Nuggets of Inspiration

Yesterday was a holiday in the US – President’s Day. For many this marked the beginning of school vacation week. For others, including myself, this historical holiday was a day off from work.  

 

It isn’t often that my whole family gets to send time together, and we all wanted to take advantage of our day off. So my husband and I packed up the kids and headed out to western MA, where we visited the Springfield Science and Art museums.

The kids were excited, and while they ran around from one exhibit to the next, I stopped to read about a wide variety of things. There has been a space opera trilogy circulating around in the back of my mind for a while now and I was delighted to spend time in the space exhibit learning about black holes, asteroids, and space travel. More than one person gave me an odd look when I took out my notebook, but I didn’t care. Inspiration had hit, and I had to run with it.

 

I’m not sure if I’ll use any of the information I gathered today, but just immersing myself in the subject of spce travel was enough to inspire new civilizations and story lines. Sometimes as writers it’s easy to get lost in the worlds that we create and forget that there is life going on around us. For a short while this may not be a bad thing, as it can give us the motivation we need to finish the story. Putting down the pen (or the keyboard) can be beneficial too, however. After all, how else are we suppose to make our characters and our worlds believable if we aren’t experiencing reality?

So I’m asking you today, what inspires you? If you are a writer, what inspired you to write your latest work in progress? If you are a reader, did you experience something recently that motivated you or moved you in a new direction? If so, I want to know about it!

Comments
6 Responses to “Nuggets of Inspiration”
  1. I loved that you used the word “nugget”. Sometimes my nuggets can be as tiny as a seed…a picture, a snippet of a song, a glimpse of a person walking by. I might go for days or weeks or months before this tiny seed sprouts into a full-fledged project.

    More often, though, I’m inspired by a book or a movie that explores a theme that resonates in my own heart. I’ll pair those themes with a handful of seeds and BOOM…there’s my next work in progress:)

    My current WIP has been inspired by scenes from the new Wolfman movie as well as the horror classic Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

  2. Sandi says:

    Anything can inspire me–I just wish I’d be more inspired to work on this WIP. It’s not moving along as I’d hoped LOL

  3. Dawn McClure says:

    There are so many things that can and do inpsire me. Sometimes a sentence just pops up in my head, and suddenly there’s a scene (like a movie) playing in my head. Wow. Does that sound flipping crazy.

    Hell, even a commercial can inspire me. My current WIP was inspired by the old standby – I have to get the next book in the series done. lol

  4. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hey Barbara – Have you seen the Wolfman movie yet? I’m going to go see it this weekend. Can hardly wait! I, too, can get a lot of inspiration from movies.

    Hi Sandi! LOL – you and me both! Seems like my single title is moving at a snail’s pace, lately.

    Hey Dawn – lol about writing the next book in the series. I hear you. All too often that’s my inspiration, too. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Amanda Vyne says:

    I am, above all, a history/myth fanatic. Almost every idea I’ve had has been somehow related to history or mythology. I’m constantly wanting to know the origins of everything.

  6. Inspiration can come when you least expect it. I was engrossed in writing my Y/A novel about a mouse detective when I read a newspaper article about a bat fungus that was devastating the bat population in New England. After four stories in my fang series, I thought I’d put my fang boys to rest, but when I read about the bats, I knew I’d need to dust off the fangs and get them involved. Hence, I’m writing Black Fang, the fifth story in my series.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

