Inspiration, Trolls and Off Season Metaphors

I wanted to write a blog about either inspiration or my serious lack thereof.  Inspiration, by its very definition, brings up images of divinity and grace and other wispy stuff. Quite frankly, I’m too edgy and coarse for grace and the only thing wispy about me is my hair in the morning.  Anyway, fellow blogger and author, Barbara J. Hancock, did a beautiful job on the topic last week (shameless plug) and since I don’t want to be the troll stomping through her mysterious forest, I’ll blog about the latter…the Lack Thereof. Now that is a topic I resemble lately…wispy hair and all.

There are not too many places I go these days without my laptop…to the restroom (mostly) and the grocery store (rarely) being a couple. The reason being, I’m suffering from a serious lack of inspiration and an equally thinning space of time to complete my current work in progress. I keep hoping that if I have the damned thing with me I’ll be prepared to get down to business in case inspiration decided to hit. The only thing that hit me was the realization that inspiration doesn’t get the book written. I do that.

Or I don’t.

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” ~Stephen King On Writing

You see, by toting that bag around I fooled myself into believing that I was working. I had it with me. I was just waiting for the words to come, waiting for the time to be right. The truth is; if I’m waiting then neither the words nor the time will ever be right. Writing is a contact sport. It’s action. It’s the crash of conflict and construction. It’s digging in your heels and pushing forward when the opposition is dragging you down. And inspiration…it’s only a little piece of pigskin you carry with you as you throw your whole self into the game and chew your way across the field to THE END zone. (Okay, that was cheesy but I couldn’t help myself.)

Not every game (yes, I’m continuing the football allegory) is going to get you that win. Sometimes the victory is in finishing the game because every successful play or not so successful play, as it sometimes seems, adds to your skill. And skill gets you that much closer to your next goal…pun intended.

Comments
4 Responses to “Inspiration, Trolls and Off Season Metaphors”
  1. LOL. What a great troll pic!

    As one who is struggling with the umpteenth try at a satisfactory ending to the book from hell…thank you for this post. This one has been work, work, work. I will be thrilled if at the end I have indeed gained some new skill. Or even just some much-needed patience. 🙂

  2. 😀 I love, love, love that troll pic…partly because that’s how I imagine I must look every morning when I sit down at the keyboard before I’ve even finished my coffee.

    I’ve learned so much from talking with other writers about their process. One of the things I’ve learned is that it’s good to have a bag of tricks beyond your normal routine because, sure enough, the day or deadline will hit where you find your normal routine ain’t gettin’ it done!

    “Writing is a contact sport” Amanda Vyne I’m so gonna put that above my desk and on my Facebook quotes. Pure gold!

  3. roseanne says:

    Well said. And here I am, waiting fior inspiration to hit me too. Seriously, you hit the nail on the head.

  4. Amanda Vyne says:

    I’m telling ya, ladies. Sometimes I feel like I’m looking down the field at a three hundred pound line backer when I sit down to write. But we all know why we do it….for love of the game. lol

    Thanks for responding.

    Amanda

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

