Guest Post by Wendi Zwaduck – Goddess Fish Blog Tour

Here at Embrace the Shadows we are very proud to help out Goddess Fish Promotions with hosting paranormal authors on their blog tours.  We hope through this partnership we can continue to introduce all all of you some of the newest and brightest authors writing in the paranormal genre.

Our first guest is Wendy Zwaduk,. Wendy is is promoting her newest book, My Immortal, on sale now at Total-E-Bound. Today, she will interview one of the main characters from her novel for us, Storm. Take it away Wendy! 🙂

Wendi (WZ): I sat down the character from my book, My Immortal, Storm Richardson. I didn’t mind because he’d just left a job on the way to getting dinner.

WZ: Hello, Storm. Don’t you look flushed. Was it a tough job? And for those who aren’t sure what kind of job you do, what exactly is it that you do?

Storm Richardson (SR): Hello, hon and hello to all those out there reading this. I’m glad you stopped by.  Now, you wanted to know what I do for a dead existence. Stevie and I are private investigators. We follow suspected cheating spouses and unfaithful individuals. It’s not glamorous and it’s been dangerous on occasion, but with the right person on your back, it’s decent.

WZ: Wait, I thought you said dead existence. I’m pretty sure the readers want to know what you mean.

SR: Ah, yes, I should tell you… I am a vampire.

WZ: Ooh. Does that mean you creep around in the dark and feast on the unruly?

SR: Only if the unruly include my partner, Stevie. Contrary to popular belief, most vampires aren’t hiding in the shadows ready to pounce on unsuspecting folks. I’m not anyway. I have eyes for one woman and until I can get her to come around and understand what I am, I’ll happily do what it takes to slake my bloodlust in a humane fashion.

WZ: This is the second time you mentioned Stevie. She must be a real looker.

SR: Stevie is a beauty in every unconventional way.  There aren’t too many people I trust with my well being. She’s one of the few. I trust her and know she is wicked awesome with a gun.

WZ: Aww. Very nice. Now, about the shooting skills, do you really get into that many scrapes that her skills are needed? And don’t you know how to wield a weapon—and no, not that weapon.

SR: I am very good with a gun. I can be quite bad with one, too, but that’s not what you wanted to know, I know. Can you blame a guy for having fun? But in all seriousness, I trained with cops in the 50’s and took up with some boxing friends before that. I’ve worked on the railroad and know how to swing a hammer if that’s what I need to do to defend myself.

I think in all we’ve only been in a handful of serious incidents where I wasn’t sure if we’d make it out without someone getting hurt. Boyfriends caught in the act of cheating can be so…irritable. But that’s why I have Stevie. She’s good with a gun and has a sixth sense. She knows when bad things are in the air, even if she’s human. If I didn’t know better, I’d say I was in love with her. Is that possible? To love your partner? Hmmm.

WZ: You crack me up. When were you born then?

SR: 1669, in Salem, Massachusetts. It was an interesting time, but I really don’t like buckles on my shoes and those hats. And I much prefer modern clothing. Yes, I like seeing women in lingerie because it’s like opening a present, but those clothes? That’s too much work to open that gift.

WZ: You sound like the last true romantic.

SR: Hey, as a vampire, I’m programmed to embody sex and sin. As a man, I’m wired to love sex. I can’t fight nature, as long as it’s with the one I want to be with. Until then, everything stays packed away.

WZ: Fair enough. Any last thoughts?

SR: Um…hmmm… You’re leaving the door open and I want to go places I’ll so get into trouble for. *Sigh* Just because there is a shadow behind you, doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing. Open yourself up to new ideas and challenge your fears. Oh, and Stevie, if you’re reading this? I love that red blouse with the black flowers—wear it for the next stakeout? How about a date? It’d be great for a date.

Too much?  *Shrugs* I can be over the top on occasion.

Good morning all, I need to go home for a long days rest. And thank you to Wendi and the kind gals at the Embrace the Shadows. I had a great time.

WZ: Thanks, Storm. And thanks again, ladies. I had a fun time as well.


Blurb:

What’s a girl to do when she finds out the man of her dreams is a 340 year old vampire?

Run like hell or offer her heart.

Being a vampire hasn’t been easy for Storm Richardson. He’s not programmed to kill or harm, unless he needs to feed. When he meets Stephanie “Stevie” Persing, he knows he’s found his mate. But if he crosses the line between work and play, he risks losing the only person who matters—her.

Stevie’s been in love with Storm since the moment she laid eyes on him. He’s brooding, intense, and her one weakness. But is her heart too steep a price to pay for his love, especially when she discovers his deepest secrets?

Excerpt:

“What did he do to you?”

As she squared her shoulders, she took a deep breath. “He screwed Gypsy and then claimed he thought she was me. I don’t know how, since she’s five-nine and honey blonde. He said something about being shit faced and needing my comforts. I didn’t buy it then and still don’t even if it was pitch black when I caught them in my bed.”

Storm fought the twin waves of relief and anger. He didn’t like Ace from the beginning and the fact that the jerk screwed her good-for-nothing sister only confirmed his feelings. His heart still ached for Stevie even if she was better off. Life tended to dump on her in garbage truck proportions.

“Why did you think scum like that would make you happy? His name is Ace, for God’s sake.”

A lock of glossy, dark hair swept across her forehead when she looked away. “Actually his name is Herbert Axel Blake.”

He tried to contain it, but the laughter bubbled up on its own accord. She eyed him curiously than burst into giggles, too.

“Yeah, that’s his real name, Storm. I guess he thought Ace sounded cooler.”

Lust surged in his veins. He brushed her tresses from her eyes and trailed his fingers down her cheek. “It doesn’t sound cool at all.”

Her lips parted with a gasp. “I doubt I could’ve married a Herbert. It sounds too old-fashioned.” There was a definite catch in her voice.
He choked on his good humour. Too old school? What would she say when she found out he was 340 years old and grew up in Colonial Massachusetts? That was ancient history, even by his terms.

Deciding to try his luck, he pressed a question. “How about a Jacob?”

She crinkled her slightly upturned nose. “Who is Jacob?”

Flashing his best smile, he caressed her cheek with his thumb. “Me.”

Comments
6 Responses to “Guest Post by Wendi Zwaduck – Goddess Fish Blog Tour”
  1. Wendi Zwaduk says:

    Thanks for having us, ladies. Storm loves to talk–during the proper hours. I loved being here and getting to talk about my work. Leave me a comment or question and I’ll be happy to answer it!

    Wendi (& Storm)

  2. sue brandes says:

    Hi Wendi I am following your blog tour. Cannot wait to read your book. It sounds wonderful. Love the cover. Great trailer and really enjoyed your post.
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Suzanne Rock says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by, Wendy! Great interview! I really enjoyed it. Storm sounds like quite the character. 😀

  4. Grace Conley says:

    Fun interview, Wendy! I look forward to reading it — Storm and Stevie sound like a sizzling couple! GL on the book release!

  5. Becky says:

    Loved the interview Wendi! Stevie is so lucky to have a guy….er vampire like Storm. Great job on the book trailer. I watch them everytime I see that there’s one for a book. It really grabbed my attention.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

