Slow to start, fast to finish?

The last few weeks have been very vexing for me as an author.  I started a new book and this time, I chose to do it in a genre that’s totally new to me–fantasy.  At first it was meant to be straight up hard fantasy but I soon found I couldn’t leave romantic elements behind or implied so I had to to a little rearranging of the first 3 chapters.

Now, I’m midway through the fifth chapter and still feeling my way through.  My word count has been severally low from where it usually is and I haven’t decided if I’m okay with that or not.  At least I’m writing something each day.

However, I believe in this book so I’m anxious to see where it will go.  I just wish it would go a little faster.

Does this happen to any of you?  You have a book semi-outlined out, know where you want to go for a few chapters but yet the words won’t come?  How do you combat it?

Comments
4 Responses to “Slow to start, fast to finish?”
  1. This happens to me almost all the time. I just keep trying, thinking, trying again until it sorts itself out. In fact, I lay in bed this morning re-plotting after deciding to trash everything I’d written yesterday!! (Which was only a few pages, but still…) I keep thinking I just have to learn to plot better ahead of time so I won’t run into a roadblock, but often I don’t really know whether something will work until it’s at least partly on paper.

    Brainstorming with someone else often helps. Taking walks is good to the brain moving. Persevere and you’ll get there.

  2. Barbara says:

    Sounds to me like you’re just getting used to a new genre. Maybe one with a lot more going on so it’s natural for it to go onto the page slower. I’m sure your regular rhythm and speed will come to you as you go along.

    However, for me, this happens when something isn’t quite right. When it’s just not flowing, I usually make a major change or two. I’ve changed settings, characters, conflict–whatever it takes to make me rush to the page each day to see what’s going to happen next.

    Barbara~

  3. Yeah, the new genre is well…new lol And the way I’ve outlined the book, there is a ton of stuff going on and will use 4 POV’s which is different for me since I usually only use 2. Also, last weekend, I tweaked the first chapters, making little changes so it’s more comfortable for me as a whole. I had a good night last night and put up 1500 words so I think I’m settling in. 🙂

  4. chandraryan says:

    1500 words is great. I’m so glad you’re finding your stride. I know I always have a hard time when I’m writing in a new genre. But I’ve found Barbara’s suggestion very helpful. Sometimes I have to make a big change to get back into a story.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

