An exciting start for 2010 or why the UPS man thinks I’m crazy

I always wonder what my mailman is thinking when he delivers my Romance Writers Report and other mail from romance related sources.  In an area where you’re more likely to be delivering Cabela’s catalogues, I wonder if packages from Harlequin and Samhain Publishing stand out? <g>

The package containing my author copies of HUNGER, a vampire romance published by Samhain, was actually delivered by a tired and grumpy UPS man late one evening right after New Year’s Day.  Bless his heart.  He was new to the route that winds to the back of beyond where my cabin sits nestled in the snowy foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  How he must have been shocked off his high brown seat to be met by a squeeing woman in pink pjs and her husband’s boots as she rushed to the end of the impassable driveway to snatch the precious delivery from his hands! <g>

Today, I want to give away a copy of HUNGER to celebrate my second print release…my first with my name on its cover… and I want to share its shiny new trailer.  I also want to give you a glimpse of a new e-book novella released just this week.  Enemy Mine introduces the world of my Cherokee Shapeshifters.  I hope you’ll enjoy!  Let me know what you think;>

One commenter will receive a print copy of HUNGER and a twenty dollar gift certificate from amazon.com The winner will be announced on my next blog day, Wednesday, January 20th.

 

Comments
17 Responses to “An exciting start for 2010 or why the UPS man thinks I’m crazy”
  1. Congrats! I wish you continued success! 🙂

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Congrats Barbara! I often wonder what my mailman thinks, too, when he sees the RWR. 🙂 Wishing you many sales!

  3. Bonnie H says:

    Very cool trailers! The Hunger one has me totally intrigued, and the Enemy Mine trailer has gorgeous eye candy and visuals plus cool music/background noise. Loved them!
    We live way up in the hills too, but our UPS guy will just call my hubby if the roads are bad because all these “delivery”guys know each other – its like a delivery good ‘ol boys club LOL
    Congrats on your successes Barbara, you deserve it!

  4. Staci fitzpatrick says:

    Congrats! Loved both of these books.

  5. Sue Brandes says:

    Loved both of the trailers. Congrads on your success. Happy New Year.

  6. Sarina Hermann says:

    Congrats on your release Barb! I bet the post man was ‘horrified’ by the sight of a squealing woman rushing him. Although to that thought, all I can think of is ‘Run Mr. Postman run!’ I forget… Is that actually part of a song, or a movie? Anyways congrats on the release!!

  7. Donna S says:

    Congrats on the release. What an exciting delivery.

  8. Diana Duncan says:

    My UPS guy used to knock and personally hand me packages. After a couple of times being greeted by me in pj’s, sweatsocks and bedhead, he now drops the packages on the porch and RUNS to his truck! Coward.

  9. Terri W. says:

    Congrats on the new release and I love the covers for both books!

    Thanks for the trailers checking them now!

  10. LOL, “coward”. I love it:) Our new guy is going to really have to toughen up if he’s going to keep this route. The previous man would get to my porch come hell or high water. He was such a sweetie. The poor new guy acts like he’d like to honk from town for us to come pick up.

    Thanks so much for stopping by everyone. The trailers were a lot of fun to make and I appreciate you taking a peek at them. And thank you, Staci, for the compliments on my books:)

  11. Natasha A. says:

    Congrats on your release! And as for scaring the UPS man? You HAVE to be better than a rabid dog! 😀

    Maybe……

  12. Robyn Bachar says:

    Yay, congrats on the new release! I’ve always thought that happiness is receiving a box of books. 😉

  13. I’m SO looking forward to freaking out my mailman when my book comes out. Although, I don’t have quite the scenic driveway to chase him down.

    I love the cover for Hunger, and the trailer is very elegant and artsy. It definitely puts me in mind of something dark and tragic, with a ray of hope.

    Enemy Mine has an interesting trailer, but it wasn’t quite as inspiring for me.

  14. Amanda Leigh says:

    Congratulations on your release! And I love the trailers! I’m looking forward to reading more of your books! Also, the Hunger cover is beautiful.

  15. Beverly G says:

    oh wow congrats my post man hates when he has to deliver for me too lol i get so much he drives teh truck to teh end of my block finsihes his delivaries then comes and delivers mine this book sounds awesome I love teh cover

  16. Dawn Roberto says:

    Oh god I love the visual I got from reading this post. 🙂 The cover is gorgeous and the triler makes me want to grab the book to read. 🙂 Added to my wish list to read.

    Dawn R.

  17. Cathy M says:

    Hi Barbara, congrats on your new release. I really enjoyed both trailers, they gave me a great sense of the stories. Plus the warnings for your books are just perfect. Would love a chance to read Hunger.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

