Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Terry Spear

TSBooks

 

 

Please welcome Terry Spear, author of Heart of the Wolf, Destiny of the Wolf, and To Tempt the Wolf.  

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.  

When I was younger, I traipsed through jungle-like swamps in Florida, tackled sand dunes as tall as a five-story building, swung across six-feet deep pits like Me Jane, after the You-Tarzan types who made it (which if you didn’t catch the hint…I didn’t make it), unsettled boulders on orienteering contests, pinning myself under a rolling boulder the one time, rappelled mountains and buildings in a single bound, fired a tank, learned how to set claymore mines, petted a sandpaper shark…actually, it was a sand shark, but the skin felt like sandpaper, fed stingrays in the Caribbean, picked up a Portuguese Man-of-War once with my bare hands (I was 4 years old), and….oh, you mean, writing-related??? 

Thanks, Dawn, for having me with you here today on your blog. You did say to have fun, right? And that’s me, for fun. What to do with all these great adventures? Write books. All the above is true about me, though. My stories? Well, some are really true…fictionalized a bit. But I do write for genealogy magazines also, and that’s all the truth, nothing but the truth, as far as oral history goes! 🙂 And so when I write my stories, even as far out as hunky werewolf and vampire romances, I want it to be as real and close to being as plausible as can be. Heart of the Wolf received Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of the Year after saying how real the story seemed and I couldn’t have been more thrilled. 

ETS – How exciting!  So, three words come to mind when I think of you.  Sexy Alpha Heroes.  How do you make your heroes stand out in the crowded paranormal romance market?  

They have heart. Not that other alpha heroes in the paranormal romance market don’t, but they’re very well adjusted as far as being what they are. No death wishes. No feeling as though if they didn’t have a mate forever more, they’d want to end their miserable existence. No psych couches for them. Nope, they love who and what they are. That does not mean they don’t have troubles. Mountains of them. J But no matter what they want, they take care of the other guy or gal’s needs first. They don’t think of themselves as hero types, they just are. 🙂 

ETS – Your heroine in Destiny of the Wolf, Lelandi, was kick-ass and vulnerable, at the same time.  I have to admit, she’s my fav heroine of yours.  🙂 How did she first appear to you, and how does she compliment the hero? 

Woohoo, thanks, Dawn! When I was a kid, I got into a confrontation with a bully. I was riding my bicycle on the sidewalk home from the elementary school. He told me to get off the sidewalk. The road was way too dangerous to ride on. I didn’t even hesitate to stand up to him (even though I was extremely shy) and wouldn’t budge since he could easily walk around me on the grass. I got a fist in the face for it. He hit me so hard, he knocked me off my bicycle and I went home bawling. I never expected a boy to hit a girl. My dad said boys don’t hit girls. BUT, I was glad for having stood up to him. So in my stories, the heroines stand up for who they are, and yet, they truly are vulnerable. They attempt to right the wrong, but it doesn’t always work out the way they plan. They might get a fist in the face, but in the end, they win out. Lelandi loved her sister, and had to learn the truth and find the guilty party. She was a caregiver for her father, and she’d tried to stand up for her sister against the brutality of her sister’s husband. She also had strong emotional ties to her brother, and when he could have died, she also protected him and was so affected by his couple of near-death experiences, she couldn’t return from her wolf form to her human form right away. 🙂 Darien isn’t used to a woman like that who is strong, but vulnerable. He’s strong and vulnerable too, but their strengths and weaknesses compliment one another, making them almost perfect mates. Almost, because we all know that perfect is perfectly boring. 🙂 

ETS – Dancing with the Stars or You’ve Got Talent?  

Ohmigosh, here come the rotten tomatoes! I don’t watch shows like that because I don’t have the time. 🙂 Between writing, editing, teaching online writing workshops, promoting, and working full time at a library, I only get to watch an occasional movie, and then I feel guilty. Because whatever free time I have??? I garden or READ. I LOVE to read. 

ETS – I’ll let that one go…(mindless shows rock, BTW lol)  When did you realize you wanted to write romance, and how did you go after your dream?  

First off, I didn’t read romance. But then when I really considered that notion, I realize it wasn’t true. Early on, I had fallen in love with tales of romance. I just didn’t know it. Ever read Beauty and the Beast? Snow White? Cinderella? The Glass Mountain (Polish Fairy Tale), Rapunzel? East of the Moon and West of the Sun (Norwegian Fairy Tale based on a Scandinavian one—first shapeshifter story I ever read, and another super children’s romance)…sooo, yep, I’d been reading romances forever! The difference between my stories and these? The hero might be attempting to rescue the heroine, but the heroine is just as likely to jump into a bad situation and save him! 

So after writing a couple of children’s stories, I went after the adult market, then back to young adult also. I love writing romances because I love reading happily ever afters! 

ETS – To Tempt a Wolf was just released.  What can we expect in this new novel? 

To Tempt the Wolf is all about: A gray werewolf, Hunter Greymere, who has lost his California home to wildfires and moves to Oregon, but his sister runs off, his pack mutinies, he attempts to bring his sister home, and ends up losing much more—his memories. And lying naked and injured on an Oregon beach, he awaits his fate—further trouble in the form of an enticing woman who isn’t exactly human, who’s attempting to free her brother, unsuccessfully from prison for a crime he didn’t commit, and being stalked by one of Hunter’s kind. 

ETS – Sounds awesome!  What authors did you read while growing up? 

I read a lot of the classics—Jack London’s Call of the Wild and White Fang gave me an appreciation of wolves. I loved Last of the Mohicans and Gone with the Wind. But I also was an avid reader of fairy tales from around the world, of Native American stories, of Greek mythology, and ghost stories were a favorite. 

ETS – If you could shape-shift into any animal, what would it be?  (And no, it can’t be a wolf.  Too easy!  LOL)  

LOL…I want to be a mermaid. I know it’s not exactly a shapeshifter type…but if I could be human for part of the time and a mermaid another…that would be fun. I love the water, and I think it would be neat to explore the sea floors and caves without all that cumbersome water-breathing equipment. It would be great to have a sexy singing voice and a sexy body to go along with it. And sexy mermen too. 🙂 Can’t forget about them! 🙂 I did write about a sea demon in The Vampire…In My Dreams (YA) and then an adult short story has a sexy sea demon in it who tangles with a hunk of a vampire…still need to sell it. 🙂 

ETS – What is your writing process like? 

I think up a couple of characters—decide what their goals are and the motivation for having these goals, their first meeting, their occupations and run with it. I’m a total pantser, writing by the seat of my pants. So absolutely don’t plot out my whole book beforehand. The characters grow as the story progresses. 🙂 

ETS – Can you tell us what you’re working on now?  

Plight of the Wolf, title to change. It’s due out in Fall, 2010. It’s Book 6 in the werewolf series about Carol Wood, a nurse who’s been turned and fighting the change, and Chester McKinley a PI, who doesn’t believe in her psychic abilities and is fighting his attraction for the woman. But several issues are building: Darien wants her mated since as a newly turned werewolf, she can be a danger to herself and others. A red werewolf from the pack decimated by Darien and his pack vows revenge. A swine flu virus is affecting the werewolves in a bad way. And…Carol’s dream of working at the hospital is about to be terminated when…more to come. 🙂 Remember, I’m a pantser, and I’m just now writing the story! 🙂 So the rest is yet to be discovered! 

This story is set back in Silver Town and so the saga of Lelandi and Darien, his brothers and all the characters from Destiny of the Wolf are revisited. 🙂 

ETS – Yay!  What advice would you give to aspiring romance writers? 

Whatever you do, never give up. Keep writing, keep revising, and keep submitting! 

ETS – Thanks so much for chatting with us today!

Thanks so much for having me, Dawn! It was a real pleasure! 

ETS – You can visit Terry’s website to learn more about her books.

TSBooks1TSBooks2

Terry SpearAward-winning author of urban fantasy and medieval historical romantic suspense, Heart of the Wolf just named in Publishers Weekly’s BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR, NOR Reader Choice for BEST PARANORMAL ROMANCE.  

Terry Spear also writes true stories for adult and young adult audiences. She’s a retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves and has an MBA from Monmouth University and a Bachelors in Business and Distinguished Military Graduate of West Texas A & M. She also creates award-winning teddy bears, Wilde & Woolly Bears, to include personalized bears designed to commemorate authors’ books. When she’s not writing or making bears, she’s teaching online writing courses. 

Originally from California, she’s lived in eight states and now resides in the heart of Texas. She is the author of Heart of the Wolf, Destiny of the Wolf, To Tempt the Wolf, Legend of the White Wolf, Winning the Highlander’s Heart, Deadly Liaisons, The Vampire…In My Dreams (young adult), Deidre’s Secret (young adult), The Accidental Highland Hero (2010), two more wolf tales from Sourcebooks, and numerous articles and short stories for magazines.

Upcoming Releases:

Deadly Liaisons, Jan 2010

Legend of the White Wolf, Feb 2010

The Accidental Highland Hero, Mar 2010

To Tempt the Wolf, Aug 2010

Plight of the Wolf, Oct 2010

Twitter | Facebook | MySpace | BlogCasablanca Authors Blog | Wickedly Romantic Blog | Shapeshifter Romance

ATTENTION : Book giveaway to one lucky reader who replies to this post.  It’s a book of choice – Heart of the Wolf, Destiny of the Wolf, or To Tempt a Wolf…depending on where you are in Terry’s series!  Terry is traveling today, so she’ll try and stop in periodically.  Leave a comment or question and I’ll announce the winner on Saturday morning!  (Winners must be from U.S. or Canada.)

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Terry Spear”
  1. terryspear says:

    Thanks so much to Embrace the Shadows for having me! I’m off to work and a road trip, but will be checking in when I can! 🙂

  2. We’re glad to have you as our guest, Terry! I’m so inspired by your energy and your heroines. I love to follow kick ass, but vulnerable all the way through to their HEA:D

  3. Dawn McClure says:

    Have a safe trip, Terry! Thanks again for the interview. 🙂

  4. terryspear says:

    Thanks so much, Barbara!!! Yeah, no wimpy heroines. 🙂 Got to stand up for themselves. I remember some old movie I watched where the heroine stood their helpless while the hero fought off their attackers. And she’s screaming, hands on cheeks… My mother said, “Pick up a lamp and help, Dummy!” Yep, that’s the way I felt. Thanks for having me, Barbara!

    Thanks, Dawn! I’m excited…BEACH PARTY! 🙂 But *sigh* got to work first! Thanks for the interview!

  5. Sarina Hermann says:

    Hey Terry!! Great interview! I have to agree, whenever I’m reading I do not like the type of girl that will just sit and watch as someone defends her. I am still trying to get the books *cries* because I absolutely love them all. Anywho good luck on the traveling!

  6. Donna S says:

    Great interview. Thanks for taking the time. I have been wanting to start your series. It sounds great.

  7. susan leech says:

    Glad to say hello and to see you on this blog. I just won your To Tempt A Wolf from another authors web site contest and just started reading it. I love it and want to return to it but wanted to do my mail here first. I hadn’t heard about you before but sure glad I did. I read all about you since I got your book and I know I missed alot of good reads. I hope to be entered in your contest too. A new fan who is passing the word around to all my friends about your books. susan L.

  8. Bonnie H says:

    Hi Terry! *waves* Awesome interview, I love reading about your writing process. And OH! That bully – that makes me so mad!! I don’t watch much TV either but one show I like to watch is called “Bully Beat Down” and the minute I read about that awful boy punching you I thought “Man, I’d love to see HIM on Bully Beat Down”
    Anyway, congrats on all your successes and thanks again!

  9. Sandi says:

    Nice interview 🙂 I’ve never read your books but I’m thinking now I’ll have to start 🙂

  10. Brynna Curry says:

    Great interview! Have a safe trip.

  11. Cathy M says:

    Hi Terry, I’ve read the first two books so far, and really do love your heroes. Next up is, To Tempt the Wolf, and I can’t wait to read Hunter’s story.

  12. Sheila Deeth says:

    Lovely interview. What an exciting childhood! My kids handled creatures in zoos and aquariums. Oh, and watched the wolves howl just outside Yellowstone, and got really excited when wild wolves were re-introduced.

  13. Candi Wall says:

    Terry,

    You continue to amaze. I love your interviews, they’re very much like your writing – real. If that’s what you were always hoping for, then you captured it well.

    I have to say – Mermaid? Really? But then life cant all be sexy wolfmen…

    Great interview, and be safe on the road.

  14. elaing8 says:

    Terry’s been busy,I’ve seen her all the blogs 🙂
    This is one series I am definitely looking forward to reading.There are so many great reviews out there for it.

  15. Nicole B says:

    Hi Terry ( and Dawn)

    Dawn – you are one crazy interviewer.. I hope one day i can be on the other side of your crazy questions.. lol..

    Double hi to Terry 🙂

    Just picked up Tempt the Wolf and hoping to crack it open this weekend and dive into your werewolves once again. I love the slight realism of the wolves and you’re wonderful take on them. The characters are so wonderful and their stories fantastic.
    What else can I say?? I know I’ll get another great read.

    hugs!

  16. Taylor Z says:

    Have a safe trip! I’m still trying to win! lol This blog i don’t need to leave my email, woo! Thanks for the interview. I’m not a fan of mermaids, but have you or will you ever write about mermaids and mermen? Once again thanks!!

  17. Andrea I says:

    I have not read any of your books. I’m so glad I found this blog through the post in PNRattractions. I enjoyed your interview and am looking forward to checking out the books you’ve written.
    I remember well the Portugese-Man-Of-War from the beaches in NW Florida where I grew up.

  18. Ashley says:

    What a great blog, i look forward to reading your books, they sound great. Some good advice her for inspiring authors like myself, thanks.

  19. Dawn McClure says:

    Nicole – LOL! It’s the wacky questions I always have the most fun with. 😉

  20. Terry Spear says:

    Ohmigosh! Thanks to everyone for dropping by! It was a long grueling drive to San Antonio, traffic was atrocious, but fortunately my son guided me into the city so I didn’t get totally lost. We’ll be leaving in the morning for the island. 🙂

    Thanks, Sarina! I so agree. They need to be adventurous but at the same time have a vulnerability about them or a woman like that can come off being too tough. 🙂

    Thanks, Donna! I hope you do!

    Ah, thanks so much, Susan! I’m thrilled you’re enjoying To Tempt the Wolf!

    Thanks, Bonnie! When I saw A Christmas Story, and the little boy finally having enough of that bully bullying him…I sure felt for him.

    Thanks, Sandi, I hope you try them!

    Thanks so much, Brynna!

    You will love Hunter’s story, Cathy, and thanks!!! Poor guy. He really has it bad…you can’t help but want things to turn out right for him!

    Hi Sheila! Thanks! I always thought my dad had an exciting childhood and mine was nothing in comparison, but then again, I did have some wild adventures that were all mine. LOL

    LOL, Candi! Yeah, for real! I was in love with the idea of mermaids from early on. We always lived near a body of water, so maybe that was some of the allure. 🙂

    Thanks, Elaing8!

    Ah, thanks so much, Nicole!!! Let me know who you want in another book! So far I’ve had requests for Meara and Rourke and Michael. 🙂

    Hi Taylor Z!
    Thanks!! Well, I did write a couple of fantasies that had mermen and mermaids in them. Now if I can ever get them published…

    Hi Andrea! Thanks! We went to South Padre Island in the spring and the beach was literally littered with hundreds of them. My kids had never seen them and we had to be really careful where we walked. There were jellyfish too and we took a bunch of pictures of them. Hopefully nothing like that this time!!

    Thanks, Ashley!. Hope you enjoy them!

    And thanks to everyone for dropping by and commenting!

  21. Virginia C says:

    I love Terry’ interviews. They are as entertaining as her books! Thank you.

  22. Terry Spear says:

    LOL, thanks Virginia! 🙂

  23. Beverly G says:

    congrats to the winner and what a wonderful inteerview terry i havent had a chance to rea dyour work but im deff puttying you on my to buy list

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

