Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Renee Michaels

Her Chosen Wolf

 

 

Please welcome Renee Michaels, multi-published author.   

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself. 

About me? Shoot. Well, I’m the mother of two kids.  One in college- fingers crossed that she stays in- and an autistic son. I cook like a pro, only because I love to eat and I detest bad food. I pretend to garden. I toss water on my plants when I remember, and I’m truly surprised when one of my neglected orchids sprouts a bloom. Go figure? 

I love to read—that goes without saying. I have books up the wahzoo. My to-be-read pile is embarrassing, but I refuse to cull them out. Each book is an adventure for me to go on. Everybody should have a vice, and that’s mine. Not a bad one to have to my way of thinking. I read everything, B&N should give me an life time book -buyer’s achievement award. 

Dream trip Venice, working towards that. That’s the only thing I want right now besides the obvious, cure for cancer, world peace yada yada. 

I write in spurts—and get grumpy when a story is not going well. After all, it’s my story and it should be going my way. I have a heck of an imagination- all writers do- but I day dream about the- what ifs- and put them on paper.   What I have published so far has gotten some nice comments. Small notes from my readers are printed out and kept in a folder. I still can’t believe other people really like my stuff. I’m still learning though.  One day I’ll buy one of those Kriket things and take a stab at being crafty, pretty them up, and frame them. Maybe not, I can use the time to write or read. 

ETS – Your cover for HER CHOSEN WOLF is hot!  Tell us about your heroine Saffa and the world you created. 

Saffa has girt, she took the bull by the horns, or should I say in this case the wolf by the fur?—and went after the man she wanted. She is in a bit of a fix, since the were council has all but handed over to a man who’d use her for political gain. So, she go she seeks out the man she really wants  and taunts him with images of her in the arms of another man.  What she says to him is the best I’ve ever written. 

Grin, yeah, she gets a little shameless, but she is desperate. She asks him, when he hears her scream with the pleasure another man gives her in the dead of night. Would it matter to him? Hell yes, it does. 

 Saffa is one of a kind even in her world, she is a multimorph. She has the ability to shift into any animal she chooses. It just so happens she also carries the gift of longevity in her bloodline, which makes her a prize amongst the packs. Fully aware how important she is to her race, she is still determined to choose her own mate. This is going to cause her some conflict, but she is a woman who stands by her beliefs. 

The wolf packs I write about in this story live high in the Rockies. They answer to a Supremalpaha. Justice Ambervane assumes the role in this novella. Their society is ruled by some pretty arcane laws, but they are evolving. After all, the world around them is changing rapidly and they have to adapt. Some these weres are doing so faster than others, which give me the chance to mix it up. I love the way modern technology creeps into their lives while they still live by their instincts and innate skills. For example, our hero, Justice, hates cell phones, but he has one. Only four numbers programmed into it. It annoys the hell out of his family. 

Envy is universal, and that is the root of the conflict in this story. A rival pack covets both Saffa and a position of power within the pack hierarchy. The Redmavens are a small pack and they taken some unnatural steps to build up their numbers. This cannot be allowed. Of course Justice had to kick some serious butt, and Saffa refuses to be left behind. The girl has skills so why not use them? 

ETS – So, are two heroes better than one?  <BG> 

I have to confess I never intended to write a ménage in this story, but once the players were in place this is how it panned out. In this case I would say, absolutely, two men are better than one. I love Drew, my secondary hero. I have a real soft spot for him. He has emotional baggage, and is such a bad boy. Yeah, he made this trio deliciously possible. 

ETS – HER CHOSEN WOLF is the first in your Were Chronicles series.  What can we expect to see next? 

I’m struggling with Drew’s story right now. I have to make this story as good as Her Chosen Wolf. I have it all down in my head, but of course the story dosen’t always follow the path I have in mind. I’m editing and writing as fast as I can. But my day job intrudes. Darn bills.  I have four stories in mind for this series so far. If they are well received, the door is open for more. 

ETS – You write in a few different genres.  Do you have a favorite? 

You’d never believe I love fantasy and the paranormal best. But I lucked out and was invited to contribute two short stories to projects put together by some friends. A Coffee time reviewer said of my contemporary, Descent Into Pleasure in the Goin Down anthology. “Ms. Michaels has written the perfect short story”. It can’t get better than that.

My hot cowboy tale, A Wild Ride To Paradise”, has gotten rave reviews. Five Divas and such. 

ETS – True Blood or Supernatural? 

Sorry you True Blood fans. Supernatural. Why? The men of course. I can’t get into the actor who plays Bill on True Blood. The hunky men on Supernatural ring my bells. Even the angel on that series is a hottie. Hhmmm. 

And by the way the sexiest paranormal heroes. Hugh Jackman’s, Wolverine- whimper—gimme some of that- and that sexy Adrian Paul, Highlander an underappreciated actor in my opinion. Why doesn’t Hollywood give us more eye candy in the paranormal genre? Eric Dane or that guy from the first two Mummy movies, I can’t remember his name. I’d love to see either one of them in some skimpy super hero garb. I can get behind that. 

ETS – Oded Fehr (Who plays Ardeth Bay on the Mummy) is my dream man.  *Sigh*  Sorry about that.  Back to the interiew.  <BG>  What is your writing process like?  Are you a plotter or pantser? 

Pantster—groan. I believe, if I were more of a plotter I’d have less editing to do. I try to plot, and I’ve taken classes, but I always fall back to writing by the seat of my pants. You should hear the language when I don’t connect the dots properly. 

However, when I get my teeth into the story and the characters, the story pours out. 

ETS – We’ve been running first sale stories here at EtS on Saturdays.  Can you tell us your first sale story? 

Heck. My husband became ill and was bed ridden at home. I started tapping out a story on my lap top and The Sword and the Sorceress poured out. I can tell you it was a miracle Liquid Silver Books, bought it? I made every writer mistake. I had almost every character in the books name starting with an S. I’ve written the sequel but it needs work. Editing.  So many stories written so little time to edit. I hate going back.

 ETS – What are you working on now? 

I’m going to sound crazy. As I mentioned before, I’m working on the second story in the Were Chronicles, then a vampy tale short—the heroine has a mouth on her you wouldn’t believe. Relax no cuss words.

I’m also fiddling with a space/vamp story. It’s great—I love it and it’s distracts me, big time, from what I should be doing. 

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring writers? 

We all have these stories in our heads, but first and foremost bone up on the mechanics of writing before you submit a story. Punctuation, sentence structure, and grammar. How do I know this, I was nailed by my editors. I just got a rejection for that reason. Yeah, bad habits die hard. Write every day, and make friends in your writing community. I’ve found that they are a generous supportive bunch of people. I can’t imagine life without them now. 

ETS – Thanks so much for chatting with us today! 

You are more than welcome—It was fun. Boy did I babble. Thanks for having me.

ETS – You can find out more about Renee Michaels and her books by going to her website.

Renee will be giving away a copy of Her Chosen Wolf to one lucky commenter.  So don’t be shy, ask a question or leave a comment for a chance to win.  🙂

Comments
18 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Renee Michaels”
  1. I’m a huge Renee Michaels fan, not to mention having been part of her two group projects, the Goin’ Down sex in elevator stories at Aspen and the mail order bride stories – Legends of Loving, Texas stories at Red Rose. Sorry about the impromptu ads.

    But seriously, don’t give me Her Chosen Wolf, because I’ve already read it and give it high marks. Like the author, I too fell in love with Drew and am waiting impatiently for his story.

    Now, I must get back to my own stories. Good interview, Renee.

    jane

  2. Great interview ladies! I can tell you now that Her Chosen Wolf needs to go in my TBR pile. And BTW that is one yummy cover! I have to tell you though, I’m looking forward to your vampy heroine with a mouth on her! Sounds like fun;-)

  3. Vanessa says:

    Already have Her Chosen Wolf and love it! Am definitely looking forward to Drew’s story.

  4. Tabitha Shay says:

    Hi Renee,
    Great interview and boy am I hearing great things about Her Chosen Wolf…Congrats on your new book, can’t wait to get my hands on this one….Tabs

  5. Great interview. You’re cover looks amazing. I read a blog the other day that said NOT to worry about the mechanics of writing, but to just write. I completely disagree with that, so its nice to see someone out there who is giving out the right information. Writing, and knowing the rules are equally important.

    Wishing you many happy sales!

  6. Great interview, Renee!
    Renee is a fabulous writer. I hope I win.

    I wish all the success in the world.

    Hugs,
    Tambra

  7. Elaine G says:

    Great interview. This sounds like a great book/series.
    Renee Michaels is a new author to me,I look forward to reading her books.

  8. Linda Henderson says:

    I enjoyed the interview and loved reading about the book. I am very interested in reading it and I’m glad it is part of a series. I love series books. Would love to win this one.

  9. Rachel says:

    Many sales, Renee and great interview 🙂

  10. Sherry says:

    Your books sound great and has been add to my to buy list can’t wait to read it.

  11. Cathy M says:

    Hi Renee, you’ve got another Supernatural fan here. Love that they are brothers, their humor, the suspense of every episode, the music, and of course, that are both so darn sexy.

  12. stacey smith says:

    I love your Interview.Your book sounds great I love a strong Female in My Books.one that does not let people push them around.
    sasluvbooks@yahoo.com

  13. Hi Renee,
    Great interview. And I’m not embarrassed to say I’d love to win Her Chosen Wolf. Can’t believe I haven’t read it yet, being another member of the Legends of Loving Texas series. 🙂 Sounds like a great read with a wonderful, confident heroine.
    And I love werewolf stories. 😉
    Jeanmarie

  14. Deidre says:

    Hi Renee! Can you give us any info on the space/vamp story? What inspired it?

    Deidre

  15. Wonderful interview! I’m so sorry I missed it yesterday (had an unexpected opportunity to run away with my husband for the weekend:D).

    So good to have you visit EtS, Renee.

  16. Hello Ladies. I so sorry I havn’t responded earlier. My internet went down, and I was in a panic. Sheesh. My kid came home and clicked two buttons, and I’m back. That is so humbling. Thank you all for your kind words. Writing is hard work. The support you all show, keeps me going. Thanks again. Renee

  17. To– Deidre–Vamp lady– who has to leave her planet via space ship to do a good deed of course she has and agenda== The guy is a mean, Son of a gun, but he suits her purposes.. It’s evolving, Renee

  18. Julie Swaney says:

    I love a good wolf book. Can’t wait to read this one and its follow-ups.
    jellybelly82158@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

