Welcome Carina Press author Dee Tenorio

Steam Is Your Friend

I don’t iron my clothes much any more. One, I’m a home body and I have a firm policy that t-shirts should look lived in, not pressed. Since I practically live in t-shirts, my iron rests above my laundry in abject loneliness. My mother irons everything, including her money and her socks, so her iron never doubts her affection or indeed, has a chance to grow cold. She’s a crisp lady and I mean that in a good way. I’m not crisp. I’m soft, I’m snacky and my kids do all kinds of unspeakable things to my clothes at any given time.

But despite my distance from my iron, my mother and I do share one particular philosophy: Steam Is Your Friend.

There are few things I love more than heat in a story and, in my humble opinion, no place that steam is as effective as it is in paranormal stories. To me, steam and paras go hand in hand. The feral, fiery nature of a shifter has to lead to a fiery, consuming possessions. I mean, these folks mean business when it comes to pleasing a mate and in my mind, business is always GOOD.

But I have to admit, creating good steam and reading good steam are two different things. So, to that end, I started looking for ways to create some awesome shifter steam for my current release, “Tempting The Enemy”, from Carina Press and I thought I’d share my findings with you.

1) Add some haze: I like characters who get a little flustered when the see each other the first time. You know when you see that awesomely hot guy you’ve never met and he’s walking toward you and for a split second, you see your entire future together as he pursues you, gets you, gets you again….ok, that’s the long part of the montage, I’ll skip forward…ah, here we go, you have kids, he stays hot and you never age or gain weight…and then you wake up. Put that in.

2) Add Water: I used to consider myself the shower queen when it came to writing. There’s just something about a hot guy, under streams of water, hair plastered down and a stare that invites you to come and join him. I want to join him. A lot. I don’t let myself much any more, but with “Tempting…”, well how do you turn down a shifter?

3) Say No: Not in a bad way, cause that’s just mean. But shifters like a chase, I’ve found. If something is too easy to get, they don’t go after it as much. Give them a challenge and… Steam abounds!

4) Say Yes: This sounds contradictory, but a guy needs a little encouragement too. Shifters are no different. And as a reader, while I love a hard-headed man hearing the word no, there’s nothing quite like the thrill when he hears yes…

And finally 5) but this one is really more of a tip.

Keep in mind that steam should build. From a wisp to a waft to a cloud. It carries heat and scent and sensuality and that build of steam surrounds, insulates, enraptures…even blinds, at times. So if you’d like to write shifters or wonder why reading them gets you right in the gut, it’s probably all that steam affecting your judgment, in the best way possible.

Almost makes a girl want to haul out the ironing… 🙂

About the Author:

Dee Tenorio has a few reality issues. After much therapy for the problem—if one can call being awakened in the night by visions of hot able-bodied men a problem—she has proved incurable. It turns out she enjoys tormenting herself by writing sizzling, steamy romances of various genres spanning paranormal mystery dramas, contemporaries and romantic comedies. Preferably starring the sexy, somewhat grumpy heroes described above and smart-mouthed heroines who have much better hair than she does.
The best part is, no more therapy bills!

Well, not for Dee, anyway. Her husband and kids, on the other hand…

If you would like to learn more about Dee and her work, please visit her website at  www.deetenorio.com  or her blog at  http://www.deetenorio.com/Blog/.

Comments
6 Responses to “Welcome Carina Press author Dee Tenorio”
  1. Thank you for being our guest today, Dee. As always, you made me smile!

  2. Dee Tenorio says:

    Thanks Barbara!! I’m so glad to be here! LOL on the smiling. Then I totally met my goal for the day. 🙂

    Dee

  3. Amanda Vyne says:

    Thanks for joining us here in the Shadows….this looks great. Who can resist a shifter? My husband is going to think I’m insane when I stop during ironing now to stare longingly at the rising steam.

  4. Suzanne Rock says:

    LOL Mandy about staring longingly at the steam. 🙂

    Hi Dee – Welcome! What a great post. I’m going to have to go over and check out the book. I love a good shifter story…

  5. Dee Tenorio says:

    LOL, I just might pull out the iron myself!

    Thanks Suzanne! I hope you like it if you do!!
    Dee

  6. Wow. You’ve almost reconciled me to ironing, Dee. Nice job! and congrats on the great reviews you’re getting for “Tempting the Enemy”. Seems (I nearly said “steams”) there’s a lot of people who can’t resist a shifter — and why should we?

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

