Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Beth Caudill

 

HealersFate

Please welcome Beth Caudill, multi-published author with The Wild Rose Press and new author at Whispers Publishing. Her novella Healer’s Fate is now available and on October 31, 2009 a fantasy flash fiction piece, The Bridge Guardian, will appear in the Creatures of the Night anthology from Absolute Xpress.   

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself. 

Do I have to? I like hiding in my cave/house. If I could just convince someone to pay me to read all the books I want…I’d be a very happy lady.  🙂 

Seriously, I’m a stay-at-home-mom who lives with three males in central NC. I need a female puppy just to even up the odds a bit. I used to do technical support and computer software quality assurance testing. Now I run errands, stare at my computer hoping magic will transfer the scene in my head onto the blank page in front of me, and pick the kids up from school. 

ETS – You call yourself a short story author.  Do you have any plans to write longer romance stories in the future? 

I hope to eventually write a novel and have it published.  I’m still feeling my around this industry. I started writing late, about four years ago, and still have problems getting the stories from my head onto the page. 

ETS – What inspired you to write Informally Yours?  How did the idea come to you? 

Informally Yours came from a challenge on the Kelley Armstrong Online Writers Group. (http://www.kelleyarmstrong.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi) You’re given a few words, a phrase, or picture and asked to write a story in 1500 to 2000 words. There is a set time frame, you submit anonymously, and everyone can vote on which story told the best tale.   Informally Yours was inspired by a picture of a spooky house and I saw a bit more than the initial 2000 words. 

BTW, the KA-OWG is a great critique opportunity.  When I was active, everyone was nice and we urged each other on.  I wish I still had the time to participate.     

ETS – What’s your writing process like?  Are you a pantser or plotter? 

I am definitely a pantser.  A scene or story idea pops in my head and away I go. I have to write from start to finish, no jumping between scenes, and I don’t go back and edit until I finish the whole story. I will do some research before hand, usually for the main characters or primary setting, and then while editing I’ll fill in the gaps with more specific research. I’ll go through 4 to 6 edits before I start submitting my manuscript to publishers. 

ETS – You can only have one for the rest of your life – Mexican food or Italian food.  Which would you pick? 

I’d pick Italian food. I’m very picky with the Mexican food I eat, usually only chicken soft tacos or fajitas. With Italian food, you can use different meats, pasta types and sauces.  I just find more variety with Italian food.  Or maybe I just like herb spices better than pepper spicy.

 ETS – Healer’s Fate, your novella from Whispers Publishing, was just released.  Can you tell us a little about that story? 

Initially I wanted to create a world in which I could write multiple stories. Using a writer’s favorite question what if, I thought what if I created a world populated with paranormal creatures and no humans. That way I could write about several different species and keep the stories connected. So that’s how Arilase, my world in Healer’s Fate, came to be.  Here’s the blurb:

Corliss Rumdone hides behind her status as Healer to avoid the normal wolf pack hierarchal challenges. A forced mating changes the course of her life. Instead of Raymond, the beta wolf selected for her, she mates with Liam—her best friend and heir to the Alpha pair.

Liam whisks them away to a shifter retreat so they can allow the mating bond to settle in private. But interference from those seeking power and two terminal children arouse past hurts and challenge their new relationship. Even their home is not the haven it should be as Liam must watch Corliss fight for the right to stay his mate. For one healer, death becomes a weapon to balance life.

ETS – As writers we often hear that we should ‘get our name out there.’  What promo advice would you give to aspiring writers who are new to this business? 

Pick and choose things that work for you.  And be ready to change methods each new release.  New technologies come out, some things get over done and no longer catch a reader’s attention, and don’t get carried away.  A few targeted things work better than a little bit of everything. 

ETS – Describe your idea of the perfect date.   

Right now any night without kids is a perfect date.  🙂  For example, my husband and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary and we had a quiet dinner at a very nice steak restaurant.  Two hours of just us and no kids.  Very nice. 

If you want a ‘dream date,’ then I’d have to say a nice dinner on the patio of a beach house. Afterwards my husband and I would take a walk on the moonlit beach (deserted of course) and then maybe a swim in the ocean. 

ETS – Can you tell us what you’re working on now? 

A sequel to Healer’s Fate – the main characters are elves this time. I’m also working on the plotting aspect of a storyline I hope will be long enough for a novel. 

ETS – What final piece of advice would you give to aspiring writers? 

Write the story that you want and know that not everyone is going to like it.  Be ready to make changes because you can always make it better, but make sure they are changes you can live with.  If you rewrite the whole story to please someone else, then it is no longer yours and you won’t be happy. You can always walk away and create an even better story next time.  

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us. 🙂 

Thanks for having me, I enjoyed my time here. 

ETS – You can visit Beth’s website, and learn more about her books by going to her Author Page.

Blog | Facebook | MySpace | Whispers Publishing Author Page

Beth is giving away a red gasper pendant to one lucky person who leaves a comment.  Winner will be announced tomorrow.  🙂  

Comments
16 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Beth Caudill”
  1. Linda Henderson says:

    I enjoyed your interview very much. I hope you have a great Halloween.

  2. Beth C. says:

    Hi Linda.

    Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have a scary Halloween….and give all your treats to the kids.

  3. Bonnie H says:

    Thanks for sharing Beth 😀 I found your writing info very inspiring and informative.
    There’s light at the end of the parental tunnel LOL – one day they’ll be older and you and hubby will have lots of time together. Oh, and BTW – be thankful you have 3 BOYS – I have 3 girls 20, 18, and 17 and 1 boy, 12. Girls are like a 24/7 drama fest – the 17 year old? She could be alone in a room and create drama. I kid you not.
    Congrats on your sales and good luck with the next story!!

  4. Beth C. says:

    Hi Bonnie.

    Well, actually one of those boys is my husband (he acts like a 5 year old though) so I only have two kids…and I know I’ll miss them when they are older.

    Thanks for the well wishes.

  5. Cathy M says:

    Hi Beth, really enjoyed getting to know you. I live in an all male household too, and currently am hiding behind closed doors to escape the insanity of it.

  6. Mitz says:

    Hi Beth,
    Great interview and Congrats on new release it sounds great, can’t wait to read. I loved your intro, I can so relate. If only we could stay in our caves/homes and get paid to read , we can always fantasize I guess…LOL I relate to to the male domination also, I have 3 boys, actually 4 including the hubby, a male bird. I do have a female greatdane (MOJO), but that doesnt really balance it out, she’s a sissy dog but I love her all the same. The males in my house like to gang up on me when it’s time to choose something seems like they always get their way…Anywhooo was nice to get to know a little about you. I enjoy your books, and keep up the great writing.
    misty_labean@yahoo.com

  7. Beth C. says:

    Cathy M. – Wish I could hide with you. They come knock on any closed doors or follow me around just to ask what are you doing? Even the bathroom isn’t safe from them.

    Mitz – Great to see you here. I at least have veto power. I can veto something but any of my suggestions are instantly shot down. Which is why I’ve seen the Star Wars saga so much….I liked it enough not to veto.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Mitz says:

    Cute, I know that feeling definite got burnt out on star wars, spiderman and many more still like X-Men though only because of Hugh Jackman…LOL
    Healers Fate sounds really good. How long did it take you to write???

  9. Beth C. says:

    I love X-Men comics, cartoons, and movies. Though Hugh Jackman does give Wolverine that extra umph.

    Too long? 🙂

    It took about 9 to 10 months to write before I submitted it. But that was not constantly working on it and I can’t write in the summer with both my kids. I just don’t get anything done with them around right now. They still want my constant attention…not to play but just to know I see them. Dealing with one at a time is easier than two. I hope now that they are both in school to be able to either write a novel or produce shorter pieces quicker.

  10. Mitz says:

    I can understand it being dificult with the kids around sometimes it’s hard to get anything done for yourself…LOL Mine barely leave me alone to get online they don’t like my fasination with reading. I had stopped for awhile and just started back up again a few months ago. Well they don’t mind me reading but getting online to research books drives them crazy that means no XBox Live or Internet for them. I need a laptop so I can be at peace on here once in awhile…LOL Love being amom though… I give you props, I couldn’t write if my life depended on it so to speak…

  11. Mitz says:

    O I forgot to mention good luck with whichever you decide Novel or Short Stories, I’m sure you’ll do great with either one….

  12. Beverly G says:

    thanks for stoping by and i agree with Mitz good luck in all your Endevours im sure your work will rock

  13. Beth C. says:

    Beverly – Thanks for the well wishes.

  14. Jazzqueen says:

    Hey! It’s always great to get to know about fellow writers… It’s been agreat while since I last wrote something serious, so it’s very inspiring to see what others do… Great you could get published! =) I can’t wait to read a bit of your work… =)
    Great blog, btw. I loved the somber appearance of it, it’s great!

    Check out mine:
    http://www.mkjazzqueen.blogspot.com
    http://www.maryeastmacott.blogspot.com
    http://www.everyday–stuff.blogspot.com

  15. I love reading short stories/novellas! Right now with my crazy life and brutal schedule, it seems like they’re the perfect fit because I can escape for a little while and still manage to get to The End. Honestly, I’ve become addicted to them:) I’m so glad you visited EtS!

  16. Beth C. says:

    JazzQueen – Thanks for stopping by. The red and black go with the rose icon I use on my website. I wanted to try and keep things consistent. Glad you liked it.

    Barbara – Thanks. I’m glad I could stop by. I hear everyone likes shorter stories but then from publishers I hear anthologies never sell. I don’t know who to believe but until I can write longer, I’ll be doing the shorter lengths.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

