Welcome Ellora’s Cave author Nina Pierce…

Thank you for being with us at EtS today and participating in our Quick Q & A! 

 

Thanks so much for having me here at Embrace the Shadows. I’m excited to share my books with your readers and chat about paranormal romance in general.

What inspired you to write paranormal romance?

I have always loved the idea that there’s another dimension around us. Though not well developed I do have premonitions and the ability to sense ghosts (though they scare the bajeebers out of me *g*) which is what originally piqued my curiousity. Anyway, when I began writing I started with what I knew and loved to read … contemporary romantic suspense. And though I loved those stories it didn’t quite fill my need to tell stories. My first paranormal “Healer’s Garden” (re-released Ellora’s Cave Jan 2010) took place on a future earth and included a heroine with the ability to heal with just her hands. I loved writing this book. From there I branched out to vampires and werewolves and haven’t looked back.

Name one of your all time favorite paranormal romances.

Oh, I found Anne McCaffrey a long time ago and she is one of my all-time favorite paranormal romance writers. I’ve read countless books (though not the “Pern” series). Her “Freedom” series about a human female who is kidnapped and taken to another planet pulled me in from the first book. Not only did this woman figure out how to survive and start a new life, she fell in love with a surly alien with a heart of gold. Yeah … that series is on my keeper shelf. And the world building that Ms. McCaffrey did was just amazing! I still remember the planets and the fear and awe the prisoners felt being dumped there. Really, the woman is amazing.

Kiss ass or not?

If I was offered two books, I’d choose the kick ass heroine. Not that I don’t enjoy a more laid back heroine who knows her own mind, but I like the action that surrounds a woman who goes in with both guns blazing. Interestingly enough though I think most of my paranormal heroines, like polymorphic shifter, Jayda Kynslan from “Bonded by Need” (Ellora’s Cave Aug 2009) tend to know their own mind, but definitely have a more subtle way of getting their man. They aren’t pushovers by any stretch of the imagination. They have a solid spine when the hero needs to be set in his place. (And what man doesn’t need to be reminded who’s the boss, even if she is the strong, silent type? *g*)

 

Your perfect paranormal hero is …

A vampire. Yeah, they make my knees go weak. Sometimes a woman just wants to melt in the arms of a man who knows what he wants and what he wants is … you! There’s so much power and wisdom in a male vamp who’s been around for a couple of centuries. He can sink his teeth in my neck any day. *sigh*

What’s at the top of your TBR pile?

I recently discovered author Terry Spears. I’m starting her wolf series with the first book, “Heart of the Wolf”. This will be the first of her books that I’ve read and I’m really looking forward to starting this series. I’ve been eyeing it for awhile and I have no doubt it’s going to end up on my keeper shelf.

Nina hangs out …

website: http://www.ninapierce.com 

facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ninapierce

twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ninapierce

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Welcome Ellora’s Cave author Nina Pierce…”
  1. I also loved that Freedom series from A.M. I’ve loved all her books, but that series and that hero/heroine is my favorite by far! Thank you again for visiting our blog today, Nina. It’s so nice to have you here.

  2. Nina Pierce says:

    Thanks for having me Barbara.

  3. Sue Brandes says:

    You are a new author to me. Thanks for being our guest today. Love your book covers. Will be looking for your books. Do you have any say in your book covers?

  4. Susan Blexrud says:

    Nina, I couldn’t agree more about the vampires. They’re my faves, for sure. I first met you when I was wading through the techno-maze of creating a book video. You pointed me in the right direction, and I’ve always been grateful. Thanks for being here today and sharing tidbits of your stories.

  5. Nina Pierce says:

    Sue – Thanks for the compliments on my covers. With the exception of themed series, we do have a say. EC has us fill out a very detailed cover request. It gives us the opportunity to describe our vision of the cover including hero and heroine. And when they send the first look they’re very open to making changes. It’s great and I feel really blessed with some great covers.

  6. Patricia A says:

    Hi Nina, I also love vampire heroes. There is something so seductive about that dark bite!

    Have you written any vampire romances?

    • Nina Pierce says:

      I have actually Patricia. “Shadows of Fire” is an erotic suspense story of a vampire looking to take down another vampire who’s murdering humans. It’s availabe in the “Heart’s Afire-May” anthology from Liquid Silver Books http://tinyurl.com/c8nept. You can also view the book trailer at http://tinyurl.com/blwsdp.

      This was my first vampire story but I have no doubt I’ll be finding more stories about this secret organization.

  7. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Nina!

    I love vampire stories – always have. There’s just something about the brooding alpha. 🙂

    I have to say that I love that cover for Healer’s Garden. It’s erotic, yet tender at the same time. It’s great!

    Thanks so much for stopping by today. It’s great having you here!

  8. Mel Teshco says:

    Nina, I agree, Vampires are the bomb! So are werewolves, shape-shifters and gargoyles! LOL
    Love your covers!

  9. Glad to read a little more about you, girl. You’ve made all my covers for me and they rock…..Jean

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

