Welcome Nicole Dennis and her Dragon Warriors

 

Introduction to the Sanity of Nicole Dennis

Ooh, the first official blog for Dragon’s Grace release from Lyrical Press, Inc. First – Happy Earth Day!! Okay, got that out of the way. :/ As some know, I just had the Lasik procedure on my eyes and man oh man, what a difference after thirty years stuck behind thick lenses. Freedom! Freedom…

Oh, wait. :: drop drop drop :: another pause… more drops. Another pause… more drops..

They didn’t tell you that part. I have three different set of drops. Plus sleeping in goggles for the first few days – can’t afford to have kitty paws or fur disturb the eyes. Plus, I have an orange tabby who insists on waking me by licking my eyelids. Oy! but Freedom from glasses…

Anyway, back to your regularly scheduled blog. :: wavy groovy music ala the end of Wayne’s World :: and we’re back. (sorry this is running before I get all my caffeine in.)

Writers are often questioned how they come up with story ideas. For this little blog, I’ll give you some examples of mine.

How did I come up with Dragon’s Grace? It was rather unusual and vivid daydream. The image of a young woman racing up a snowy mountain, hurting, needing to get to the one who could help her, but would just as well slam the door in her face. I saw that and started to jot it down on a notepad and the story rather flew from there.

That’s the exact beginning of the novella. The young woman became Allauria Grace, known as Lauri. The one she’s trying to get too is Callum McDrakken, or Cal. He is the hunk on the cover. ::wicked grin:: Their history is none too pleasant, which goes back to the slamming door in her face and the reason he’s on that foreboding mountaintop. Though, I don’t want to give too much away.

Another favorite, one Barbara knows well is another novel called Familiar Protection, a beloved WIP of mine which I sent off to Carina Press and keeping my fingers crossed. Again, it started as a dream and here’s the beginning of the story, which I kept the same:

Incendiary flickers of pain raced up his spine and spread across his shoulders. Within the magical circle, a Sorcerer spoke dark, ancient words. In tandem, runes and symbols etched themselves deeper into the tawny skin of Gideon’s left shoulder and back. Gideon curled his arms up, his hands in tight fists, as thick metal bands around his wrists yanked back from their anchored position deep in the mountain. Muscle, sinew, and tendons strained against his skin. Vessels bulged and appeared under his skin from his elbows through his neck.

While the runes etched deeper as the Sorcerer of the Dark spoke arcane words of a spell, Gideon threw his head back. Longish dark hair tangled around his face in the unnatural wind. A strangled roar from his other half, a powerful shadow cat, raced through the darkened forest. It caused hundreds of birds to take flight from their evening perches and fill the sky.

A sizzle and snap of leather whip cracked against his back, cutting off his cry as he bent over with the newfound pain. Another vicious, bloody slash opened up on his back. Matted locks fell across his eyes when he lifted his head to stare at the Sorcerer.

Keep your fingers crossed for Gideon’s story. :: evil grin ::

Another WIP started when I saw an opening for an Angels/Demons anthology for Samhain Publishing. I saw a hero walking into a circular room and dangling from chains was a near naked dark-winged angel. Only this wasn’t an angel. This was the child of an angel and incubus. And it was a lady.

All of which knocked my hero, a perfect high ranked angel, back a few steps. Not that he would ever lower himself to lock lips with the daughter of an incubus. Though, I never expected his occasional angel lover to wander in and demand I turn this into a ménage. I blinked once, then twice, then shrugged. What the angels and incubus wants, they get. I’m just the writer. J

Anyway, I hope you enjoy a look into my crazy world and how I create things. I also want to leave you with a peek at the newest cover, which I received yesterday from Lyrical Press, Inc. This is Book 2 of McDrakken Warriors, Dragon’s Sanity. It continues some of Cal and Lauri’s story, but it has a new hero & heroine and dives deeper into the world of the dragon warriors and their guardians.

Don’t forget, if the cover of Dragon’s Grace wins the Clash, I will give a lucky commenter a free copy their choice of format of my beloved eBook. If it doesn’t win, well, we’ll choose from one of the comments made from today’s blog.

You can find me in many places:

Facebook: Nicole Bisceglie        http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1371949975

Gmail: nicoledennis.author@gmail.com

Website: http://S2.WebStarts.com/NicoleDennis-Author

YouTube: NicoleCDennis

Can a battered dragon warrior overcome past mistakes?

After an attack by dark wraiths, exiled guardian Allauria Grace, treks up a mountain in the middle of a snowstorm to locate her dragon. Once there, she finds a reluctant Callum McDrakken. In fact, he wants nothing to do with her and refused to let her in his haven. They battle through memories of a tangled past and a devastating injury that left Callum unable to transform into his dragon form. With the looming threat of wraiths and the possibility of Allauria becoming one herself, they wonder if there is still a chance for this dragon to have his mate. Contains M/F sex with steamy against-the-wall shower scene. Add in a fiery shape-shifting dragon warrior for fun.

Read an excerpt here: http://www.lyricalpress.com/dragons_grace_excerpt

Nicole Dennis has always had a fascination with fantasy, paranormal and the never-ending appeal and beauty of romance. It seemed only natural her various loves would come together in her writing. Growing up, she was often lost in a book. She began writing romance at the age of eight for her dolls, but that all changed when she was fourteen and introduced to her aunt’s romance novels during one summer. Since then, she fell into reading and collecting dragons, fairies, vampires, and shapeshifters of all kinds and those paranormal elements began to intrude in her reading and writing material. From that moment on, she began writing her paranormal/fantasy/romance Happily Ever Afters. Over time, she became a little braver to let the romance slip into the erotica style of love.

Working in a quiet office in Florida, where she makes her home, she enjoys the down time to slip into her fantasy and paranormal worlds to escape reality. At home, she becomes the human slave to two crazy cats – an angelic red tabby and a demonic black-orange calico.

Visit Nicole Dennis at http://nicoledennis-author.com

Comments
10 Responses to “Welcome Nicole Dennis and her Dragon Warriors”
  1. Congrats and best of luck with your release!

  2. Barbara says:

    Lyrical Press really does do wonderful covers. This one is mighty, Nicole! I love it. And the premise is so engaging.

    Congratulations and thank you for being featured on EtS today:)

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Congrats Nicole — the story sounds wonderful. I love dragons! Is it the start of a series or a stand alone? Wishing you many sales!

  4. Nicole says:

    Hi Sandra, Barbara & Suzanne. 🙂

    Thanks for having me on your wonderful blog. 🙂

    Barbara – Oh I love my covers.. 🙂 and my dragon boys..

    Suzanna – This is an ongoing series.. Dragon’s Sanity is Book 2 and I’m working on Book 3 – titled Dragon’s Betrayal..

    Hugs

  5. Eva S says:

    Congrats on the release! I love dragons too, looking forward to more books!
    Wonderful covers, love the colors.

  6. chandraryan says:

    I think this is the first time I’ve seen the cover for Dragon’s Sanity…Yummy! It’s gorgeous.

    Huge congrats on the release, Nicole. I’m so happy for you. You don’t have to enter me in the contest. I already have Dragon’s Grace… unfortunately life’s been a bit hectic this week and I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. But I wanted to make sure I stopped by and said congratulations 🙂

  7. Amanda Vyne says:

    These look tremendous, Nicole. I love me a good dragon tail….ah…I mean tale. 😉

    Putting these in my TBR pile….towards the top for sure.

  8. Susan Blexrud says:

    Ah, a fellow Floridian. Thanks for hanging out today at EtS, Nicole. Last time I was in Orlando (in April), I attended the Central Florida Romance Writers meeting and reconnected with some old friends. Florida is an inspirational locale for romance writers, and the heat certainly seems to agree with your dragons. LOL!

  9. Nicole says:

    Hi Eva, Chandra, Amanda, & Susan

    Eva – oh yes, Renee @ Lyrical does a wonderful job and is keeping the theme of the series similar as we go along..

    Hi Chandra – I knew you would love Sanity’s cover.. lol.. 🙂

    Hi Amanda – lol.. Thanks for bringing Cal n Lauri’s story to the top. I hope you enjoy it.

    Thanks for having me, Susan. I enjoy my visit. I hang out all the time in the boards. 🙂 I want to join up the CFRW when I get the chance. I’m sure my dragons would love the chance to hang out down here. Good flight time.

    Hugs everyone!

  10. Congratulations Eva S ! You’ve won a copy of Dragon’s Grace. You can contact Nicole here: nicoledennis.author@gmail.com to claim your prize:)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

