Lori Foster’s Readers and Authors Get Together

Two weeks ago (has it really been that long?) I was getting ready to go to my first ever writer function.  I’d started my research early in the year.  And, weighing their expense with my expectations and my budget, I’d determined that the Lori Foster weekend was the one for me.  It was fairly local (i.e. we could drive), lots of authors were attending, and my editor from Samhain was going to be there.  But really, even with my research, I wasn’t sure what to expect.

But now I’m home again.  And, I have to say, it was a fantastic weekend.  There were great presentations by the likes of Lindsey Faber—Managing Editor of Samhain (she’s my editor), Angela James—the Executive Editor for Carina Press, and the girls at The Naked Hero blog—this was my favorite presentation, it was a riot.  Then there were the authors.  There were ones I’d read and ones that were completely new to me.  I did get to meet both Shiloh Walker and Larissa Ione and had them sign books.  And I sat at a table with A.M. Wells, F.D. Davis (also writing under Dyanne Davis), and Karen Hall.  All three were new-to-me authors.  And really, that’s the best kind seeing as I’m always looking for new reads.

The weekend passed quickly but I think it was the perfect length for me.  Even with it just being a couple days I was exhausted by the time I stumbled through my front door.  I still have plans to make it to RT and RWA nationals someday, more so now that I’ve had such a positive experience with a conference.  But I’m definitely planning on going to Lori Foster again next year.

In the mean time, though, here are some pics of the wonderful people I met:

Comments
8 Responses to “Lori Foster’s Readers and Authors Get Together”
  1. Susan Blexrud says:

    Congratulations on a great first conference, Chandra. Yes, conferences can be loads of fun. I was amazed at how welcoming everyone was at my first conference, which was RT in Orlando last year. Someday, perhaps we can get all the EtS authors at a conference together. Wouldn’t that be a blast?

    • chandraryan says:

      That would be so much fun! And yes, I was amazed at how welcoming everyone was, too. Everyone I met was so nice. I’m really glad I went.

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed it , Chandra. And I’m also glad you shared these pictures with us. I’m going to Nationals this year and it’s very nice to hear about your positive experience!

    • chandraryan says:

      You’re going to have such a great time! I can’t wait to hear all about it 🙂 The one thing I regret was not taking more pictures. I just didn’t think about it at the time. I was too busy gabbing and meeting people. But now I keep thinking…”Oh, I wish I would have gotten a picture of that person or I wish I would have taken a picture at that dinner.”

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Wow Chandra – It looks like you had such a great time! You take such a great picture, too. 🙂 I’m glad you had such a wonderful experience. It’s even more fun the second time – after a year passes and you get to check in with all of your old friends to see how they are doing. What a blast!

    Hopefully someday we will both be able to share a conference experience together. 🙂

    • chandraryan says:

      Thank you, Suzanne! I think I’ll be more comfortable going next year. Now that I know better what to expect.

      And it’d be really cool to meet you. Here’s to hoping our paths cross one of these conference seasons 🙂

  4. Laurie H. says:

    wow! Looks like you had fun!

  5. chandraryan says:

    I had such a great time. Really. It’s something I’ll be doing again 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

