Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Author Desiree Lee

 

So, you’re a writer.  Why?

I can’t imagine being anything but. I’ve been writing ever since I was a kid. If I didn’t have an outlet for my ideas, I think my brain would implode. That would get very messy.

 What is your profession, and how does it help or hinder your writing?

There’s more than one answer to that. I got my degrees in the IT field, though I’m currently working in a telecommunications company. It doesn’t really do much for my writing either way, but it does keep me fed, sheltered and able to pay the power bill.

 Actually, on second thought it helps that I get free internet service as one of my benefits. That’s a huge bonus to an ebook author.

 Tell us about your latest release. 

The House that Jack Built is my first horror story (no romance here). It was released last month as part of the Weirdly, Vol. 3 anthology from Wild Child Publishing.

Blurb: Following an ugly divorce, famous horror author Tyce Szelovich aka Ty Sellers needed a break. Buying a secluded home in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest should have been the perfect remedy for him. Even someone as imaginative as Tyce never could have envisioned the effect one single, unique object left in the house by the previous owner would have on him…

http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=101&products_id=301

I’m also stoked about my first print release. Within These Stone Walls came out recently from DCL Publications. This is cover model Armando’s first book cover ever (both ebook and print) so he was really stoked to see it go to print too.

Blurb:

            If walls could talk…

            Danica Heuer gave her word to her Uncle Arthur on his deathbed. She would take her inheritance and buy a castle. The remark was flippant at the time, but now that Uncle Art is gone, she is honor-bound to keep that promise.

The castle Danica buys turns out to be the boon she needed to lift her spirits. Majestic and dignified, she falls in love with her new purchase immediately. The majordomo is helpful and very informative about the castle’s rich history and lore. Things are perfect. Or are they?

Danica’s dreams become tumultuous. Strange sounds in the night wake her. The longer she stays, the more hushed whispers she hears in town about her castle.

What will Danica do when she discovers the terrifying truth about her castle, contained deep Within These Stone Walls?
This book is available at Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/Within-These-Stone-Walls-Desir%C3%A9e/dp/0984282823/

and at Barnes & Noble.com http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Within-These-Stone-Walls/Desiree-Lee/e/9780984282821/?itm=1&USRI=Within+These+STone+Walls

 How do you promote your books?

I promote mostly online since most of my books are ebooks. I am also part of a promo cooperative called Bookworm Bags that gives all the participating authors a chance to distribute promo in goodie bags. 

I also leave promo goodies here and there. I try to leave some with the tip at restaurants. My chiropractor even let me leave some on his counter and he said that a lot of his patients asked about the books!

 Are you who people think you are?

That depends. I have different personas depending on who I need to be. Living in a small town and working in a professional job doesn’t always give me the channel for my inner vampire goth. The funny thing is, I don’t really feel like I am being true to myself when I blend in with “normal” people. I revel in my weirdness.

What would you tell aspiring writers about their career path?

Research. Learn as much as you can about the business because it’s very competitive. However, it’s also extremely rewarding. Receiving your first book contract is a moment to savor forever.

 How do you keep track of your world building?

I do a lot of it in my head, but some I write down. I use character sheets a lot.

For a fantasy series I have in the works, I am going to try to draw up maps of that world. I lack the talent to draw though so I’ll probably do it on the computer rather than freehand.

Do you belong to a critique group?  If so, has it helped your writing? 

I’ve used them but I haven’t been currently. I have some people who are my usual critters and they help a lot.

 What do you struggle with most when writing?

I think my muse has ADD. I start a project and then get an idea for another and move on before the first one is done. Right now I have probably at least two dozen works-in-progress. I work on one until I run out of steam and figure I’ll get back to it eventually. Some have been in progress for years though so who knows?

Do you have a website/blog?

http://www.desireelee.com

I also post on my MySpace blog http://www.myspace.com/authordesireelee

Do you have another book in the works?  What does the future hold?

I just submitted a book today, knock on wood! I have soooo many in the works. I don’t know which one will get done next. I’m really hoping to get some more novel length pieces done. I love writing shorts and novellas, but I want to go for a bigger piece now.

My brother is trying to get me to write a screenplay for him. Maybe I’ll take a crack at it when I get time. I told him I’d write the screenplay but not the story. He has to bring me the story first!

Comments
7 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Author Desiree Lee”
  1. Susan Blexrud says:

    Welcome to Embrace the Shadows, Des. Your DCL cover remains one of my all-time favorites. Of course, Armando Gonzalez is a quality guy, as we both found out in Nashville. Best of luck with your new releases! You rock!

  2. Intriqued you can juggle so many books at once. Just keep writing, girl, wouldn’t want your brain to implode!!!

  3. Jean Watkins says:

    Great interview, Des! We love your brand of weirdness over here and are looking forward to your next book with us! LOL

  4. Merri Humel says:

    Love your books & love you. I can say, “I knew her when…”. 🙂

  5. Normal is boring:) I’m happy to have the opportunity to learn more about your books. I happen to like horror although speaking of power bills…leaving my light on at night after I read a good one is killer with these higher rates!

  6. Pam Seres says:

    Great interview Des! Like Jean said we love you the way you are! lol So happy you are part of DCL. xo

  7. Bernita says:

    Really nice to meet another Weirdly author!

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

