Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Annie Marshall

books

 

ETS – So, you’re a writer. Why?

That’s a great question! I’ve been writing short comedies since Jr. High and once I was in Sr. High, these short stories included a romance. I’ve always enjoyed writing, however, I never thought my stories were good enough for the world to read. Then with a ton of encouragement from a dear author friend of mine, I submitted my first short story and it was accepted! Imagine my surprise that they liked me; they really, really liked me!

I’m an Army wife and am faced with the hard reality of life’s hardships and with so many nasty things going on in the world, I want to treat my readers to a bit of fantasy, romance, and happily ever after…even if we don’t have them in our lives.

ETS – I happen to know you’re also a very talented cover artist. Which do you like best, writing or photography/design?

I started out as a writer and will always write whether the piece is published or not. I sort of fell into doing covers and I’ve always enjoyed photography. Working for DCL has given me the amazing opportunity to stretch my legs and do all three of them under the same roof. Honestly, I can’t say which is my favorite, however, if I needed to give up all of them except for one, I’d keep writing.

ETS – Tell us about your latest release.

My latest release, “Haunted Legacy” is the novella about Lust in the DCL print release of “Seven Sins.”

A ten year old Lachlan MacLean was there the day John MacLean ordered the annihilation of the MacKinnon clan. Though it was a horrific thing for a ten year old to witness, as John’s nephew, Lachlan was required to stand by his laird without question.
Satisfied that the entire MacKinnon clan was dead, the MacLeans departed for their stronghold of Duart Castle. Little did they know that two survived that day. Duncan and Sheena MacKinnon, the only children of the MacKinnon laird, hid from the slaughter and lived to tell of the massacre of their clan.

Twenty years later, on the eve before the Beltane, Robert the Bruce declares that Sheena is to marry Lachlan MacLean, the new laird of the MacLeans…her enemy.

Could this be the work of the fates, or has an unseen force encouraged Robert the Bruce to bring together these two clans once again?

Perhaps this time, lust will turn into love and the two will embrace their Haunted Legacy.

ETS – How do you promote your books?

I have two websites that I own. One is for Annie Marshall, the author and the other for Beyond the Book Productions, which is the photography site. I have a Blog site that I post things on from time to time. I belong to several email lists that I post information on my books. Then there is Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter. I send my books off to review sites in hopes they’ll pick my book to review.

I also belong to a Promotional Items sharing group. They are a group of authors that we share our promotional items such as postcards, bookmarks, pencils, etc…with everyone else in the group. Then when we send our own promotional items to our fans, we include the other author’s items. It gives us more exposure to other fan groups.

ETS – Are you who people think you are?

I really don’t know how to answer this one. I wear so many hats. I’m a proud wife to a modern day warrior that is in and out of our lives through deployments, mother to two wonderful kids, human mom to two adorable Pembroke Welsh Corgis, an Army Veteran, and a breast cancer survivor. I’m an author, photographer, cover artist, and world traveler. Like I’ve said…many hats!

It would all depend on who people think I am! I would hope they think that I’m a talented author, photographer, and cover artist. I know it seems like it’s a glamorous life, but there is a lot of hard work and long days behind it. And I love it!

ETS – What would you tell aspiring writers about their career path?

I would have to say, believe in your story and just keep writing. Even if it’s a small notepad in your purse/pocket, always carry a notepad with you. You never know when an idea will hit you! And never, never, never give up!

ETS – Your paranormal world melds medieval Scotland with the modern military. How do you keep track of your world building?

Before I started my Warriors of Destiny series, I spent several months making notes in a composition book about each individual story. Names, places, castles, etc… Then I did the research on the castles and places where the stories would happen. And in doing this research, I also had to come up with the job that my heroine would do within the Army. I wanted to make sure that their roll was believable yet not compromise the security and safety of our actual soldiers.

As I write, I have my brainstorming notes right with me so I can refer back to it when needed. And I do this often! Especially when I have characters that make appearances in more than one book and I have to make sure that the timelines are consistent throughout the series. I rarely go anywhere without this notebook!

One of the biggest challenges is writing back and forth between American English and Medieval Scottish dialects and language. “Do you know where you are going girl?” doesn’t sound as wonderful from a Highland Warrior as the Scottish brogue, “Do ye ken where ye are goin’ lass?”

ETS – Do you belong to a critique group? If so, has it helped your writing?

No, I don’t belong to a critique group. I do have a close friend of mine that I bounce ideas off of and she lets me know if I’m completely off my rocker or not!

I’ve been courting the idea of finding one to join. Several of my friends have found them to be very helpful and vital to their writing career.

ETS – What do you struggle with most when writing?

My biggest struggle is sticking to one storyline before starting another. I have so many ideas running amuck in my head that I can’t wait to get started on them. I have to discipline myself to finish the current work in progress before going on to the next. Yet again, the importance of my notebook!

ETS – Do you have a website/blog?

Yes I do!

www.annie-marshall.com

www.beyondthebookproductions.com

http://annie-marshall.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/author.anniemarshall

http://www.myspace.com/annie.marshall

http://twitter.com/authoramarshall

ETS – Do you have another book in the works? What does the future hold?

I’m so excited to announce that “Her Island Destiny,” the third book in my Warriors of Destiny series is set to release this March! And the first three stories of that series will be released in print as “The Warriors of Destiny – Volume One” in March as well!

The future holds an introduction to another series! This one transports us from my beloved Scotland to the beautiful land of Wales! This series isn’t a time-travel like the Warriors of Destiny, but the grand Contemporary Paranormal tales of five very sexy Welsh brothers! All five slaughtered while defending their homeland, leaving their ghosts to be cursed to haunt their castles. Five women, all connected, come across these ghosts and are given the task of breaking the curses.

Thank you to everyone here at Embrace the Shadows for having me here today! It’s truly been a pleasure visiting with you!
Remember, dear friends, that…Desire begins in the mind.

Haunts, Kisses, and Happy Reading!
Annie

Comments
20 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Annie Marshall”
  1. It’s so nice to meet you, Annie. I enjoyed finding out that you’re an author and a cover artist. Your newest book sounds wonderful! Thank you for tellling us about it:)

  2. Marie Day-DeWolfe says:

    I love your books Annie! I’m glad that you didn’t give up on your writing! I didn’t realize you were a military wife! Thank you for your sacrifices and your husband for his service! You must be very proud! Keep writing!

  3. Welcome, Annie. You know I love your stories. Keep inspiring us with those hot Scottish lairds!

  4. Dawn McClure says:

    I was a Marine Wife for 12 years. I know exactly what you mean. 🙂

    The books sound terrific! Historical romance was my first love. I started reading them when I was 12 years old.

    Thanks for stopping by to share your stories with us!

  5. Sarina Hermann says:

    Hi Annie! The books sounds positively delicious! And I do have to admit, that the entire plot sounds positively great. I hope all of your releases give you great sales. As for joining a critique group, you could, or always bounce it off of friends. Again hope your sales are great!

  6. Hi Barbara!
    Thank you so much for having me here today!!!
    It’s great meeting you too!
    xoxo
    Annie

  7. Awwwe Thank you Marie!!! You are such a sweetheart!!! 🙂
    xoxo
    Annie

  8. Hi Dawn!!!
    Military wives unite!!! 😉
    Thank you for having me here today!!!!
    xoxo
    Annie

  9. Hi Susan!
    Don’t worry, lass…those sexy lairds in kilts will always be around as long as I breathe!!! LOL
    xoxo
    Annie

  10. Pam Seres says:

    Everyone at DCL enjoys working with Annie as an author and cover artist. She also is one of my bestest friends. Great interview Annie! xoxox

  11. Hi Sarina!
    I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I enjoyed writing them!!!
    Thank you for the advice! 😉
    xoxo
    Annie

  12. Hi Pam!!!!!
    Miss you girl!!!
    I may just have to hop in the car and head to Ohio!!! 😛
    xoxox
    Annie

  13. Dawn Roberto says:

    Great interview Annie. Love the premise and definitly have to check out the Warriors series..sounds fascinating. 🙂

    Dawn R.

  14. Hi Dawn!!!
    Thank you! I hope you enjoy my Warriors of Destiny series!!!
    xoxox
    Annie

  15. susan leech says:

    Annie, welcome and enjoyed hearing about you. I welcome a new author and your books are down my alley so to speak. I like to see a man wearing a kilt. Yes. do keep writing those stories. Have a great day. susan L.

  16. Jan Quigg says:

    Love sitting down and reading your stories. Makes me very proud to have a daughter that has the push and strength to maintain her passion/talent to write. You GO girl! XOXO Mom

  17. Jan Douglas says:

    Hi Annie! Just dropped in to say Hello. I’m itching to get started editing as soon as you are.

    {{{HUGS}}}

    Jan

  18. Sue Brandes says:

    Your books sound wonderful! Thanks for the great interview.

  19. Beverly G says:

    your books sound awesomehavent ha da chance to check them out yet

  20. Currently traveling between Miami and Florida, reading this on my Iphone. Will read it in full when I get back, and I will also post a backlink on my website. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

