EtS Debut–Come Win My RWA Swag!

Okay, all of us who attended the 2010 RWA National Conference in Orlando, FL last week are still recuperating from monster jetlag – so let me take a moment to quickly introduce myself and give a brief overview of the week! Read to the bottom of the post for a free book giveaway…

My name is Grace Conley, and I’m thrilled to join the Embrace the Shadows blog. I’ll be alternating Wednesday posts with the lovely Barbara Hancock.

Here’s a picture of me with Barbara Hancock taken at the RWA Literacy Book Signing in Orlando:

And one of me having a fangirl moment with Nora Roberts:

About me: well, it’s short. I’m unpublished (have written several manuscripts) and am out there working like crazy to find an agent and contract. Wish me luck! I’ve belonged to a critique group with Suzanne Rock, Amanda Vynes, and Barbara Hancock for the past couple of years, which makes little unpublished me the redheaded stepchild of EtS!!!

On RWA Nationals: it was overwhelming, amazing, and wonderful. This is the second one I’ve attended. “Deer in headlights” best describes my first year. This time, I did a little better – made it to all the classes I wanted, and had terrific appointments with agents and editors that will hopefully take me further down the path to publication.

For those writers who haven’t had the chance, it’s basically a week-long extravaganza of craft classes, agent/editor appointments, publisher overviews, and parties, culminating in RWA’s RITA (for published) and Golden Heart (for unpublished) writing awards. Those awards are kind of like the Oscars of the Romance world. I fully expect the EtS gals to be up on that stage one year soon…

The other fun part of RWA Nationals is that you end up with conference swag – as a writer AND a reader, it’s just about the best fun ever. You bring home a suitcase of free books! (Luggage overage fees be damned…)

And to celebrate both RWA Nationals and my debut at EtS, one lucky EtS reader gets to win one of my swag books!

It’s easy to win: just leave a remark in today’s Comments section of this blog, and the EtS Randomizer will pick one lucky commenter to win a copy of “Enemy Lover” by Karin Harlow.  For those of you unfamiliar with Karin Harlow, that is a pen name of the fabulous writer Karin Tabke! (**Contest open to those in the Continental US only please)

Thanks for stopping by – I look forward to blogging with the amazing authors at EtS!
— Grace Conley

Comments
5 Responses to “EtS Debut–Come Win My RWA Swag!”
  1. Welcome to EtS, Barbara! Meeting you went a long way toward making my first conference experience a positive one.

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hey Grace – great post! Looks like you had a blast at RWA. Welcome to EtS!

  3. sue brandes says:

    Welcome Grace nice to meet you. It sure sounds like you had a great time. Thanks for the giveaway. I would love a chance to win this book.

    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Grace Conley says:

    Suzanne–
    Many thanks for the warm welcome! Yes, Nationals was crazy — Mandy’s terrific blogs on the keynote lectures give you the flavor of it. We all learned a lot!

    Sue–
    Thanks for stopping by — I appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

