Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Erica Ridley

Please welcome author Erica Ridley, author of Regency-set historical romance with a touch of paranormal.  Her debut Gothic historical Too Wicked To Kiss has been chosen as the August 2010 book of the month for the Julia Quinn / Eloisa James book club. If you’d like to read Too Wicked To Kiss before release day, join the 30 Wicked Kisses countdown at 2wicked2kiss.com and get a scene a day in your inbox, starting February 1st. Erica will be giving away signed advance copies of the book to random subscribers! 

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.

ER: I’m recovering from both jet lag and reverse culture shock, since I just returned to Florida this week after spending most of the past year in Europe! I love to immerse myself in other worlds, whether by cashing in SkyMiles for a ticket to a new corner of the globe or by losing myself in a good book. I’ve always been fascinated by anything out of the ordinary. This drives my literary addiction to historical romance, gothic romance, and paranormal romance as much as my real-life fascination with travel. If I could spend the rest of my life traveling and writing, I’d be living a dream! 

ETS – Too Wicked To Kiss releases March 2, 2010.  What inspired this novel?

ER: Is it weird if the answer is “getting lost”? (You’ll find this is a theme with me…) I had written a previous version of 2W2K a year or so previously. It finaled in contests and whatnot, but was missing that Special Something. So I shoved it under the bed to mulch. Later that year, I flew to Germany to visit a friend, and sent travel emails home to my friends and family to keep them entertained with my various misadventures. One involved wandering alone in a deep, dark forest with long cold shadows and not even the occasional flutter of birds’ wings to keep me company. One of my friends replied to the email saying that it read like a scary children’s story. And that’s when I realized that the manuscript under my bed walked the walk, but didn’t talk the talk. I blank-page rewrote the whole thing, this time keeping an evocative Gothic mood in mind with every word I wrote. And now I love it! 

ETS – Historical romance novels require a lot of research.  How do you go about researching for your books?

ER: Ideally… time travel. LOL. Failing that, trips to museums like the amazing Musee Carnavalet in Paris, trips to the actual setting for Too Wicked To Kiss in Braintree, England, or the myriad of research books and website bookmarks I can’t live without, including one of my favorites: The 1811 Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue, which includes classic vocabulary like “fartleberries”. (Yes. It is what you think.) 

ETS – LOL  That’s great!  Introvert or extrovert?

ER: To be super-exact, I’m an INTP, according to Myers-Briggs. (Here’s the free personality test. Post your letters in the comments–I’m fascinated by this stuff!) The short answer is, a little of column A, a little of column B. I can entertain myself for hours (days? weeks?) with my various single-person hobbies, like reading, writing, scrapbooking, rollerblading, etc. But I also love to get together with my friends for a game night, a dinner out, dancing, concerts, you name it.  Maybe it’s the fact that I’m a Libra that’s preventing me from giving you a straight answer to this question? 😉 

ETS – Your titles are great!  You just finished Too Sinful To Deny (working title still?).  What can readers expect in this novel?

ER: Thank you! Yes, Too Sinful To Deny is still the working title, but since my editor likes it, I have high hopes that it’ll stick. Susan, a major secondary character in Too Wicked To Kiss, is the heroine of Too Sinful To Deny. She finds herself thrust in a situation where she no longer gets to be a rich, spoiled princess… and in fact, has to deal with pirates, the paranormal, and plenty of danger under her own roof. Not to mention the sexy ne’er-do-well next door whose mere proximity would ruin her chances of landing the titled bachelor of her dreams. For a sneak peek, the first chapter is in the back of Too Wicked To Kiss! 

ETS – I read this on your bio page – When not reading or writing romances, Erica can be found riding camels in Africa, zip-lining through rainforests in Costa Rica, or getting hopelessly lost in the middle of Budapest.

– How exciting! I take it there’s a story behind the line, hopelessly lost in Budapest?

ER: LOL, yes, there is a story. One day, Erica–who did not speak a word of Hungarian nor had ever before visited Hungary–decided to take a train into Budapest whilst on a European adventure, and check out the amazing castle. I grabbed a tourist map from a stand and, since I found myself incapable of asking for (or understanding) directions, hopped on the one bus facing the direction of Buda Castle. Naturally, said bus took an immediate U-turn within seconds of me sitting down, and we zoomed off in the dead opposite direction. A bit concerned, I made desperate sign language with the other passengers (mostly pointing at the castle on the map, then tapping myself on the chest Tarzan-style.) Eventually, one of them stopped the bus, took me by the wrist, walked me to the Metro (there was a Metro?!) bought me a ticket, and rode with me to the correct stop, before heading off to wherever he’d been heading in the first place. (Most likely: work, seeing as this was around 9:00 in the morning.) All of this without ever being able to exchange a single word, although I would’ve loved to have thanked him for his kindness. I did end up visiting the castle, which was absolutely worth the trip. I’d love to go back and spend more time there… but next time, I’ll pick up a phrasebook! 

ETS – What are you working on now?

ER: I am working on a proposal for another gothic historical, starring a secondary character from Too Sinful To Deny. 

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

ER: Write all the way to The End. Repeatedly. Join a writers organization if possible, and learn as much as you can about the industry as much as the craft. Learn to give and take criticism well. Make time. And don’t give up. The difference between those who make it and those who don’t is a mix of talent, luck, and perseverance. Enjoy the journey! 

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us!

ER: Thanks for having me! This has been a lot of fun. And, incidentally, my first official interview since becoming a published author! 🙂 

ETS – (haha…so I can finally OFFICIALLY say…You heard it here first!)  🙂  You can learn more about Erica and her books by visiting her websites. 

Get extra content and bonus features for Too Wicked To Kiss on the Unauthorized Scandal Sheet at: http://www.2wicked2kiss.com

For contest, blogs, embarrassing photos, and other fun stuff, check out Erica’s author web site at: http://www.ericaridley.com

Please join Erica for lots of games and prizes in the Facebook community at: http://www.facebook.com/EricaRidleyFans

And if you have Twitter, please come tweet with Erica at: http://www.twitter.com/EricaRidley

Erica is also giving away an ARC to one lucky commenter!  The winner will be announced on Saturday.  🙂

Comments
18 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Erica Ridley”
  1. Janice says:

    I love the pictures! And I can’t wait to get my hands on this book.

  2. Lacey says:

    Hi, Erica! Great interview! I find myself wanting more info on your current wip. Any working ideas? And when can I get my greedy little hands on TSTD?

  3. Shari Missman Miller says:

    In 20 days I will be able to hug you in person! Congratulations! I’m super proud!!! You ROCK!!!!

  4. Bunny Kumanchik says:

    So happy for you, Erica! So happy for me; now I be able to get my hands on your books!

  5. Darcy Burke says:

    Man, I can never remember my M-B initials. There has to be initials for that, right? Love how you came up with the gothic idea. Yanno, I don’t think I knew that. Bad CP! 2W2K ROCKS!!

  6. Erica Ridley says:

    Thanks, everybody! I’m super excited, too!!!

  7. Karen Rose says:

    Erica – so glad to have you home! Love, love, love TWTK! And I love the story of your adventure in Budapest.

    Welcome home, girl!

  8. Chloe says:

    I CAN NOT wait for this book! And I love the website too… I hope I win! 🙂

  9. MariElle says:

    Hi Erica,
    Cool to see you interviewed- been reading your fb posts so long I feel like I know you- would love an ARC- hope I win… In the meantime, I sure know the reverse culture shock thing- it was literally YEARS before some of my instantaneous thoughts were back into English and a long long time before I could remember how to cook Canadian- my family did NOT appreciate a French Christmas meal- they filled up on appetizers and had no room for anything else in spite of what I told them! It’s good that parts of you will never revert back- that’s what makes a person of the world as opposed to a person of a certain state or country only…. take care girl… good 2c ya! M

  10. Breana Douglass says:

    We love you. We can’t wait till we can stand in line and get your book. Kate says she’ll need her own copy, cause I won’t share.

  11. Pam Cloud says:

    Not only am I proud to know you when but before when! You have whet my appetite for the gothic romantic… Your writing style is both entertaining and engaging. Just too hard to put down- want more! Am just excited as heck waiting on your release date! It IS circled on my calendar! Glad you found your way back to the tropical chillwave!! Take care Missy! ~P

  12. Barbara Elness says:

    The cover is fabulous and the interview was very entertaining. You sound like a truly intrepid traveler – I’d be afraid to travel to another county alone, let alone sightsee without speaking any of the language. Too Wicked to Kiss sounds like a great book, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

  13. RKCharron says:

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you for the interview with Erica Ridley & thanks to Erica for sharing. I loved the conversational tone of the interview and the indepth responses. I’m looking forward to TOO WICKED TO KISS’ release!

  14. Carrie says:

    Yay for your first official interview as a writer!! Love it!!! I am so happy for you!! I can’t wait for your release date and look forward to spending some time with you when you come up here for your book tour. We will definitely have to celebrate your success!! Yay you!! Love ya!!

  15. Arantza says:

    Nice interview. It looks like an interesting book. I would love to win a copy.

  16. Beverly G says:

    Erica urbook sounds awesome congrtas on being published cant wait to read this ty for stoping in to day deff will be telling my book group about this book for sure !

    mortalsinn@yahoo.com

  17. Mary Ann says:

    Great interview girl ! Your responses to the questions had a good flow, which kept me reading until the end. Love that Hungarian adventure.

  18. Erica Ridley says:

    Thank you all for dropping by! This has been a lot of fun!! =)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

