TWILIGHT Too Early For Bed

Like most everyone these last couple weeks, I went and saw the next chapter of the Twilight Saga: New Moon. Unlike most people, though, I nearly got run out of the theater for cracking jokes a bit too loud. Hey, I can’t help it if I happen to notice that Bella and Edward stare longingly into each other’s chins entirely too much. And maybe my voicing that observation a bit too loud warranted the pony tail in the pink sweater one row back to sling food at me. Although I can’t quite buy in to Edward’s angsty, over dramatic appeal, especially with the hair that I can only assume he will eventually grow into. I can, however, buy into that heart pounding attraction of a man with fangs.

I mean, I would definitely defend the honor of Eric Northman with a hand full of popcorn.

I just can’t get into the happy meal paranormal no matter how cool the toy is. But before you start jabbing me with the pointy end of your indignation, hear me out. Just because I may not really prescribe to the Twilight madness doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate what it means…for me…on the other end of this addictive paranormal spectrum.  You know – on the big girl side. Where the big boys hang out.

Twilight may be too Kiddy Cocktail for my Bloody Mary tastes but it definitely gives its readers a feel for the glass in their hand.

Which means they’ll be meandering into the adult fiction section eventually to browse the menu. So you see, Edward and Jacob and all the other young adult paranormals are like a gateway genre into the darker, edgier world of Paranormal Romance.  As long as books like Stephanie Meyers Twilight Saga and Kristin and P.C. Cast’s House of Night Series are reeling in the younger crowd there will always be a market for us as that audience ages. And thanks to prime time TV brains they’ve already started the transition by making YA books like The Vampire Diaries a little more appealing on the screen to those of us who love the genre but  feel that Twilight is a bit too early to go to bed.

//

//

Comments
8 Responses to “TWILIGHT Too Early For Bed”
  1. Agreed! There are things about Twilight that appeal to me–agnst, emotion, dabbling in the darkness of appetites hard to control. And then there are things I don’t like…ummm…he’s 17. Urk. Great abs or not, the second Jacob speaks with that baby boy voice I just want to pat him on the head and give him a cookie.

    But that’s me…I’m perfectly capable of enjoying other peoples’ enjoyment and since I love the paranormal genre, like you, I can only see this enthusiasm as an infusion of energy for a genre I love.

  2. I agree. I don’t care for the whole Twilight vehicle but dang, I’m really hoping the mania spills over to my vamp release next month LOL

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    LOL. I agree, too, Amanda. I also am not a big fan of “Vampire Diaries” on the CW. They both seem too…juvenile for my taste. I’ve tried reading a few other young adult paranormals and I just can’t get into them…but…hopefully the fans will eventually wander down the adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy aisle in the bookstore. If they do, I’ll be waiting. 🙂

  4. Dawn McClure says:

    LOL Great post. I’ll defend Eric right with you.

    I can appreciate Twilight for what it is…a Vampire kiddie-flick. My daughters, 10 and 11, LUUURRRV Edward. Both are Team Edward.

    But I can’t get into it. As for the BIG BOYS of paranormal fiction? Bring on the Brotherhood and the Dark Hunters. They know what they want, and they go after it. We’ll leave Edward for the kiddies, and keep Zsadist. 😀

  5. prmom4 says:

    Lovely post. I hadn’t thought of all those angsty YA readers maturing into paranormal romance, but YES! If I were a betting woman, I’d say that’s one of the best arguments for the longevity of our genre. I’m feeling gloriously optimistic!

  6. Susan Blexrud says:

    Yes, that’s me, prmom4.

  7. Star says:

    http://www.armywifenetwork.com/?p=2029

    For Army Wives who may be stationed in WA, maybe a visit to the countryside where Twilight was filmed would be enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

