On The Road

It hit me yesterday that one week from today I’m going to be attending my very first writers event. It’s actually a reader-writer event, and since I am both, I’m a little excited and nervous at the same time. I keep finding myself thinking: next Friday, I’m going to be in Cincinnati Ohio for the Lori Foster’s Readers and Authors Get Together. Eep!

The reason I’m nervous? I’m actually not a very social person. I mean, I have friends and I’m on twitter and facebook and I do blog, but I’m one of those people who never quite knows the right thing to say, so I tend to say nothing at all. Sometimes it’s not so noticeable. Like on twitter, I get to choose when I talk to people so I can pick the times I feel comfortable. And when I decide something I’ve typed into the box is quite right I have the option of deleting it—as long as I haven’t hit the little ‘tweet’ button. That person doesn’t know I almost said something to them, but didn’t. And if I never talk to someone, they’re not going to assume I’m snubbing them, which I’m not. The same can’t be said for meeting people in public. I can’t just start a conversation, decide I sound stupid, and then walk away. Well, I guess I could, but that probably wouldn’t make a stellar impression either. It leaves me asking the question: Why do I do this to myself?

No, I’m not masochistic. And yes, I knew I’d be in knots about this when I signed up. But I did it anyway. Why? I’m a sucker for growth. Maybe I’ve been writing too long. I’m not saying I’m one of my heroines, but I am saying I would never let one of them sit home because she was afraid of saying the wrong thing to the wrong person. So, one week from today I’ll be meeting people. I’ll be sick with nerves, but I’ll be doing it.

Comments
5 Responses to “On The Road”
  1. Chandra, I can completely identify with you. I’m much more comfortable typing than speaking! I’m attending my first RWA conference this summer and I’ve already got the jitters.

    One thing I’ve been told and I’ve noticed myself when I do attend these types of events…many of us feel the same way. There’s a reason we’re writers! I also think it gets easier with practice.

    I’ll be thinking of you and hoping you have a wonderful experience!

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Barbara hit the nail on the head. Writing is a solitary lifestyle and many of us feel awkward in social settings. I’m one of them. I pushed through and went to two local RWA conferences and I can tell you that they are experiences that I’ll never forget. You are going to have such a great time Chandra! There is just something about being surrounded by writers and readers who love what you write. There’s nothing like it.

    I’ll be thinking of you – and I expect a full report when you get back from the conference! 🙂

  3. chandraryan says:

    Thanks guys! It’s nice to know I’m not alone in this 🙂 Despite the nerves, I am really looking forward to it. There’re going to be some fantastic people there (including my Samhian editor).

  4. Robyn Bachar says:

    You’re going to have a great time. Take lots of pictures, and then we’ll have coffee when you get back so you can tell me everything. 😉

  5. chandraryan says:

    Thanks Robyn! Sounds great 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

