Peace on Earth

  I’m currently caught up in the early December whirl made even more whirl-y this year because I have three edits with three different publishers underway.  Throw the war against passive voice into the mix of holiday shopping, wrapping, baking, mailing…well…you get the picture.  Yesterday I stuck a bow on some cookie dough and tried to bake my Dell Notebook.

Peace on Earth

It’s a staggering concept when phones are ringing, our in-box is full and our children are expecting the yearly Christmas miracle of their wish lists magically appearing under the tree one morning as if placed there by a jolly old elf with a workshop full of helpers.

I can hardly find a peaceful second to comb my shoelaces and tie my hair.

In life, there are peaceful moments we happen upon when we least expect them.  The hush of new fallen snow early in the morning when the world is still asleep.  The quiet stillness of midnight when the children are sleeping and the computer is shut down for the night.  A cozy moment by a roaring fire with a pet who wants nothing more from us than opposable thumbs so we can keep the cozy going.

I treasure that unexpected peace whenever life pauses and lets it happen.

But I also manufacture the occasional pause.

As artists (and writers of commercial fiction are artists whether we’re acknowledged as such or not), Peace on Earth isn’t just a dream or a prayer, it’s a necessary part of our lives.  It’s vital to our creative energy to step back, shut down and allow our minds the freedom they need to imagine, to create, to be. 

And we can’t wait for those quiet moments to magically appear.  We have to make them happen.

A new year is right around the corner.  Who knows what opportunities wait for us in 2010?  My wish for all of you is that you will create a moment of peace (or two or three) so that your inner artist can prepare for those opportunities to come:)  

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Peace on Earth”
  1. Great post! I’m trying to forge my own peace and quiet. Just need to finish some loose ends……

  2. Susan Blexrud says:

    Barbara, you lightened my burdens with your post. Too cute! And it’s funny how we can catch our critique partners’ passive voice but can’t see our own. Duh! Here’s a cyber toast of hot cocoa and a wish your Peace on Earth comes abundantly.

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Well said. I have dits myself…and a book releasing…and a WIP I need to get in by Christmas… Don’t even get me started on Christmas cards, lol. With everything going on it can be hard to find some quiet time around the holidays. It’s important for our sanity, though. Otherwise, we might open up the oven and find our Dell computer. 🙂

    good luck with those edits. Great post!

  4. Bonnie H says:

    Wonderful post – thank you 😀

  5. Kitty DuCane says:

    Great post and I’m envious. Wish I had three edits going.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] already read how Barbara finds peace during the holiday season, now see what I have to say about staying sane during the […]



Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

