Road Less Traveled or Well Traveled Path?

Sorry if you’ve already seen this post on another blog today.  I’m having some issues this morning and couldn’t think up a new blog topic 🙂

Anyway, this issue has been circling around in my brain for a few weeks now. As most of you know, a lot of my work is loaded with humor and for those that are new to my work, I urge you to check out my website http://www.sandrasookoo.com. Add to that, I like to write in whatever genre the mood strikes: paranormal, contemporary or historical with heat but not at an erotic level.

What’s wrong with this picture?

I’m not writing for the trends.

Now I realize it’s the only way to make cash in this game but I can’t help but wonder if that’s doing things the easy way. Right now, I’m not interested in writing for the trends and have always been told to write something that interests me as a reader. I’m darned proud of the books I’ve put out, just wish more people would take a chance on them.

Funny vampires? I have ’em. (Recently got my print copies of Fang Shui in the mail and they’re oh so pretty) Historicals with heat and heart? Yup those to. Contemporary books that’ll make you snort your drink out of your nose? They’re in stock now LOL Yes, my early work doesn’t have sex in it. My 2010 work does. I’ve evolved, in this it was a change or die kind of thing and I’m okay with it. Pretty darned comfortable writing it, but that doesn’t mean I won’t go back to “sweet” romance if the urge strikes. So, take a chance on me. I’ve got everything you’re looking for. LOL

(Yeah, shameless plug but that’s what the world has come to, right?) LOL

But, they’re not the trends.

Depending on which publisher you look at, you’ll find the trending topics to be wolves, menages, category romance, Amish romances, dom/sub stuff, Regency romance or M/M stories.

None of which my books fall into. That’s the sad truth. It takes a village to make the publishing industry go ’round and I’m not trashing those things, I’m merely saying I don’t write in them.

Yet, I continue to write what I love, what interests me, what makes me laugh, hoping someone out there will love it, too, hoping the current trends will shift and my stuff will become popular. Please God. I can entertain the crap out of you, but first, someone needs to make the trends shift and demand different stuff. 🙂

So, here’s today’s question.

1. Writers—how do you tackle this conundrum? Do you write for the trends, hoping to make it big or do you throw caution to the wind and write what you love even though it probably won’t sell well at the moment?

2. Readers—are you contend to read what everyone else is reading? Do you tend to pick up a book in the same genre over and over again, or are you willing to take a chance on something different?

Can’t wait to hear what you think. Good, bad, ugly, supportive, I wanna hear it all. 🙂

Comments
3 Responses to “Road Less Traveled or Well Traveled Path?”
  1. Barbara says:

    I’ve always written on inspiration. That means I’m hopeless at following a trend unless it happens to be a trend that inspires me and calls me out to play. I wrote paranormal for years before it boomed…and those ms didn’t sell until the boom:)

    I’ve also always written hot stories with plenty of sexual tension, but I have noted my readers think the hotter the better;D So it’s been fun to give them more heat because it’s only been a matter of focusing in and highlighting something I was already doing, something that comes naturally to my voice.

    A current trend I see that I am simply not able to ride is the trend of paranormal romances with plots so complicated you need a spread sheet to follow them. I do character driven and no amount of outlining, praying or begging & pleading with my muse is gonna change that.

    Jacqueline Barbary was born because when writing GBLT romance, whether it be menage or m/m, I can create the character driven stories I love. I hope readers will enjoy them as much as I enjoy creating them!

    Basically, I’ve always tried to write what comes to me and then find it a home. Whether paranormal, erotic or alternative(or a blend of all three)–all I can do is follow my muse and hope that the stories I love are loved by others too.

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Well said Barbara! I also don’t pay much attention to trends, because quite often by the time we seem them they are already old. As far as sexual tension goes… some authors are natural erotic writers while others aren’t. You can’t force it. It’s important to stay true to your characters and your voice.

    I guess I’m like Barbara. I just write the stories that I love and hope that others come to love them, too.

  3. Thanks for your comments ladies

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

