Cover Me

Here at EtS we spend a lot of time thinking about book covers.  Our weekly Clash of the Covers is our most popular feature and every week we enjoy showcasing some of the best covers in the business.  We’ve had just about every type of cover you can imagine and every type has won the poll at one time or another.  Clench, ripped hero, striking urban fantasy heroine…they’ve all walked away with a Thorn of their very own.

So what is it that makes a cover rock?

For me, it all boils down to emotion.  I want to see sexual tension, conflict, desire, vulnerability, hope, need, want.  I also want to see a strong hint of what I’m going to find when I scroll or flip beyond the cover.  Haven’t we all had the experience of buying a book only to find the cover oddly detached from the story within its pages?

Today, I decided to share the covers of my own books from artists who got it so right they must have been channeling the characters as they worked.  And not just the characters.  The spirit of the story itself.

I’d also love to hear from you.  What do you look for in a cover?  What catches your eye?  What makes you unable to walk away and leave a book on a shelf ?  What makes you go back to a book again and again until you finally take it home?

                                                               

Comments
3 Responses to “Cover Me”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    I think we are a lot alike in what we look for in book covers, Barbara. I’ve been doing the cover clash for a year now and I’ve seen it all. What really grabs me personally, is the cover that shows some type of strong emotion. It can be romance, fear, anger, or humor, but it has to evoke something from me to make me pick up the book.

    I love your covers, by the way. You are truly blessed!!

  2. Robyn Bachar says:

    Barbara, I don’t know how you do it but your covers are always awesome.

    As for what I look for…it depends. If something’s unique I’ll pick it up, or if it has strong emotion like Suzanne said. I have to admit, I like covers that have something going on, some sort of hint at the story. The artsy covers that are just a landscape or a flower don’t do anything for me.

  3. I have been fortunate to be paired with amazing artists time after time. I’m also obsessive about filling out the cover art sheets. (Have been known to spend days on those things!)

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

