Our Quick Q & A welcomes NJ Walters

 

     

 

“Thank you so much to Embrace the Shadows for inviting me to be a guest on your blog.”  NJ Walters

Quick Q & A

 

1)What inspired you to write paranormal romance?

I’ve always been drawn to the paranormal. I think it’s the lure of the dark side and the secrets and mysteries that dwell there. There’s so much in the world that can’t be readily explained, so it’s not a big stretch to play the “what if” game. What if werewolves are real? What if vampires truly do exist? What happens when we die? All of this is certainly a great inspiration for my writing. I can explore all these possibilities and more.

My first paranormal book was Harker’s Journey, an erotic/vampire tale for Ellora’s Cave and the first book of the Dalakis Passion vampire series. I started with the premise: What if Jonathan Harker (a character from Bram Stoker’s Dracula) was real and what if he had descendants? And what if that woman (Johanna Harker) went to Transylvania to meet a mysterious client who dwelled in a castle, a sort of history repeating itself scenario? The story flowed from there. I had a blast writing that book and have gone on to write four more books in the Dalakis Passion vampire series.

I’ve tackled the question of death. (“A Love Eternal” in the Ellora’s Cavemen: Legendary Tails IV Anthology) I’ve created a group of men known as Shadow Ryders. These immortal warriors are bound to the Shadow Realm and interfere with this world only when justice is needed. (“Shadows Stir” in the Ellora’s Cavemen: Dreams of the Oasis IV Anthology and Beyond Shadows) I’ve time-travelled to strange worlds (Tapestries series) and seen an apocalyptic view of the Earth (Project Alpha).

My latest foray into the paranormal is Alexandra’s Legacy, a werewolf tale for Samhain Publishing. I’d always wanted to write a werewolf book. After all, this is a creature who is part man, but has an animalistic side. He is bound by his primal instincts. Protective by nature, a werewolf lives by his own code, his own laws.

Blurb for Alexandra’s Legacy:

Alexandra Riley’s comfortable life changes when a dark stranger—Joshua Striker—bursts into her life and she discovers she’s a half-breed werewolf, a prize sought after by male werewolves. But not everyone wants her safe and, as the enforcer for her father’s former pack, it’s Joshua’s job to see her safely home to the pack.

Through the streets of Chicago to the mountains of North Carolina, they evade their pursuers as the passion between them flares higher. But will Alex find the courage to accept her legacy and embrace her inner wolf in order to claim Joshua as her own?

2) Name one of your all time favorite paranormal romances.

Tough question. I love paranormal romances. I’d have to say that Christine Feehan’s books (any of her series) are near the top of my list. But, at the moment, J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood novels have to be my favorites. I just love those vampires!

3) Kick ass or not? (Otherwise known as Team Buffy or Team Bella?)

I like a kick ass heroine. After all, a girl has to be able to hold her own when faced with a paranormal creature. Or maybe it’s a genetically enhanced futuristic assassin—as happens to the heroines of my Project Alpha trilogy (futuristic/erotic).

Only one of them—Silence, a tracker for the Resistance in Embracing Silence—is a traditional kick-ass heroine. She’s been captured by Tienan, a computer-enhanced and genetically alerted assassin. She not only holds her own, but manages to escape. Mercy Dockins in Have Mercy may not seem like a kick-ass heroine at first, but she’s a woman protecting children. And there is no one more fierce than that. And in the final book in the trilogy, Sweet Charity, Charity Caruthers has been abused all her life, but she finds the courage to do what’s right and seek a new life for herself. All strong women in their own way.

4) Your perfect paranormal hero is…

I’m a sucker for the dark, brooding hero. A tortured soul. This is a man who has his own code of honor. He’ll vow he’s nobody’s hero even as he’s doing something incredibly heroic.  He’ll protect the heroine at all costs, even if that means protecting her from himself. Lots of conflict and angst.

I love writing heroes like this too. Of course, some are more tortured than others. *g* Stefan Dalakis from Stefan’s Salvation (part of the Dalakis passion vampire series) is a personal favorite of mine and of many of my readers. When I originally wrote the first book, I’d planned for Stefan to be the lighthearted brother. Not happening! Stefan ended up being the darkest, most tortured and intense of the three Dalakis brothers. He’s endured hundreds of years of searching for his mate and has all but given up hope when he stumbles into the small town of Salvation, North Carolina. It is there he finds Laurel Rose McCaffey, who is his destiny.

5) What’s at the top of your TBR pile?

So many books, so little time. I really don’t have an actual TBR pile. I buy books one or two at a time. Why? Because if they’re there I have to read them. If I had a dozen books lying around I’d never get any writing done.

I do have “must-buy” authors such as Jayne Ann Krentz, Nora Roberts, Christine Feehan, Sherrilyn Kenyon, J.R. Ward, Stephanie Laurens, Lori Foster, Alexis Morgan, etc… As you can tell, I can always go online or to the bookstore and get a book whenever I have time to read.

You can check out my Ellora’s Cave books at http://www.jasminejade.com/m-172-nj-walters.aspx

You can check out my Samhain Publishing books at http://samhainpublishing.com/authors/n-j-walters

N.J. Walters is an award-winning multi-published author with 40 books available in E-book form, and 20 books in print.

 

Website: http://www.njwalters.com

Blog: http://www.njwalters.blogspot.com

Newsletter Group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/awakeningdesires/

Comments
7 Responses to “Our Quick Q & A welcomes NJ Walters”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    Thank you so much, NJ for stopping by! Have to say, I like a kick ass heroine, too. I’m definitely a team Buffy. A girl has to be able to defend herself in a world filled with supernatural beings. Relying on someone else to bail you out all the time could get you in trouble.

    Your books sound fantastic. I’m so glad you took the time to stop and chat with us!

  2. Susan Blexrud says:

    N.J., Fascinating interview. Thanks so much for gracing our blog. I love your characters’ names. Do you anguish over them or do they pop out of the cybersphere? Like Joshua Striker…you don’t get better than that.

  3. N.J. Walters says:

    Thank you so much, ladies, for having me here at your blog. It’s my pleasure.

    Character names…it’s strange. Some names come to me immediately, while others take time. Joshua Striker came to me with that name. lol I never had to even think about it. I love it when that happens.

  4. Fedora says:

    Great interview, NJ! And I have to completely agree–kick-ass, definitely! 🙂 I’m a big fan of a heroine who can take care of herself, but who doesn’t mind being taken care of when the time is right 🙂

  5. Maria63303 says:

    Great interview and I just love the werewolf genre of books. I agree that a heroine needs to be kickass in order for people to believe she belongs in this world but she doesn’t necessarily have to be in your face with it.

  6. N.J. Walters says:

    Thanks, Fedora. I like a woman who can kick butt too. Or, if she’s physically outmanned, then she’s at least smart!

  7. N.J. Walters says:

    Exactly, Maria. Sometimes it can simply mean she’s smart enough to know what she has to do and she has inner strength, strength of character. I’m really having fun writing my werewolf series.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

