Fangtastic Friday ~ Interview with Brynna Curry

Please welcome Brynna Curry, author of Earth Enchanted. 

Hi, it’s nice to be here.  Some of you may remember Earth Enchanted as a clash of the cover’s winner.   I’m the author of Gypsy Moon under the name Brianna Roarke and feed my love of books as a book reviewer for You Gotta Read Reviews.  I also judge several RWA writing contests a year and I’m the sixth member of the Frightening Journeys blog writers. 

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself. 

I’m married with three teenagers and by day I’m a secretary for a construction company.  As Brynna Curry I write light paranormal romance and suspense.  On the other side of the coin is my dark side, Brianna Roarke.  She writes steamy dark paranormal romance. 

ETS – Your novel, Earth Enchanted just released from Lyrical Press.  What can readers expect in this book? 

Earth Enchanted is the first in a series of five books featuring the Corrigans from Ireland, a family with a ancestry of mages.  Liv Corrigan, telepath and writer, visits her brother in the states only to find he’s neck deep in a diamond smuggling ring.  While there she meets ex-cop Jackson Roarke, a man with secrets still reeling from his wife’s death.  Here is a short blurb. 

EARTH ENCHANTED

TAG: When telepath meets ex-cop, will it be death or diamonds

BLURB: Writer Liv Corrigan has the worst luck with men — her telepathy tends to make them run for the hills. When she meets widower and ex-cop Jack Roarke, she decides to keep her talent hidden. Things are looking up until their third date crashes and burns as the man who murdered Jack’s wife turns out to be after him too.

Injured, Jack retreats with Liv to his house under armed guard. But with Liv’s mysteries rapidly coming unraveled, a diamond-thief killer to stop and passion in the air, the safe house is anything but safe for their hearts! 

ETS – Can you give us an idea of what comes next in this series?  What characters will make an appearance in the upcoming books? 

After EE, To Take Up The Sword flash forwards to the end of the trial for Ashton Smythe, Gueraldi’s (the villian from EE) right hand man.  When Smythe is set free, Agent Spiller (EE), convinced Serena Roarke hid more diamonds there, goes back to Alabama in search of missing evidence that would have convicted her killer.  Leannan O’Neal, Serena’s sister, goes into the wind after the destruction of her home and threats on her life.  She meets up with Spiller and together they try to get the diamonds to safety before both are killed. 

You can find out more about each book in the series by visiting my website and clicking the Elemental Magic tab. 

ETS – Big Mac or Whopper?  

Well, neither really.  I’m not a big meat eater, but BK’s Mocha Joe’s are totally addictive.  My favorite fast food place is Guthries (chicken fingers) and I’m lucky enough to live where the original restaurant is located.  My favorite junk food is Tombstone Garlic Bread cheese pizzas out of the dairy case paired with Vanilla Coke.  

ETS – What is your writing process like? 

Chaotic. Between work, three teenagers (one of whom is a cheerleader.  We are in the world of endless basketball season now.) a husband and the house, I never know how long, when, or where I’ll find the time to write, but I always do.  If its something you love, you make time for it. As for the process itself, I just sit down at the computer, open up and listen to the characters and try to keep them going where I want them too.  Sometimes, I’ll go back and read the previous scenes or write the ending first.  That way I won’t rush the story. 

ETS – Where do you get your inspiration? 

All over the place,  but mostly weird dreams.  The healer in Earth Enchanted, Briella, came from a dream I had of a spell being cast.  The rest of the series is born from that dream too. 

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring authors? 

Read. If you like to read a variety of genres, get into e-book reviewing. You’ll learn a lot about house style and what works.  Write about what you know.  Write the best story you possibly can and then edit it. Then visit the Absolute Write Water Cooler and all the helpful folks there.  Join a critique group and find one whose not afraid to be brutal. Some good online yahoo groups are RWC, PNWriters and if you are a parent, ParentsInk or Momwriters.  Always do your research. 

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us! 

Thanks for having me here today, Dawn.  I love to visit ETS. One commenter will win an e-copy of Earth Enchanted.  I’ll be stopping by to answer any questions or comments and choose the winner.  I’m currently at work on the remaining books in the series which are contracted with Lyrical Press, Inc. For release status, blurbs, cover peeks and more fun stuff visit my site. 

ETS – You can learn more about Brynna and her books by going to her website.   

Blog | Co-Blog | Twitter |Facebook | Yahoo Groups

 Brynna is giving away a digital copy of Earth Enchanted to one lucky commenter!  So don’t be shy.  🙂  Winner will be announced Saturday.  🙂

Comments
19 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday ~ Interview with Brynna Curry”
  1. Brynna Curry says:

    Hi, everyone! Thanks to ETS for allowing me to be here today! Don’t be shy. Got a question? Ask away.

  2. Congrats again! The man on your cover is just yummy. Imagine following that ribbon of hair to see where it leads… 😉 Pardon me lol I wish you the best of luck with sales!

  3. Tir says:

    Awesome interview Brynna! This story looks very interesting.

  4. Brynna Curry says:

    Thank you Sandi and Tir for stopping by! Of course you’re forgiven Sandi. lol Renee Rocco did an awesome job on the cover. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with for the other books in the series.

  5. Janelle says:

    Way to go Brynna! I can’t wait to read this story.

  6. Robyn Bski says:

    That really is one great cover, and fun interview. 🙂 But now I’m craving a Tombstone Garlic Bread pizza!

  7. Audra Holtwick says:

    This sounds like it is going to be a great series of books-happy holidays!!!!!

  8. Brynna Curry says:

    Hi, Janelle! Thanks! I hope you enjoy the book!
    Hi, Robin! Me too, but the downside of living in a country town is I have to drive to the supercenter fourty fives minutes away to get one. I keep em stocked lol. Thanks!
    Hi, Audra! It is going to be awesome! To take up the sword (second book) is in the works now and turning out to be heartstopping. Thanks!

  9. Brynna Curry says:

    I have a new author site. http://brynnacurrybriannaroarkebooks.webs.com
    This site joins both of my writing personalities in one place.

  10. Shira E. Schneider says:

    Ohhh!!!! That looks yummy… I mean that book sounds good… I had to get my mind and tounge off of the cover! I look forward to reading Book One and the following four when they are released.

    Thanks for being here and telling us about yourself.

  11. Brynna Curry says:

    Thanks, Shira! It is a NICE cover. lol I hope you enjoy them!

  12. Brynna Curry says:

    I’m a little stuck at the moment. I need a “runaway” car for Gabe & Lea in Book 2. Anyone got an idea? The car should be
    cheap (less than $1000 cash)
    nondescript
    mechanically sound reputation

    Appreciate any suggestions.

  13. Sarina Hermann says:

    Hi Brynna!! Congrats on the book.. The cover is absolutely.. DELICIOUS if I may say so. The guy does make you drool…

  14. Beverly G says:

    congrats on the book that cover isgorgous ur work is awesome i do have to say cant wait to readthis as well

  15. Shira E. Schneider says:

    Some kinda honda. Like a Civic… there are so many of those on the road

  16. Sherry S. says:

    I really enjoyed your interview it’s nice to find out about the authors you read.

  17. I like the fact that you write under two names and each name focuses on a different area of writing.

    I like my paranormal light and dark and yours sounds like a good read. I’ve added to my ongoing wishlist 🙂

  18. Eek…better late than never. Preparing for the holidays is keeping me hopping! Earth Enchanted is gorgeous, Brynna. Thank you for visiting EtS:)

  19. Dianne Dewolfe says:

    To say i am impressed with your writting is an understatement. You must have inherited your dreams and writting ability from our Irish side. I am so proud of you . Your charters are real and draw me into the moment. Never give up.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

