Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Lynn Crain

Please welcome multi-published author Lynn Crain.  She’s a prolific bestselling author who has won various awards from review sites and writer’s groups alike.

Hi Dawn!

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.

Trouble is once I get started…LOL! I was born in the Midwest in a small Ohio town. Lived there until I was elven then moved to the big wild city of Las Vegas, Nevada. Been here for almost forty years and while I love the winter because they are very mild, I’d rather live in a place with four full seasons. I study natural medicine and I love to write.

ETS – An Elf’s Love just released.  Can you give us an idea of what to expect in this book?

This is the continuation of my Santa’s Elves series. It’s book five and about the youngest daughter, Merna Locklin. Last winter, the books took on a different tone which I really didn’t expect. Those pesky characters, you know. Anyway, the stories always had human and elves intertwined but now there’s a twist as a dark evil is out to get them.

ETS – Is this a sequel to An Elf’s Magic?

Pretty much. There are five siblings in the whole story, Jedrick, Ardan, Aingeal, Cuinn, Merna and Maddox. Each one of them have had their own story and the past two years, there has been another story in August with characters which I was told by the others needed their own story.

ETS – The haunting of Maggie Gray released last November.  What inspired you to write that story?

About three years ago, I saw a cover and knew I could write a story to that cover. And I struggled with it. I mean I knew the basics but I wanted to get all the historical details right and I knew the Isle of Skye well. Then it dawned on me this summer I was dwelling too much on the details and other characters when I needed to get the hero and heroine perfect. Then everything just seemed to fall into place and it was released in November. It’s basically a ghost story.

ETS – Are you an introvert or extrovert?

It would actually depend upon the situation. There are times when I’m really out there and there are times when I don’t say a word. It normally is whether I’m in or out of my element. One such time would be when I talk about writing. I can talk to anyone about writing or my books. It’s only very different people that I’ll talk to people about my space theories, quantum mechanics and life out there. LOL!

ETS – You’re a very prolific author.  Where do your ideas come from?

I have an idea file which almost spans twenty years. I started writing them down when I was in my thirties and now the file has over 180 ideas. I get them from people, from TV shows, from personal situations…in reality…from life. As an example, my office has a big picture window so I can see the world. It’s at the front of the house and I used to have drapes where I couldn’t see out. I changed that a few years ago and my idea file has grown quite a bit. It’s amazing what people do when they aren’t conscious of others watching. And it’s not a big secret or anything as you can see me if you look closely through the window.

ETS – What are you working on now?  Can you tell us a little about it?

I’ve started a new trend. I write on a contracted story and an uncontracted one as well. This time I’m working on a few more. I have a series coming out with Loose Id that I’m writing them all simultaneously to keep continuity called the Protector series, I’m working on a light BDSM for eXtasy Books called Merrick & Jenna and it’s book 2 in the Captive Illusions series and I’m working on a contemporary romance with comedic elements called Where’s My Underwear. Those things are keeping me very busy.

ETS – What one piece of advice would you give to aspiring romance writers?

One of my favorite quotes from the movies is from Galaxy Quest: Never give up, never surrender. If you are passionate about your dream, you need to remember that quote. The only caveat is to be the best writer you can be. That means learning about the craft and learning about the business. Many authors forget there is a business side to their creative process. Know every aspect of what you want your career to be. And don’t forget to write.

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us!

Thanks, Dawn, I’ve really enjoyed it.

ETS – You can learn more about Lynn and her books by visiting her website.

Blog | The Many Shades Blog | MySpace | Facebook | Twitter | Live Journal | YouTube

Lynn is giving away a copy of The Haunting of Maggie Grey AND a copy of An Elf’s Love in PDF format.  Leave a comment for a chance to win!

Comments
2 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Lynn Crain”
  1. Beverly G says:

    slides in

    this is SiNn and i LOVE your work you know this im addicted to the elf series and Maggie gray sounds just as awesomety for stopping in and spending time with us youtotally rock

  2. Beverly G says:

    being a fan gurl im starting to feel almoststalker like lol awesome interview

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

