Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Angela Knight

AngelaKnight

Please welcome Angela Knight, New York Times bestselling author of books for Berkley, Red Sage, Changeling Press, and Loose Id. She’s also won a Career Achievement award in Paranormal Romance from Romantic Times Book Club. 

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.   

I’m 48, and I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was 9.  I stated countless novels I never finished until I hit 40, and then I decided I’d by God finish a novel and sell it.  So I wrote FOREVER KISS for Red Sage.  In 2002, Cindy Hwang approached me about writing for Berkley.  I’ve written nine books since then; my second Berkley novel, MASTER OF THE NIGHT, hit the USA Today list, and each of my books has been a bestseller since then. 

ETS – First off, congratulations on making the New York Times list!  You must be thrilled.  Can you tell us about Time Hunters: Guardian?   

GUARDIAN is about the daughter of the heroic couple from my first book, JANE’S WARLORD.  She’s 23 now, and she’s a TIME HUNTER – a cyborg warrior who travels through time, enforcing temporal law and catching temporal criminals.  She ends up trapped in our time, where she meets a man with mysterious abilities. Trouble is, Nick, her hero, is also genetically related to her enemies, which are also hunting them both.  

So they spend the book fighting the villains and trying to figure out why they’re after Nick. 

ETS – How did you develop your paranormal worlds?  They’re so intricate and unique.  

I just think about the logical implications of things.  If you had a computer implanted in your brain, what about viruses?  A computer virus could literally kill you or induce horrible visions.  How would you fight viruses like that?  So I just try to think through the consequences of my ideas, and what kind of problems they create for my characters. 

ETS – Cat or Dog person?  

Cat, definitely. 

ETS – Me, too!  🙂  Master of Fire, part of your Mageverse series, will be releasing in 2010.  What can readers expect in this novel?   

I have to admit, I love that book.  The hero, Logan MacRoy, is the son of King Arthur, and he’s mortal.  He’s been putting off becoming a vampire because he’s afraid he can’t handle the transition and his father would have to kill him.  He doesn’t want to do that to Arthur.  He’s also based on a real person – Lt. Ashley Harris, who is a forensic chemist, arson investigator, and bomb tech.  Ashley helped me come up with all these great bombs for my assassin to use in his attempts to kill Logan.  My heroine, Giada Shepherd, is a Maja, who could transform Logan into a vampire if they have sex three times.  And Arthur has told her to stay always from Logan.  Which of course means that they’re struggling with a tremendous attraction for each other. 

ETS – On your website it states that Cindy Hwang ‘found’ you and asked if you would like to write for Berkley.  You don’t hear that happening too often!  How did that all come about?   

She read my SECRETS novellas, which were among the first erotic romance published.  My publisher, Alexandria Kendal, started doing Erotic Romance in 1995, long before anyone else.  Cindy thought erotic romance was going to be the next big thing, but she was having trouble finding anyone that could write it.  So she e-mailed me and asked if I’d like to write for Berkley. Not being an idiot, I said yes. 

ETS – What is your favorite holiday?   

Christmas.  Halloween is a close second.  I love giving presents to people.  And getting them, of course! 

ETS – You’re a very prolific author.  What is your writing process like?   

I plan out my books, and then I write 10 pages a day.  After I get the first draft done, I do two rewrites to add details and clean up plot problems.  Then I send the book in. 

ETS – Name your favorite romance novel.   

Oh, that’s hard!  Probably one of the IN DEATH books.  Wait, I know:  THE WINDFLOWER, by Laura London.  That’s an old romance, but I read it like a dozen times.   

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring romance writers?  

Have faith in your work.  Finish it and then submit it.  I could have been published long before I actually was, if I’d only had more confidence in myself.  But I always talked myself out of finishing my current book because I never thought I was any good. 

If you’d like a sample of my work, you’ll find a reading of HOT FOR THE HOLIDAYS on my website, www.angelasknights.com.  I also have several videos I’ve created there, along with desktop wallpaper of handsome hunks.  You’ll find the hunks in my free members only section. 🙂 

ETS – Thanks so much for chatting with us today!  You can learn more about Angela and her books by visiting her website

Twitter | Facebook | MySpace

One lucky commenter will win a copy of Hot For The Holidays, so don’t be shy!  Winner will be announced on Saturday.  🙂

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Angela Knight”
  1. I love your interviews, Dawn! I enjoyed a glimpse into your process, Angela, and into your history. That must have been such a good feeling to be approached by Berkley! Congratulations on your success:)

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    I have to agree – great interview Dawn!

    Angela – I have to admit that I’m a huge fan of your Mageverse series. Can hardly wait until “Master of Fire” comes out. 🙂 Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us.

  3. Cathy M says:

    I’ve been a fan since reading Forever Kiss, years ago. The Mageverse series is amazing, love the world building. The Hot for The Holidays anthology includes all my favorite authors and is already on my wish list.

  4. Thanks so much for posting this interview, ETS and Angela! Angela, you’re one of my heroes! (um, the professional kind, not the kind that show up in my manuscripts, lol)

    I’m psyched to find out that the heroine of Guardian is Jane’s kid! So cool. Can’t wait to read it.

    And I smiled big when I found out your favorite romance is The Windflower. The original copy I had way back disintegrated and I just spent big bucks for a replacement copy–had to get that original ultra-vivid cover!

    Best wishes on your new projects!

  5. D. L. Little says:

    Your books sound so interesting! I haven’t read any of them as of yet, but I’m putting you on my TBR list. :o)

    Oh, BTW, I’m a cat also, love love cats.

  6. D. L. Little says:

    OK, I’m not actually a cat, what I meant was “I’m a cat PERSON” ….. actually come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind being a cat. lol

  7. Liz Pelletier says:

    You’re one of my absolute favorite authors! *insert fangirl squee here* How did you come up with the imagery for reaching into the Mageverse? I love your simple and elegant worldbuilding which allows a reader to visualize grabbing the ribbon of light to be pulled into the other dimension. Also, what was your inspiration for making Merlin from an alien race? I’ve read a lot of spins on the old Arthurian legends, but that one struck me as incredibly original and inventive. Thanks so much!

  8. Pamela L. says:

    Great interview! I just finished Warrior and loved it. So I had to go and get Jane’s Warlord and Guardian. And, because I adore dragons, Master of Dragons. But I’m woefully behind with the Mageverse series. Sorry!

    Thanks also, Angela, for encouraging writers to never give up and for being such an inspiration.

    Dog or cat person? Definitely a cat lover. 🙂

  9. Robyn Bski says:

    Yay, AK is awesome! Great interview. Oh, and more advice for aspiring authors: if you get the chance, take one of AK’s workshops, they’re really, really good. I should know, I’ve taken 4 of them… 😉

  10. Michele says:

    Great interview Dawn. Everytime I come to ETS there is always a really great interview with wonderful authors.

    Angela, I read your book Passionate Ink: A Guide to Writing Erotic Romance and it inspired me to follow my dream and now I’m back into writing again. Thank you so much.

    And I really, really loved Jane’s Warlord and can’t wait to read Guardian with the daughter of the couple from that book!

  11. Cyberliper says:

    I love Angela Knight and have been patiently waiting for the next installment of the Megeverse series (Mar ’10)!!! I haven’t read Hot for the Holidays yet, but I know it’s going to be awesome!

  12. Deidre says:

    Hi Angela! I’ll have to look up The Windflower. I fell in love with a 1989 book by Charlotte Vale Allen titled Night Magic. It’s a take on the classic Phantom of the Opera, but it’s a beautiful love story and wonderfully written.

    Deidre

  13. susan leech says:

    Hi Angela, I am so glad to have a chance to read about you and the interview was great. I love cats too and my daughter is into the cat rescure projects. It is something she feels has to be done. I retired this year and so went into cyber space to find new authors and new books. I love the contests too as they give me a chance to try and win some books which helps now that I no longer have a full time job. ha ha I wish you the best of luck in the future and have you on my list to check out your books. Have a great day. susan L.

  14. Bonnie H says:

    OMG thank you SO much for this wonderful interview – I am so inspired and encouraged by your story, Angela. I haven’t read any of your books YET but I now have quite a few more books on my Christmas wish list!!

  15. Susan L says:

    Angela after upteen years of people turning into one by bites you and Darren Shan have broken new ground. Yours by making love THREE times and Darren by a scratch on the wrist. What do you think will be the next method of transformation?

  16. Beverly G says:

    I have yet to read your work but it sounds awesome caint wait to be able to your on my to be read list congrats on the awesome interview and the new release

  17. Deidre says:

    Darn, missed out on this one.

    Deidre

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

