Weres and ‘shifters

I have a confession to make.  I’ve long been a vampire girl.  When I was a teen, I didn’t have the luxury of Edward from Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series.  But I did have Louis and Lestat.  They were good enough for me;) I obsessed, as I often do over something I love, and my love affair with vampires began.

iStock_000003653584MediumLooking back to try to recall the first time a were or ‘shifter blipped on to my radar screen I would have to say Laurell K. Hamilton’s Richard(who eventually became a bastard, but who knew?).  Compared to the foppish vampire in the Anita Blake series, Richard was the clear choice for me.  And I’m going to confess something now…I’m thirty-eight years old, but I have a sneaking suspicion that if I was a teenager I would own a Team Jacob shirt.

So, what’s so appealing about weres and ‘shifters? 

Coming late to the party,  I’d say it’s their warmth, their wild, their passion.  While vampires usually deal in cold sophistication(I’ll wax poetic about that another day!), the untamed savagery of the man who is also a wolf, cougar, tiger, bear taps into a longing for adventure that is safe to satisfy with a hot romance read.  I’ve heard it said that paranormal romance rose when historical romance fell because readers still had a craving for the not-quite-modern alpha male.

Yes, that.

I’m not saying a werewolf hero isn’t going to take the heroine to dinner and a movie.  I’m just saying the potential that he’s going to do so much more because of the wildness he hides beneath his skin is enough to keep me turning the pages.

If vampires represent a soul-deep hunger to me, weres and ‘shifters represent heat and passion. 

Reason enough for them to be the perfect heroes for paranormal romance.

So, confess, what do you enjoy most about weres and ‘shifters?

Comments
8 Responses to “Weres and ‘shifters”
  1. sandrasookoo says:

    You could be right. I’m knee deep in shifters right now. My werewolf novel won’t release until Spring 2010 and I’ve just signed a contract for a feline shifter historical 🙂 Now? Writing it’s sequel except the shifter will be a female in the avian family. I think the love stems from the battling of normal/paranormal. Predator vs being the prey. And they’re just super cool and different 🙂

    Whatever the love is, bring ’em on.

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    LOL Barbara. I’m “Team Jacob”, too. dDn’t get me wrong, I love vampires as much as the next person. I think you said it well, though, when you talked about there being this potential for something wild. And sometimes I’m just in the mood for warm and emotional rather than cold and aloof. 😉

  3. Lou Gagliardi says:

    1. I can’t stand Twilight

    But I think shifters and weres represent a down to earth, primal energy that can appeal to both men and women.

  4. hotcha1 says:

    OH MY STARS! SUCH HOT COVERS! DANG NOW WHAT DO I PICK? LOL

  5. Robyn Bski says:

    I’m also a vampire girl, and in general I just don’t like weres and shifters. However, I’m willing to overlook that when the story’s good (and if I ❤ the author). When does vampire week start? 😉

  6. stacey smith says:

    I like there Wildness there passion there wild sexiness.
    sasluvbooks@yahoo.com

  7. Chase says:

    Shifters to me represent the struggle to find just the right balance needed to find peace and happiness–along with that special lady that can’t wait to be delectably ravished. While vampires–my own personal introduction to the paranormal romance world–represent finding something that’s been lost over time–hope and love (a little bit of humanity.)

  8. Deidre says:

    Probably just the possibility of such things. I’ve always been a day-dreamer and the supernatural my dreams of choice.

    Deidre

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

