Countdown to Fall…and my next WIP

As we approach Labor Day weekend, it’s 3-2-1: countdown!

I’m counting down both to the start of the school year for my child…and the start of my next book. We’ve just survived August, a month of impossibly hot weather and no summer camp (bad planning, Mom), and the family has drifted through it.

From a work perspective, echh – I’ve spent the month editing my last book and sending out the requisite stack of query letters. We’ll see what happens. I’ve been slogging through the business stuff…because it’s business stuff.

Querying is probably the tensest thing for a pre-published writer — I know I’ll be happy when I can make the mental switch from selling my current piece over to writing the next one. The next book is taking place in the same world as the last one, so it won’t require tons of research – just sitting down to work and focus on my next hero and heroine’s story arc. I love the world they’re in, so I can’t wait!

Labor Day weekend is an integral part of that switch from full-time Mom back to functioning writer. It’s always been one of my favorite times of year: a fresh beginning as school starts, the last of the summer heat before crisp Fall weather hits us, and for me, a weekend to rest and re-charge.

I’ll take the weekend to read, watch movies, and hopefully get in one last trip out to the beach. I can feel the winds of Fall coming – and this year, more than ever, it makes me happy.

What are you planning for Labor Day weekend? Anything fun? I hope so.  I know our own Suzanne Rock will be celebrating, because she has a release this week.     🙂

Comments
3 Responses to “Countdown to Fall…and my next WIP”
  1. I’m headed to the beach this weekend too, Grace. Working like mad to get a requested partial ready to submit before Friday. A nice bit of ocean air will be just what I need to clear my head before jumping into my regular autumn routine. I also love the fall!

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi grace! Yeah – I’ll be celebrating. I want to catch up on some reading. Hubby is going to a local golf tourney, so I’ll have the kids all day Saturday to myself. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with them, lol.

    Great post!

  3. Grace Conley says:

    Hi Barbara–

    Good luck with your partial — and I do hope we’ll both make it out to the beach. It’s supposed to be over 100 degrees here, so driving out to the ocean would be a nice break!

    Hi Suzanne–

    Have fun with the kids! (And make sure you do something terrific for yourself to celebrate the new release — congrats again)!

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

