Roles and Role-Playing

One of my favorite things to do in high school was to role play. I loved being able to create a whole new character, come up with her back story and motivation, and roll with the punches a toss of the dice may bring. But, as I grew older, I found I didn’t have the time for role-playing. And I’d grown apart from the friends I used to game with.

Living in a new town with my new husband, I found I had real life roles to adjust to. His family was originally from India. He’s first generation American. And I was stumbling blind along a culture I knew little to nothing about. Fortunately, his parents were great and welcomed me into the family with open arms and went out of their way to teach me all about their religion and traditions. Best part was, they always accepted me. They were happy to teach me and answer any questions I had, but there was no pressure for me to change who I was to suit them or their culture. Then I had my first child.

This was another real role I had to find my place in. Was I going to be the chic mom with the designer stroller or the natural one with a baby sling? With ads flying at you and books by the dozens at every bookstore, trying to find your voice as a mom can be daunting. Fortunately I discovered a middle ground I was comfortable with. As it turned out I was more sling, but I did love wearing a super-styling outfit while taking my baby to the park.

Everything was good, and I was successfully adjusting to the new roles life was busy throwing at me, but it was about this time that I started really missing role-playing. I craved the escape of it and wanted to come up with new and exciting people and places again. And so I decided to take on a new role in my life. One as a writer.

It’s been a little over a year since Ink in the Blood was accepted. And this new role has had some bumps just like the others. But I think I’ve found my stride. There are lots of aspects of writing that I love, but the thing I love the most about it is I get to create again. I feel like it’s given me back a piece of my past that I hadn’t realized I was missing.

Comments
6 Responses to “Roles and Role-Playing”
  1. cherilaser says:

    Congratulations on your writing success! Sounds like your role-playing passion has really paid off. And congratulations on your personal accomplishments as well.

  2. Barbara says:

    A writer’s imagination will always find an out…even before they realize they’re a writer! I’m so glad you decided to turn your passion for role-playing into stories we all can enjoy. And I’m also glad to have you here with us at EtS.

  3. chandraryan says:

    Thank you so much, Cherilaser.

    You’re right, Barbara. I can’t remember a time I wasn’t creating, even before I started role-playing. That’s probably why it was such a great fit when I did find it 🙂 And I’

    • chandraryan says:

      And I’m really happy to be here. (Sorry I’m still getting used to a new keyboard. Seems my palms rest on the mouse buttons and I sometimes enter things before I mean to)

  4. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Chandra! I loved role-playing too when i was younger. Like you, that persona sort of fizzled with time as people moved away and I focused on other things. I always loved the world building, though. it was something that has stayed with me to this day. There is just something about creating a universe and characters to put in that universe that is so appealing to me.

    Congrats on you success in the past year – here’s wishing you many more sales int he years to come! 😉

  5. chandraryan says:

    Thanks so much Suzanne. And you’re right about the world building. I think it’s one of the reasons I’m so drawn to fantasy and sci-fi. You get to build completely new worlds in both genres.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

