Literacy Signing Kicks Off RWA Nationals

image

So today was the official start of the conference. I started the day by dropping off some amazing EtS totes in the Goodie Room. No worries for those who are experiencing the conference vicariously through the web, I held back a couple of totes to fill with RWA conference goodies so that we can do some post-conference giveaways here in the Shadows. More on that later.

RWA Annual Conference kicked off today with a “Readers for Life” Literacy Autographing event that saw more than 500 authors participating. With Juliana Stone and our own Barbara J. Hancock sitting in for the LiteracySigning, DL Snow and I made the trek to the eeeeend of the line leading into the ballroom for the signing. Once we finally reached the end of the line we were met with another set of stairs and promptly ascended them back into the lobby and the nearest bar to grab a glass of wine and make our wait more palatable. We settled in next to a woman who just happened to be none other than Sheila Clover English, the CEO of Circle of Seven Productions. For those of you unfamiliar with COS Productions, they were the first frontier in the increasingly popular book trailers. COS does book trailers for the likes of Lisa Kleypas, Douglas Clegg, Harper Collins and, my person favorite, Christine Feehan.

But Ms. English is by no means restricted in her focus. Reading Entertainment Community Television is also her brain child. RECtv provides a marketplace of entertainment for readers which includes book trailers, interviews and industry news. And I do believe we will be seeing much more of RECtv in the future with Google TV looming on the horizon. EtS wishes Ms. English and RECtv the best. Truly exceptional woman.

I finished the evening by attending a book release party for Elisabeth Naughton to celebrate the release of the second book in her Eternal Guardian series, Entwined. And you must agree…it’s an incredible cover. And Elisabeth herself is an incredible talent and a charming person. I was able to chat with Joan Swan and heard a little about her upcoming Rising Phoenix series involving Firefighters who develop superpowers from responding to a fire in a top secret government facility. I’m telling you, the series sounds absolutely incredible.

And speaking of incredible…I had lunch with new author Tiffany Clare who will be seeing her first release this September from St. Martin’s and the buzz about The Surrender of a Lady is all delicious. A must read for those historical lovers out there. And Tiffany herself is a funny and engaging gal. EtS wished Tiffany the best…and, of course, lots and lots of sales.

Tomorrow is the Keynote Luncheon with guest speaker Nora Roberts and exciting workshops. I can’t wait.

Comments
7 Responses to “Literacy Signing Kicks Off RWA Nationals”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    OMG Barbara – you look fantastic!!! I’m getting all teary just looking at your picture. Wish I was there to see you sign books in person. 🙂 It must have been a surreal experience for you.

    Mandy – Thanks so much for the update. You sound busy, woman! What a great opportunity meeting all of those interesting people. I’ve been over to the COS website and know they put out some fantastic trailers. I’m absolutely LOVING your posts – and can hardly wait to see what you ladies come up with for give-aways. Only…where are the pictures of YOU?? 😀

  2. If slightly overwhelmed and incredibly excited is fantastic, then that’s me! Amanda is on the ball! Right now I’m lucky to make it where I’m supposed to be when I’m supposed to be there. I’ve met so many great people including those I’ve known online for years, but I’m only now getting to meet face to face. Having the opportunity to meet readers at the signing was a dream come true!

  3. Cora says:

    You look fantastic! Wish I could have been there. Looks like a lot of fun going on! 😀

  4. Amanda Vyne says:

    Ah, yes, when you are behind the camera you tend to not show up so well in the pictures. lol But I’m all over everything in spirit, never doubt it.

  5. Susan Blexrud says:

    Vicarious grunts of squee from here in the mountaints. Wish I could be there. Keep up the great posts!

  6. I happened to just now find your blog and saw that you posted a lovely comment about me! Thank you! This really made my day!
    I posted the link to your blog over on my Facebook.
    Wasn’t RWA so wonderful?!! I am really looking forward to it next year in NYC! Hope to see you there!

  7. Amanda Vyne says:

    Hello!

    Yes, I’m certainly a RWA addict. I can’t wait for next year in NYC…although I am giving myself a little teaser by flying in to the Big Apple for a couple of nights during Comic Con.

    Thank you for linking us up. We’ll have to catch a glass of wine together again next year….maybe while waiting for the Literacy Signing eh?

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

