

Comments
3 Responses to “Take me to the Movies…”
  1. Lou Gagliardi says:

    I am a writer, not published yet obviously, but im getting there slowly. I see book trailers as a good thing though.

    I am a also a reader, and book trailers are awesome! They set the mood for the book, allow me to form a picture of the hero/ine, based off the actor in the trailer, as long as they closely follow the description in the book. Book trailers actually make me want to buy the book.

  2. I love movies and previews, too, so when book trailers started to pop up I was captivated. I have purchsed more books because of trailers than I would have thought. I am at heart a story girl, so as long as the premise captivates me, I’m content to enjoy the trailer. When it came time for my trailer, I decided to build one myself. It was really a lot of fun. It became a challenge to find images (royalty-free and legal) that portrayed what I was looking for, but at the same time embodied the tone of my book. Not an easy thing to do, but really fun. I posted it on my website in both flash and wmv formats, as well as on YouTube. The cost of my time was well worth the reception it got as well as the purchases I achieved because of it. I will definitely do it again!

  3. I love book trailers too. My most recent fav is one for a YA book called The Hollow by Jessica Verday. It’s a cosproductions video http://www.youtube.com/user/cosproductions

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed making all my vids, but I also dream of hiring a professional:)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

