Mwahahaha…

I’ve never been able to watch slasher flicks.  The movies where the heroine, usually dim-witted, is walking alone in the woods when some guy in a mask would jump out from behind trees.  They terrified me.  Actually, come to think of it, I never did very well with any horror movies.  I once hid in the hallway and watched bits and pieces of IT.  To this day porcelain clown dolls freak me out.  I babysat my niece when I was seventeen and had to move her clown doll to the top of the TV.  When my sister came home, she asked why it was there (turned out it freaked her out a little too) and my reply was that I had to keep an eye on it.  And I was being completely honest.  Every time I closed my eyes I thought I could hear the things footsteps as it ran to the kitchen to get a knife.  I hated that thing.

I think part of the fear is I can’t even begin to understand the villains in horror movies.  I believe that’s part of the attraction for most and adds to the fear factor, but for me it always sent my imagination into over drive.  I do much better with villains that I’ve shared motivations with.  Whether it be the politician who’s tasted power and popularity and craves more or the jealous ex-lover who’s still heartbroken.  I understand that.

Unfortunately no heartbroken lover can really inflict the amount of insane damage or fill you with the same level of fear as the unknown, though.  It’s kind of a catch-22.  That is, unless, you have a super powered villain working under a normal motivation.  Sounds too good to be true?  It sounded too good to me when I started reading paranormal romance.  But take a heartbroken werewolf whose mate has scorned him for another.  Now that’s where it gets interesting.  Or a corrupt politician who’s actually a demon.  That’s really blood chilling.

No, I wasn’t originally drawn to paranormal because of the villains.  But I must say, they’re part of the reason I keep reading.  I love having bad guys I can relate to yet are so completely foreign to me.  It draws me in.  Makes them real to me while terrifying me at the same time.  It was an aspect of the genre I never anticipated, but one that I am oh so happy is there.

Comments
3 Responses to “Mwahahaha…”
  1. I love shades of grey. I think it’s the motivation thing. I also love when the “villain” chooses to do the right thing. I’m fascinated by choices. And I believe that the best characters we can create aren’t 100% good or 100% evil. So I’m right there with you when it comes to appreciating villains with realistic reasons for their behavior!

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Great post, Chandra. I never used to like horror movies until recently. I, too, felt that my imagination got the better of me. I think as I’ve grown older, stuff like that doesn’t affect me as much anymore.

    I agree about the motivation, though. I think one of the reasons why I can stomach slasher movies is because I can detach myself quite easily. Movies like Fatal Attraction or Bram Stoker’s Dracula make me more uneasy because I understand the character’s motivations much better. With stronger, more developed characters, I’m drawn more into the story…and end up sleeping with the lights on for a month afterward. lol.

  3. I shut my eyes at the scary bits — and since scary bits are pretty much the reason for horror movies — I don’t watch them. But I agree about book villains. I love them. Creepy, violent, madly laughing…paranormal villains are stunning.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

