How do you like your cover?

What’s in a cover? Well, obviously the novel, but beyond that, what are they for?  I’ve been browsing the covers in our Ultimate Clash of the Covers contest going on just below me and trying to decide exactly what it is about a cover that makes you want to see what the big deal is about.

From a writer’s point of view, the highest high of publishing More Than Blood was getting the cover.  I was so bad. I was eating at my fave Mexican restaurant, Mohito’s, and I got an email from Allie McKnight at Loose Id on my blackberry.  My cover image was attached.

Now, I’m usually a very calm individual that never overreacts. I started to load the image and then slammed the phone face down on the table in a panic. My hubby, laughing at me, picked up the phone, angled his shoulder’s away from me and looked down at the image. His smile slowly melted and he made this face of total disgust that I could just slap him for still to this day. (Jay, you’re a jerk.) I snatched it out of his hand, took a deep breath and looked. It was amazing! My conduct towards that image for the following couple weeks may very well need to be discussed with a therapist in the years to come but…I loved it! I remember saying that it looked like the hero and heroine on the cover had an intense moment interrupted. I’m in the Ultimate Clash of the Cover’s below, so you tell me if that isn’t so? (<—-shameless plug)

Anyway, I don’t want to go all Gollum in the Lord of the Rings on you over it. My point is that the cover was a bright shinning culmination of my imagination in vivid color for everyone to see. That cover was my characters squeezed right out of my mind. That is what I want as a reader. I want to look at the cover and feel like I’ve gotten a real glimpse into the book.  I want to the intensity of the characters in their expressions, the dominance and possession in their body language.

Definitely the cover should initially draw you in but you should want to look at the cover again while you’re reading it. One of my favorite cover’s is the one for Lora Leigh’s Hidden Agendas. That cover still draws me in to re-read the book from my own shelf…especially when I’m supposed to be writing. You see this big broad brute of a man and this woman holding a gun at her side pulling him behind her by his dog tags and you know they had some serious fun in this book.

If you look below in our Ultimate Clash you wonder exactly why those cover’s were chosen. So, tell me, my illustrious EtS readers…what about these covers appeal to you?

//

//

//

Comments
3 Responses to “How do you like your cover?”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I always marvel at the use of color in book covers. When done right, color can add a whole new dimension –almost like another character. The use of red in Addicted or Mine to Take are perfect examples.

    I’m also a sucker for intensity in the cover models. Whether it be a single character out on a hunt or a couple in a passionate embrace, it’s the high emotion that draws me in… And a good set of abs, of course. One should never underestimate the power of the male torso. *winks at Dawn*

  2. Yes! Amanda, you pegged exactly what I love about the best covers. They capture a moment. Hopefully an intense moment. And boom…the heart of the book is out there for all the world to see.

    There are beautiful book covers and then there are ones that transcend beauty almost to the level of metaphor. Somehow the best covers represent not only the characters, but the spirit and themes, the dynamics a reader is going to find when they open the book.

  3. I’ve been very lucky in receiving some awesome covers. Maybe one, possibly two, I don’t care for, but that’s the luck of the draw. A couple are my favorites and I really want to make them 8 1/2 by 11’s and frame them (while my husband snorts in disgust) lol My cover artist do amazing work and I’m so grateful for them.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

