Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Belinda McBride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please welcome multi-published author Belinda McBride, who was recently nominated for two CAPA awards.  Her novel Belle Starr is an EPIC finalist in the erotic science fiction category. 

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.

Hi Dawn! Thanks so much for having me here today! Well, I live in far northern California, in the shadow of Mt. Shasta. I have two adult daughters who live on their own. I’ve got a pack of Siberian Huskies who keep me on my toes. 🙂 I graduated as a historian/cultural anthropologist, and write full time. 

ETS – You are a very prolific author with a few different series out there.  Let’s start with the Bad Angel series.  Can you tell us a little about it?

Sure…Bad Angels is a paranormal series. The premise is taken from the old Celtic belief that the Fae/Sidhe are the offspring of humans and angels. In this particular mini-series, the main characters are Rion, who is a fallen angel, his lover Rex, who is a gillhie dubh (a Celtic vegetation diety) and Anahita/Noemi, who is a fallen angel who became corrupted, and is now a succubus. In this series, our heroes must fight demons and a rogue angel to be together.  

ETS – Bad Angels – Burn – LOVE the title.  What do the main characters face in this book?

This book expands on the characters of Noemi and Anahita, introducing Noemi as the third in Rion and Rex’s relationship. It’s called “Burn” because of Anahita’s fall from grace, and her eventual redemption. Readers have noted that the ending is a bit…harsh. All I can say here is that there is one more book that is planned for a spring release. In that, our main characters will have the happily-ever-after that they deserve! 

ETS – Are you a cat or dog person?

Oh, clearly a dog person. I’m a bit germaphobic, and every time a cat has scratched or bitten me, I’ve gotten an infection. I’ve got 6 Siberian Huskies, so cats are clearly off the slate at my house! 

ETS – You also have a series called The Black Planet.  On your website it states : This popular sci fi/cyber-punk series follows the adventures of the Lee family of San Francisco and Hong Kong. Look for exotic aliens and truly kick-ass heroines!  What inspired you to write this series?

The first book in the series is Little Dragon, which features Rose Lee. She’s loosely modeled off my late mentor Mo. She’d once been a police officer in Oakland, and the fight in the opening scene was based off an arrest that Mo once made.  I decided that I wanted an adventure series in which the heroine is the driving force of the story. I chose a cyber-punk genre for this series because of a movie that a friend of mine starred in. It was a low budget Chinese movie that pitted modern, western life against traditional Chinese values. I loved the gritty feel of the movie, which featured cage fights and some of the cheesiest special effects ever!

 ETS – Have you ever thought of writing Steampunk romance?

I have, but to me, Steampunk is such a visual medium that I just don’t know if I could do it justice.  

ETS – If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be and why?

I’d have started writing earlier. I’ve got so many stories to tell, and so much to learn as a writer. 

ETS – Tell us a little about your newest release.

I have two books that released at basically the same time. The first is An Uncommon Whore at Loose Id. It’s a m/m space opera. The lead character is Helios Dayspring, a prince who was sold into slavery. He has no memory of who he is or of his past life. He encounters Griffin Hawke, a mercenary who was once his bodyguard. Griffin loves Helios, but knows he must restore him to the throne of their people. This book focuses on trust and faith. Helios has to accept that he has a frightening, demanding role to play in life, and Griffin must learn to accept the fact that Helios loves him unconditionally.

It’s the first in a series, the second book continues the story from Griffin’s point of view.

Last Call Europe: Devil’s Advocate is available at Changeling Press. It’s a paranormal, bisexual ménage. In this book, a young married couple make a deal with a demon named Jedidiah Worth. In exchange for his help to overturn a curse, they promise a night of sex to him. Well, Jedidiah gets his sex, but he gets a bit more than he counts on. Namely, Mya and David are tiger shifters, and aren’t so willing to give him up at the end of the night! 

ETS – What advice would you give to aspiring romance writers?

Read a lot, take classes on the basics if you need it. Don’t rely on the muse, learn to write as a discipline. Research the market, so you know where to submit your work.  

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us today!

Thank you for having me today! It’s been fun!

 
ETS – You can learn more about Belinda and her novels by visiting her webpage.
 

Blog: http://www.belindam.blogspot.com
You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/user/logansama1

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Belinda_McBride
 

Belinda is donating a $5.00 Changeling Press gift certificate to a randomly drawn reader. Be sure to post!

Comments
7 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Belinda McBride”
  1. Beth C. says:

    Love the interview and I love your books. Have a few of them and quite a few more are on my TBB list. If I’m lucky enough to be the winner, that will allow me to get one or two of the books on my list. Like your Last Call book. Sounds delicious.

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Belinda! Great interview!

    I’m a dog person, too. We used to have two mini daschunds, but they have since passed. Then we had kids and at 4 and 2, they keep us pretty busy. Right now my hands are full, but we may consider another dog once they are older. I had a Siberian Husky as a kid – beautiful dogs!

    Your books look great – congrats on your new releases nd wishing you many sales!

  3. RKCharron says:

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you very much for the interview with Belinda. Thank you to Belinda for sharing here. I really enjoyed the conversational tone & learning more about Belinda and her writing. Thank you for the excellent writing advice too!
    All the best,
    RKCharron

  4. Thanks very much, you guys!

  5. Lise Horton says:

    Belinda your prolific and intriguingly creative work is awe-inspiring! Likewise you give great advice and i can totally relate about having started to write earlier. I feel as though I have thousands of refugee stories battering at the gates to be freed.

    I smiled when reading about your huskies. I have 3 rescued racing greyhounds in a very small hours and it’s like living in a kennel. Sometimes they even let me sit on the sofa! My poor kitty Hedwig lives in the upstairs to be safe. (I’m a cat AND dog . . . and squirrel, raccon, bird, possum . . . person).

    Keep up the amazing writing – and best of luck with all your future tales of love, lust and alternate worlds.

  6. Your books look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

