Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Liz Strange

My Love Eternal is the first sizzling installment in Liz Strange's series.

Today, Embrace the Shadows welcomes Canadian Author Liz Strange, whose first book in her Dark Kiss trilogy, My Love Eternal, is currently available from Lyrical Press.

Here’s a bit about Liz.

She has always had a fascination with the dark side—vampires in particular, which she attributesto her first vampire novel, Salem’s Lot, a book she devoured at the ripe old age of 12. Since then there’s been no stopping her. In addition to anything written about her beloved bloodsuckers, Liz reads fantasy, horror and crime novels.

Besides writing and reading, Liz enjoys scary movies, soccer, history documentaries, live music, exercising and spending time with her four children (ages 5 to 15). Someday, when not working as a secretary at a mental health facility, raising kids or writing, she hopes to travel the world.  Her sights are set on Greece, Mexico and Easter Island.

So, now to the questions.

1.  Your Dark Kiss trilogy is set in Canada.  Seems like a likely place for creatures who don’t mind the cold.  What else about Canada is vampire worthy?

Well, I’m in Southern Ontario so I don’t get the days of full darkness like some of the Northern regions, but the nights sure are long in the winter. I’m sure this would appeal to the undead crowd. Also, Canada is so geographically large that it would be easy to slip from community to community without notice. And we have such a diverse population a vampire could escape notice for being “different”.

 And specifically, My Love Eternal is set in my hometown of Kingston, Ontario, which back in the day was the Capital of Canada. We still have forts, towers, a castle, and lots of beautiful (and somewhat creepy) old buildings. A perfect setting for a paranormal story.

2.  You’re a busy lady.  When do you find time to write?

 I am busy! By day I work as a secretary in a local hospital, and I am a single mom to four. I write in the evenings when the younger ones are in bed, weekends when there’s quiet, my lunch time, while waiting at dance lessons, etc. Anytime I can find a spare minute. And I make sure to jot down any ideas, words, images that come to mind, so I can follow up on them later.

3.  Tell us about the relationship between Rachel and Giovanni in My Love Eternal.  What makes it work?

Well, after literally hundreds of years alone Giovanni finds his soul mate- if that’s possible for a vampire! Rachel embraces her dark side openly and without regret, which is unique in Giovanni’s experience. There’s no whining, or attempts to deny their true nature. They know they’re monsters, but they are also able to love, learn, have friendships. I think it’s a very different take on an old idea.

 4.  For the aspiring writers out there, how did you go about finding your agent/publisher?

Well I had a LOT of hit and misses, like most new writers do. After I had gotten My Love Eternal into a format I was happy with, I really didn’t know what to do. So I hit the bookstores, and looked all over the internet. I researched authors who I like and who write in the same genres to see who their publishers and agents were. Sort of by accident I had a correspondence with author P.N. Elrod (who I think is brilliant) and she gave me some feedback and advice, and steered me over to the Absolute Write website. I found all sorts of information and resources there, and a very supportive community. And I also met fellow writer David McAfee who has become a good friend and my go-to beta reader/editor/shoulder to cry on. This all led me to Lyrical Press, who took me on board and have been nothing short of wonderful to work with.

I’d like to give a big thanks to Renee Rocco, Publisher and Owner of Lyrical Press and Nerine Dorman, my editor, for all their hard work and support!

5.  Besides writing, do you have any other artistic talents?

I wish! I’ve always wished I could sing or paint, but no such luck! I am determined to learn bass guitar, but up till now I simply haven’t had the time. I’ve recently worked on a screenplay adaptation of My Love Eternal, and working in film or TV would be something I’d love to have some real experience with.

I do like to decorate, garden, that sort of stuff.

6.  Do you have a mentor?  If so, what was the best advice you received from him/her?

I really don’t have a mentor, and believe me there were times I wish I did. I do appreciate the advice and help I’ve received from other writers/editors over the past couple of years. I’ve been sooo busy that I haven’t had much spare time, but I should reach out to some of my fellow authors with more experience. I’m sure they would be a fountain of information.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone who has read the book, and all those who will in the future. Please feel free to send me comments or questions. I love to hear from readers!

And thank-you to Embrace the Shadows for having me. As a new author I appreciate the support very much.

 Liz’s Website:

http:// www.lizstrange.com

My Love Eternal is available for purchase at Amazon http://tinyurl.com/2567ujb,  Barnes and Noble http://tinyurl.com/26zlyez , Chapters/Indigo http://tinyurl.com/2br8tv4 , Allromance.com, Fictionwise. In both print and e-book formats.

Comments
6 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Liz Strange”
  1. Barbara says:

    Liz,

    I’m so glad you visited with us today:) It’s always inspiring to me when I meet busy authors will very full lives who still manage to get their stories to the page!

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks Barbara. I find a lot of happiness in writing, and I hope it brings some enjoyment into readers lives as well.

    Please feel free to send any comment or questions you have my way!

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by Liz! It’s great to see you here. Your books sound interesting. I liked reading about how you became published, too. It’s amazing how many people help us along the way to publication. There is a lot of truth to the saying “It takes a village.”

  4. chandraryan says:

    Great interview! My Love Eternal sounds really good. Especially the no whining embracing her dark side part. I’ll have to go check this book out. Thanks 🙂

  5. Amanda Vyne says:

    Liz, it’s great to have you here in the Shadows with us. It’s a tremendous coup to have accomplished what you’ve accomplished thus far. I’m definitely putting My Love Eternal in my TBR pile and keeping my eyes out for the subsequent installments.

    Best of luck!

  6. Liz, Thanks for being with us at EtS. I enjoyed interviewing you and learning about your background. Keep those hot stories coming!

Leave a Reply

  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

