Quick Q & A with Robyn Bachar

We’re so happy to feature Robyn Bachar today on EtS.  Her paranormal romance  Blood, Smoke and Mirrors won last week’s Clash of the Covers with the highest turn out of votes we’ve ever seen on a Clash…well, that, and she’s simply wicked cool;>

        

~Quick Q & A~ 
 
1) What inspired you to write paranormal romance?
Before trying paranormal, I’d always written epic fantasy. I have a long-running love of wizards and dragons, but it never occurred to me to plop them down into my other love, Chicago, until I started reading paranormal. What really got me going was being introduced to National Novel Writing Month, and that’s how Blood, Smoke and Mirrors was born. NaNo’s a great way for a writer to push themselves to do a book in a month, and new and crazy ideas are encouraged.
2) Name one of your all time favorite paranormal romances.
My all-time favorite is Dance Upon the Air, the first of the Three Sisters Island trilogy by Nora Roberts. I adore that book, I’ve re-read it several times and I always cry when Nell has her salad-related meltdown in the kitchen. It was the first time I can remember crying over a book as an adult, and that’s powerful stuff.
3) Kick ass or not? (Otherwise known as Team Buffy or Team Bella?)
Team Buffy all the way. I’m a big Joss Whedon fan, and I like my heroines to be able to kick ass and take names. Even better if the heroine and the hero can fight side by side and slay the villain together.
4) Your perfect paranormal hero is…
Tough, funny, and angsty. I have a weakness for damaged heroes. Tortured past? Afraid he’s a monster? I’m sold.
5) What’s at the top of your TBR pile?
I don’t have a TBR pile, I have an entire TBR bookcase. I’m a book addict, I’ll admit it, but I don’t tend to read if I’m writing, so I fall hopelessly behind. Right now I’m planning to work my way through the Dresden Files. I own all the books, but I’ve only read the first three, and I’m tired of my best friend and my mother-in-law accidentally dropping spoilers about the ones I haven’t gotten to yet.

Comments
2 Responses to “Quick Q & A with Robyn Bachar”
  1. Diana says:

    Hey, I haven’t dropped Dresden spoilers in a long time. And you went to the signing for Small Favor anyway. :p

  2. Robyn Bachar says:

    Of course I went. Signed books, hello!

    Though after I did this interview I went off on a tangent with the Demonica series by Larissa Ione, so I’m *still* behind in the Dresden Files. But the Demonica series is sooooo good.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

